We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and warm welcome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dartmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Higher Bowden Holiday Cottages
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and warm welcome”
Reviewed 8 September 2009

This was our second trip to Higher Bowden. I can not stress enough how great it is for a family. We have two small children and they love the pool and indoor play area. The couple who run it always made sure we had everything we needed, and made us feel very welcome. Our iorn didnt work, we left a message to explain this and by the time we got back from our swim another one was left for us. Everything is of a very high standard and well cared for. I found it very relaxing and would recommend it highly to anyone. We hope to go back next year as it really is a little gem. S and A Ahmed Warfield

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOPHIAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    13
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
97
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ascot
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We've just returned from our 7th annual visit to Higher Bowden, and have already booked up for next year. I think that says it all really.

But in case not.....the cottages (we've stayed in 4 different ones) are spacious, well kitted out and comfortable to stay in. The facilities are more than you could need - swimming pool, sauna, gym, play room, games room, DVD library, trampoline, nature trail, gardens, tennis court, (small) golf putting course. I've probably missed something.

The owners are friendly and helpful, responding quickly to even minor problems like a blown light bulb or remote control batteries run out!

Location is peaceful, but within striking distance of a lot of South Devon attractions.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2009

We have just returned from a week at Higher Bowden and I can't fault it. There are so many things on site to entertain my toddler that is saves me from constantly driving out to find amusements for her. The indoor playroom is especially useful with the patchy weather you might get in Britain! It was our third trip and I am sure we will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2008

We have stayed at Higher Bowden Holiday Cottages five times, but we will not be returning again. The cotages are in a beautiful location, a short drive from Dartmouth. The complex has several cottages, an indoor swimming pool, and a games room. It is well-maintained.
The attitude of the owner on our recent holiday was far from good, making unfounded accusations, which we found very upsetting. One example was that he accused our children, aged 13 and 11 of leaving chewing gum on the floor of the games room. We explained to him that the children did not have any gum, so could not have done this, but he just said he would review the CCTV footage and find the culprit. There is extensive CCTV around the complex, with messages to guests saying that the footage may be kept for litigation purposes. The owner also told us, as we were getting ready to leave after our recent stay, that we had not cleaned the cottage adequately following our previous stay two years ago. We strongly dispute this, and felt his manner was bizarre and rude. He told us that he expects his guests to clean the cottage before leaving at 10am. This requirement is not written on the website, and we were not aware of it before the end of our stay. We did leave the cottage clean, but his manner really upset us. We have never had any complaints about us on any other holiday, and felt they really were unfounded.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Rude attitude of owner to customer relations
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank Debbie026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2008

We have just returned from a week's holiday at the lovely Higher Bowden Holiday Cottages. This was our seventh such holiday at Higher Bowden in the last twelve years and the standard of the accommodation has been consistently good over the years. The cottages are created from two 17th century farms and are full of character. They are not high luxury but are very comfortable and well equipped, with good kitchen appliances (large fridge/freezer, microwave, washer/dryer, dishwasher, oven & hob), a 26" plasma flat-screen TV, DVD player, wood-burning stove in the fireplace (wood cost us £10 for the week - good value). The background heating is by night storage heaters which work OK, with the wood-burning stove topping up when the weather is very cold. Good, comfortable leather furniture. Power showers. Everything is well maintained and the location is just stunning.

We went on holiday with friends and had a really relaxing, enjoyable week. However, what marred it for us was the attitude of the owners. There are officious notices everywhere you look and an attitude that suggests that the customer is usually wrong and cannot be trusted. Our holiday ended with two members of our party in tears at the way we had been treated by the owners over cleaning up at the end of our stay. We and our friends had kept our cottages clean and tidy throughout our stay and left them very much as we found them, other than needing to be routinely cleaned, ready for the next arrivals. There was no justification at all for any confrontation on the part of the owners and we are still baffled by what happened. We will not be visiting again, which is really disappointing given our long history of great holidays at Higher Bowden.

  • Liked — Stunning location
  • Disliked — Attitude of owners
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank delligill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
981 reviews
0.1 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
302 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayards Cove Inn
Bayards Cove Inn
#4 of 53 in Dartmouth
473 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
#2 of 53 in Dartmouth
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Higher Bowden Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Higher Bowden Holiday Cottages

Property: Higher Bowden Holiday Cottages
Address: Higher Bowden, Dartmouth TQ6 0LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business is now closed for holiday letting ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Higher Bowden Holiday Cottages Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing