We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ship in Dock Inn
Ranked #11 of 53 Dartmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We arrived as the new landlord was taking over who was doing a great job under difficult circumstances...it was good fun and friendly and can only go from strength to strength.Great friendly atmosphere,great breakfast,great location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank the3mustgetbeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    61
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
19
98
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

perfect location for our family weekend as we needed to be in the Royal Naval College for the family weekend. The Inn and college are within easy walking distance so perfect for what we needed.

The room was clean and bright, the on-suite clean. The breakfast was beautifully cooked and presented. The staff helpful and inviting. We will be staying again this year, recommend to anyone staying in Dartmouth, as an easy walk into the town itself, with all it has to offer, with wonderful views of the river an added bonus!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lloyd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was our second stay at The Ship In Dock, and it is still as good as the first time. The room was comfortable and warm, and we had a nice view of the river without paying the earth for it. Breakfast was very good, and the staff very friendly. Great location just along the riverside from the centre of Dartmouth. We were offered a special deal on food (very good) on one of the evenings as part of the "steak break" deal, which was pretty good of them because we booked through a booking website and this was not mentioned at the time of booking. Moral of the story, book direct with the hotel next time and you will find out about any such offers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank vickypicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Great location, quiet and relaxing with a fantastic view of the both the river and the naval college, friendly staff who made our stay very enjoyable. We managed to park right outside the door and didn't feel the need to move it as everything is within walking distance. We will definitely be going back again

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulgee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leics
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 night in January, for my husbands birthday. it was Very welcoming. Great views, an easy walk into town. Staff cant do enough for you. A lovely winter stay. Plenty to do in Dartmouth.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spike10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Delightful room, comfy bed and large bathroom. Good view of the river from bedroom, close up view of the college from the bathroom! Service was excellent. Breakfast was freshly cooked and Smoked Salmon option was a very generous portion. The house cooked Pizza was also delicious, very welcome after a day out on Kingswear steam train.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We were welcomed and shown our room; with a view over the River Dart and spacious en suite bathroom. The staff were all very helpful and when one of us was ill, allowed us extra time to get things ready on the day of our departure. Breakfasts were generous and the evening meal we had there was good wholesome and served by the friendly bar staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,011 reviews
0.3 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
305 reviews
2.2 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
0.8 mi away
Townstal Farmhouse
Townstal Farmhouse
#6 of 6 in Dartmouth
122 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
#2 of 53 in Dartmouth
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship in Dock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship in Dock Inn

Property: The Ship in Dock Inn
Address: 1 Ridge Hill, Dartmouth TQ6 9PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ship in Dock Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ship in Dock Inn is a small family run pub with bed & breakfast accommodation in the beautiful estuary town of Dartmouth. We are located close to the river Dart over looking Coronation Park and within easy walking distance of the main town amenities. The pub has a small intimate bar and dining room, with home cooked Tapas and Pizzas served on selected nights. We do not have our own car park but guests have the use of our passes for the main town car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Ship in Dock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship In Dock Hotel Dartmouth
The Ship In Dock Inn Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing