We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay with excellent breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ship in Dock Inn
Ranked #11 of 52 Dartmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel over bank holiday weekend, we left it until fairly late to book and knew we wanted to stay in Dartmouth and this was one of the few properties with availability. We found the room to be super comfortable and surprisingly quiet (we didn't hear any noise from the pub at all) and breakfast was fabulous. The hotel is in a great location and was good value for money. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Expat_Girl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShipinDockInn, Owner at The Ship in Dock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

We were obviously disappointed to hear of your poor experiences since we took over from Jim, but the truth is hardly anything has changed about the team cooking or delivering the food.

If we have let you down then we will always try to put things right and I would welcome the chance to talk about your experience and how we can put things right.

I will happily discuss this on the phone or face to face, please don't hesitate to come and chat to me.

Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

Booked through the internet, the views from the rooms sold it to me. When we got there the place was a lot smaller than I expected. When shown the room, the view got me again. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was spotless. Breakfast was great, you can have what you want, and all the staff was so helpful.

Room Tip: Very close to town, so you can get everywhere from here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggiel64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel last week. We located the hotel easily and it was in a great location, near the harbour and the town. The hotel provides a parking permit for a local car park so park up outside the hotel unload and then park the car. The room is basic but adequate considering the amount of time you'd spend in it, the bed was a tiny bit uncomfortable but this probably was due to it being smaller than I'm used to. The staff and owner/manager were friendly and attentive and the breakfast was lovely! Would recommend.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Zoe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just returned from a three night stay at the ship in dock. Great friendly staff rooms spotless and and clean towels a really comfy bed and a good shower and to top it off the best breakfast I've had for a long while bloody perfect and a stones throw away from the town centre and the harbour will defiantly visit again

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Options4504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Good lager, fantastic pizzas and friendly service. A small, traditional coastal pub with wall-to-wall Naval and maritime memorabilia and pictures. Very cosy and typically English. Good service and outside seating just a stones throw from the water. Would definitely reccomend. Oh, and they deliver onto the nearby Naval college, if you can't be bothered to travel down!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sam983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Dartmouth for our first time and at this accommodation and it was a great experience with really friendly staff and tried their renowned pizza which was great beautiful views only downside building work next door, which could limit your views of the river dart.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Andyharb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Enjoyed an overnight break in this quaint little hotel just a stones throw from the harbour. Beautiful live music with bust street scene and very welcoming staff. Room was spotless, quality bed and towels with a great sea view. Breakfast a little basic I.e help yourself to most of it. I wonder how long before some hotels give you a frying pan and say cook it yourself!

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Binks0045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,045 reviews
0.3 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
313 reviews
2.2 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dartmouth
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
3.8 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
0.8 mi away
Townstal Farmhouse
Townstal Farmhouse
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship in Dock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship in Dock Inn

Address: 1 Ridge Hill, Dartmouth TQ6 9PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dartmouth
Price Range: £78 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ship in Dock Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ship in Dock Inn is a small family run pub with bed & breakfast accommodation in the beautiful estuary town of Dartmouth. We are located close to the river Dart over looking Coronation Park and within easy walking distance of the main town amenities. The pub has a small intimate bar and dining room, with home cooked Tapas and Pizzas served on selected nights. We do not have our own car park but guests have the use of our passes for the main town car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ship in Dock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship In Dock Hotel Dartmouth
The Ship In Dock Inn Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing