We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Westbourne House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dartmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Westbourne House
Ranked #47 of 53 Dartmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Stopped at Westbourne house for a total of 5 nights in the big room 'with no windows' - great room and what the previous reviewer fails to mention is that although there is no window, the room has a double set of french doors so light and airy and does not feel at all enclosed.

Breakfast was great - fantastic choice of hot or cold and perfectly cooked - great service, friendly but not at all obtrusive.

The hotel also has it's own car parking which is a godsend in Dartmouth as there isn't much of it - only small, but sufficient, and the owners couldn't have been more helpful in saving us our parking spot when we went out for the day.

The situation of the hotel is also great - not too far to walk into town, but far enough away to be peaceful and quiet.

Overall, a great place to stay - would definintely return and would have no hesitation in recommending to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2011

Westbourne House is very convenient for local restaurants, pubs and shopping, we had our own entrance in the garden flat which was great, lovely breakfasts, pleasant owners, the only problem we found was the parking

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doggus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

I have stayed in many hotels and B&B'S over the years, but never have I stayed in a room with no window. And that was the best and most expensive room at Westbourne House. Would I stay again, no. When my wife asked me in the morning " what's the weather like" I honestly couldn't tell her if it was sunny or raining. The picture on the website looks nice but it doesn't tell you the full story. For the price I would suggest somewhere with a view!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boycott146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We stayed here for four nights in the Garden room. This room has it's own entrance which was ideal as I am an early morning runner. The room was well appointed and spotlessly clean. The owners are very welcoming and helpful. Most importantly the cooked breakfast was spectacular, with veggie sausages for non-meat eaters. Loved it and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picklelilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We had a fantastic three night stay with a lovely warm welcome from Linda and Peter. We stayed in the Garden Room, with it's own entrance, which was just perfect for us. The room is decorated very tastefully and is extremely comfortable. It is perfectly located with an easy walk into Darmouth town itself and lots of lovely shops and restaurants to wander around. As for the breakfasts, WOW! We looked forward to it every morning, cooked to perfection, lovely and hot and lots of it! Could not fault it at all! We wil book in again next time we visit Dartmouth!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KshanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

We decided to have a last minute weekend away and scrolled the internet to find Westbourne House. When we arrived Pete and Linda could not have been more welcoming and as it was so cold and we had had a long journey we were quickly warmed up with hot mulled wine and mince pies. Our stay there was exceptional and the breakfast second to none - the awards are certainly well deserved. The location was great allowing us to walk into town, enoy the culinary delights and a drink without worrying about driving back. The bedroom was spotlessly clean and very comfortable and the house in general a delight to stay in. Pete and Linda were great hosts in comparison to other b & b establishments we have stayed in which made our weekend very special.
We certainly intend to return and would have no hesitation in recommending this delightful house. Thanks to Pete and Linda - Maureen and Ralph Warwickshire Januart 2011

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharnacoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Westbourne House is a beautiful looking Victorian House standing impressively over the towns bowling green and only a couple of minutes walk from the river, shops and restaurants. The owners Pete & Linda are very welcoming and the rooms are decorated to a very high standard. Our room (Garden Room) was great because it had its own external entrance. Breakfast was a delight in the magnificent Victorian dining room with huge fireplace. After having cereals and fresh fruit we opted for the 'Full monty' english breakfast which was delicious and perfectly cooked by Pete. The location is great, just a few minutes walk from the town centre which meant it was very quiet at night as we were just away from the hustle & bustle, plus we were able to park our car in their car park which if you know Dartmouth is a real bonus! A lovely weekend and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
3.6 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
1.7 mi away
Fairholme B&B and Holiday Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
323 reviews
1 mi away
Kaywana Hall
Kaywana Hall
#1 of 6 in Kingswear
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbourne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbourne House

Address: 4 Vicarage Hill, Dartmouth TQ6 9EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Dartmouth
Price Range: £85 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious bed & breakfast accommodation, located in the heart of Dartmouth just a few minutes walk from the river & town centre. ETC 5 star silver award rating. Set yourself up for the day with our truly scrumptious breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Westbourne House Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing