We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Definately Recommend”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Browns Steps , Dartmouth
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dartmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SteveJup
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definately Recommend”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A great property in a perfect location. Ingrid was a great host with attention to detail that made our stay a treat. Made to feel comfortable and very welcome, especially as a same-sex couple. Great breakfast with all fresh ingredients and local produce.

Rooms Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthea W
Somerton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A gem”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

What a delightful find! Stayed in the barn with a wonderful breakfast in the house. Ingrid the owner made us so welcome and suggested many walks around the area. So handy for the beach and coastal paths. We will definitely stay again.

Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky W
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We will return”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

What an amazing find!
This is perfect for walking the coastal path or exploring this beautiful part of Devon.
Ingrid serves a lovely breakfast with local products and home made marmalade,we could not have asked for more. Ingrid is very knowledgeable and helpful. The accommodation is very clean and comfortable with a fantastic garden.
We are already planning our return.

Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anne m
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ingrid the incredible!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed in the barn on a self catering basis, however as we were walking the south west coastal path, we decided a cooked breakfast would fill us for the long walks planned. What an amazing array of fresh fruit, cereals, locally made marmalade and jams, yoghurt etc. Ingrid gave us an endless choice of cooked breakfasts, Ingrid only uses locally sourced bacon,eggs & sausages.
Ingrid is a very friendly, thoughtful, considerate lady, nothing is too much trouble for her, from giving us local information, helping plan our walks, places of interest to visit and for a small charge (to cover petrol) giving us lifts in her car.
Our accomodation was clean, comfortable and equipped with everything required for a stay in this beautiful part of South Devon. Ingrid has a wonderful cottage garden with mature shrubs and many pots and containers of interest. Ingrid very kindly allowed us to remove cuttings!
I could go on and on about how brilliant it all is, just go and see for yourself. We are looking forward to a return visit and will be staying in the barn as it met all of our needs. Lots of love and best wishes to Ingrid x
return

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Footprint...
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Very clean and comfortable with a lovely garden and an extremely helpful landlady. Nothing was too much trouble for her, including taking our bags on to an out of the way house in Kingswear.
In a good spot for people walking the SW Coast Path.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wrend4
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“old world charm”
Reviewed 13 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013

After a panic booking not realising that the weekend we wanted was the regatta we found this fairly new B & B just operating, if I have this correct from May. A fortunate find as both the accommodation and the owner are lovely. Nothing is too much trouble with Ingrid buying local produce and experimenting with local bakeries to find a perfect product. The other upside is that she volunteers in the Dartmouth Information Bureau so all queries are easily answered.
It was lovely to be offered the use of the picturesque garden a real little sun trap and the self contained barn looked very interesting perfect for a longer stay . If I had to give a "down side" it would just be the parking but that is resolved with help from the local pub. No hesitation with a recommendation.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M T
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm and hospitable”
Reviewed 11 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I stayed one night, having been "bumped" from another B & B. It proved to be a very lucky result. My bedroom was charming, delightfully decorated and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent - good to see some fresh fruit after days of stodge.
My hostess couldn't have been more helpful - she checked out bus timetables, and even offered to meet me, if necessary.
High recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing