We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming B & B providing home from home comfort”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Browns Steps , Dartmouth
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dartmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Frank N
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming B & B providing home from home comfort”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Ingrid is an excellent host who provides a wonderful welcome and real home from home comfort - the ideal blend of friendly and warm informality with extremely high standards in all aspects of the accommodation. She is a fount of knowledge on everything local, provides a fabulous breakfast and goes the extra mile to ensure that the stay is as good as it possibly can be. We stayed in the barn along with the dog, which was perfect, and had a lovely four days in beautiful South Devon. Great location for coastal and beach walks, as well as a number of National Trust places. Thank you Ingrid - we look forward to staying again!

Rooms Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely comments ! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with me in the South Hams and I look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna P
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Best B&B”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spend 5 lovely nights with Ingrid and left feeling like we had made a new friend

Ingrid is very friendly and welcoming and offers a real home from home experience where you can relax and put your feet up without worrying about anything. And if you would like a little more privacy there is the spacious converted barn at the end of a very pretty little garden

The breakfast is excellent with a great variety of quality fruits, cereals and nuts followed by any combination of the Full English or maybe smoked salmon with scrambled eggs. You will be spoilt!
And her lemon curd and blueberry cake is to die for! She even packed a few slices in foil for us for our trip home.

We enjoyed staying in Strete (a small friendly village with a shop and an excellent pub) which offers easy access of Dartmouth and the beaches
Our dog Mabel says she loved it there as well as it was proper dog friendly as opposed to dog tolerant like a lot of places. She came to breakfast with us played in the garden and even had a little bit of Ingrid’s famous sausages :~) Thanks Ingrid for your hospitality and great knowledge of the local area, we will be back

.

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2016
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here at Roxburgh House in this very special part of South Devon . It was lovely to meet you both and also Mabel - such a pretty , well -behaved dog ! Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed, positive and informative review and I hope to see you all down here again soon .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnGimle...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“'A great base for exploring the beaches of South Devon'”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This is a great base for exploring the beaches of Blackpool Sands and Slapton. They are both a 20-minute walk away (in opposite directions), through delightful countryside. There is also a Number 3 bus linking the village of Strete to Dartmouth. We managed without a car.
The accommodation is charming. We stayed in 'the barn' (the three of us sharing the upstairs bedroom; a double and an extra bed). Our hostess, Ingrid, had provided everything we could possibly need from a little cake to beach towels, beach bags, umbrellas and iced water. The Barn itself was also well-equipped, with a kitchenette and indoor/outdoor seating. The little walled garden at the back was delightful, and was clearly Ingrid's pride and joy..
Ingrid herself was an extremely kind and attentive hostess. She provided all sorts of useful information by email and in person, and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was delicious (served in the main house), and our rooms were spotless. We rather wished we had stayed longer.
I would thoroughly recommend Roxburgh House.

Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2016
It was a real pleasure to meet you and your family and introduce you to this lovely part of the South Hams . I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here at Roxburgh House and thank you for your positive review !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philip m
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Family wedding weekend”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We went to a family wedding in Kingsbridge and the reception was at the Dartmouth Golf club. This B & B was really convenient. Beautiful location. Lovely pub across the road (Kings Head). Friendly staff. Great food and good beer. Ingrid who owns the B&B is so thoughtful and catered for our every need. Two of us are gluten free so she had taken the trouble to make gluten free cakes and have gluten free snacks in our room and also there were lots of gluten free options for breakfast. Fab breakfast both days. You won't find a better B&B. Perfect for coastal path walkers.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2016
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay here . It was great to meet you and your family
and be able to provide you with a comfortable base down here in the South Hams . Thank you very much for lovely review !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clare h
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely b&b in great location, with delicious breakfasts & extremely helpful hostess”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Strete is a very small village on the coast just outside Dartmouth with a shop, post office, and very good pub.
We stayed in the self-contained barn, which is a very comfortable & spotlessly clean building at the end of the pretty garden. It provides total privacy, plus a living area and fully-equipped kitchenette, and a sunny outdoor terrace at first floor level. The sheltered garden is also a suntrap.
Breakfast, taken in the main house just down the path, is of a particularly high standard, using local bacon, sausages etc. Other options, such as kippers, eggs + smoked salmon, were available.There is a choice of cereals & yoghurts and a selection of delicious preserves, artisan breads etc. Ingrid goes to a great deal of trouble to get everything just right. Everything was cooked to perfection every day, including scrambled & poached eggs (so often overcooked).
We really enjoyed our stay, and Ingrid is an extremely friendly & helpful hostess. She is very willing to share her extensive local knowledge, and her suggested routes of travel, tips on the best places to park, and pub/restaurant recommendations all proved invaluable in helping us get the most of each day of our stay. Another plus is the lovely pub, serving excellent food, right opposite.
There is a great deal to see and enjoy in the South Hams area of Devon and Roxburgh House, just a few minutes' drive from the centre of Dartmouth, is a great base for exploring.

Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2016
Thank you very much for your great review ! It was lovely to meet you both and I am so glad you enjoyed your time at Roxburgh House and also here in the South Hams , a delightful part of Devon ! Ingrid
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nickdemrt
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 15 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

What a fantastic place to stay. Felt so well looked after. Ingrid did a fantastic job of looking after all of us, even the dog. Well worth visiting and we would all go again. Pubs and restaurants in the area were lovely too!

Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2016
Thank you very much for your review ! it was great meeting you all and I am glad you had such an enjoyable time ! Ingrid S.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irishbell...
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly little B and B”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed for 2 nights in this lovely little B and B when visiting the area and also ate in the pub (The Kings Arms) opposite - see the seperate review.
There is a choice between a double room in the main house or the barn conversion type accommodation behind - this was our choice and would definitely pay the little extra for it. This conversion has two large single beds rather than the double but we didn't find this a problem - they were prepared pushed together for us - they were big enough to snuggle on to one though!! There is a huge variety at breakfast with a warm welcome from the lady who runs it. She is a lovely lady with a huge knowledge of the area and what goes on in and around it. Can't wait for our next visit and would definitely stay here again.

Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing