We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely”

The Captain's House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Captain's House
Ranked #14 of 52 Dartmouth B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

My new wife and I wanted a few days Mini-moon in a Dartmouth.
What a great find! The lovely roses in our bedroom were so touching, the breakfasts delicious. The rooms were comfy, loads of hot water, service excellent! A stone's throw from the centre of town. No hesitation in recommending...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinselRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
52
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Market Bosworth, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Really warm and convenient B&B near the centre of Dartmouth. The rooms are a decent size and the folk who run the Captain's House were helpful and informed. It is easy walking distance to anywhere you wish to go to in the town. The breakfasts were freshly prepared and excellent.
There is no parking on site but there is an arrangement with on the nearby public car park. It's just what you need for a break in Dartmouth.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Wonderful B&B in a fantastic location in the heart of Dartmouth. Really friendly owner who helped us tremendously with car parking. Would recommend to all and would definitely stay at the Captains House again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed a couple of nights here, and excellent value in what can be a pricey town. Very good location for exploring the town, easy walks to every part, and with the clean and comfortable rooms, together with the excellent breakfasts, a good time was had by all.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexWomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Our two night stay in Dartmouth was enhanced by the high standard of hospitality offered at The Captain's House. In an ideal situation for exploring this interesting and picturesque town and the surrounding countryside, this B & B offers lovely, clean, well equipped rooms, fantastic breakfasts, friendly, helpful proprietors and the added boon of a parking permit in a nearby car park. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicia_mckilligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

Just returned from two nights at the Captains House. Wonderful B&B in a fantastic location in the heart of Dartmouth. Lovely room kept to a really high standard from really friendly housekeeping staff, followed by a fantastic breakfast. The parking permit (available for an extra £3) is really handy and allows you to park in the main car park just a stones throw away. Would recommend to anyone, this was our first visit to Dartmouth, we will definitely be back and we will definitely stay at the Captains House again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliottofhook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We had two nights at the Captain's House and thoroughly enjoyed it. The proprietors were friendly and welcoming, the house clean with lots of character and the breakfasts were great. The location is ideal, just off from the quay and is ideal for exploring the town or walking out onto the coastal paths.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
#1 of 52 in Dartmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayards Cove Inn
Bayards Cove Inn
#4 of 52 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ship in Dock Inn
The Ship in Dock Inn
#15 of 52 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Captain's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain's House

Property: The Captain's House
Address: 18 Clarence Street, Dartmouth TQ6 9NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Captain's House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captain's House B&B is a quirky Grade II Listed Town House, full of character and warmth, ideally located in the heart of Dartmouth just a minutes walk to the beautiful river Dart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Captain's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Captain's House Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing