We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!”
Review of Melverley House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dartmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Melverley House
Ranked #18 of 52 Dartmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Stayed here for two nights with my husband during the Dartmouth Regatta on the August bank holiday. Absolutely wonderful weekend, our third visit to Dartmouth this year! Stayed in the Summer Breeze room. As soon as we walked into the room we were met with a wonderful view over Dartmouth and down to the river. The french window led out to a small balcony with a table and two chairs so you could sit with a glass of wine and watch the sun go down Unfortunately our weather wasn't brilliant but it didn't dampen out spirits. It was a lovely light and airey room with a huge bed and wonderful crisp white bed linen. There was a wide selection of tea, coffee, chocolate, biscuits etc and fresh milk and bottled water was supplied in the fridge in the room. The bathroom was directly next door but it wasn't a problem as we were supplied with waffle dressing gowns. The bathroom was lovely with underfloor heating and again every need was met. A table and two chairs were placed by a little window again with a view down to the river. The continental breakfast was served by Hilary in our room and it was wonderful. We usually enjoy a full English but the selection of cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit, fish or meat platters, delicious home made croissants with preserves, fresh juice, tea or coffee was a refreshing change. To get the view that we had from Melverley House you need to be up high so be aware that it is very steep going into Dartmouth. We managed it fine though and I have arthritic knees!! A big thank you to Hilary and Mike for making us so welcome. We will definitely recommend to family and friends and maybe return to Dartmouth for a fourth visit!!

Room Tip: You will not be disappointed with either room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guinevere7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonMoonshine, Owner at Melverley House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2011

Thank you for giving your time to write a review. Glad you had a good time and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2011

What can you say? Absolutely excellent. We only stayed for one night, but felt instantly relaxed and welcomed. We stayed in the Forget-Me-Not room and it's beautifully clean and spacious and Hilary appears to have thought of all those extra touches that make staying away from home so pleasurable....fresh flowers, lovely bedlinen, a small fridge with fresh milk and water, a bottle opener, even a cute bear on the bed to give it that extra special feel. The view is gorgeous - who needs a TV when you can watch that all day?! Places like this makes us feel like we never want to stay in an impersonal hotel again! Thanks so much - it was just what we needed and so much more. I have a sneaky feeling we'll be back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluefish7204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonMoonshine, Owner at Melverley House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2011

Thank you very much for writing a review for Melverley. Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we would love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Have just spent 3 wonderful nights here, the clean room with the ever changing views is fantastic and the big bed with lovely bedding is great. Hilary provides a very large and tasty breakfast and was very helpful with any info we needed about the area. We enjoyed our walk down into the town, taking a slightly different route each time between very quaint houses on quiet streets,we did use a taxi for our return due to the hill but it was well worth it! We are already recommending melverley to our friends and family

Room Tip: we had the room with seperate bathroom but it couldn't get any closer without being ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonMoonshine, Owner at Melverley House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2011

Thank you for giving your time to write a review and for recommending us. It is very much appreciated and we would love to welcome you again to Melverley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

It is only natural to feel somewhat apprehensive when booking accommodation at an unknown B & B. You can now put aside all those doubts having just found Melverley House!

Located in a quiet cul-de-sac, and overlooking the rooftops way below to the River Dart, Melverley House is ideally positioned for those wanting a peaceful and restful stay, yet being only a few mnutes walk down into town.

We and two friends took the two rooms, and were really impressed with the high standards found in both. Hilary and Mike have paid particular attention to co-ordinating furnishings, bedding, etc. and provided the little touches that make all the difference - bath robes, mini fridge (stocked daily with bottled spring water, and fresh milk for the hospitality tray), fresh flowers on the table, wine glasses and a bottle opener. Surely this is the ideal place to unwind after a long journey?

Hilary serves an excellent breakfast (lots of choice here, including her home-baked croissants and bread rolls) to set you up for the day ahead. Nothing was too much trouble to Hilary, who was determined to make our stay as pleasurable as possible, in fact we're thinking of an excuse to make a second visit!

Room Tip: 'Summer Breeze' has a slightly better view from its balcony, although its beautifully appoin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonMoonshine, Owner at Melverley House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2011

Thank you for sparing your time to write a review. Its good to know that we seem to be getting the right balance but we are always open to suggestions for improvement. It was a great pleasure having you here and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Lovely room with fantastic views and excellent service. We really enjoyed having breakfast served in our room. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlamingoLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonMoonshine, Owner at Melverley House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2011

Thank you so much for sparing your time to write a review. It is much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

If I had a B&B I would model it on Melverley House.

Ok, so I could not guarantee the wonderful view of Kingswear and Dartmouth harbour, but the ease of booking, our arrival, the pleasantness of Hilary and Mike, the quality of the room (its furnishings, amenities - oh, did I mention the view?) and the breakfast were all excellent.

No faults at all

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gloandbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonMoonshine, Owner at Melverley House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2011

Thank you for sparing your time to write a review for Melverley. We really enjoyed having you and would love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

we stayed in Melverly House for just one night but had been there before so I thought it's time to write a little review.
The views are so pretty, the rooms bright and clean, he bathrooms got underfloor heating- which is extra cosy. The breakfast is served in your room and the quality is just delicious. Hillary ist a perfect host and hopefully we have some time this year to return again..... Melverly House is higly recommended!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelpeoples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonMoonshine, Owner at Melverley House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2011

Thank you for sparing your time to write a review. Hope to see you again at Melverley in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
3.3 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
0.8 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fairholme B&B and Holiday Apartment
2.2 mi away
Greenway Barn B&B
Greenway Barn B&B
#3 of 6 in Kingswear
30 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kaywana Hall
Kaywana Hall
#1 of 6 in Kingswear
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melverley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melverley House

Address: Townstal Pathfields, Dartmouth TQ6 9HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dartmouth
Price Range: £80 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast with stunning views ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Melverley House Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing