We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY GUEST HOUSE”
Review of Melverley House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dartmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Melverley House
Ranked #17 of 52 Dartmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Have visited Dartmouth numerous times for 20 years and always stay in the town centre as close to the river as possible but as we only decided to visit as a last minute treat all our regular choices were unavailable. However we were very lucky to have found our room at Melverley House, as it was beautiful. Hilary the owner showed us to our room which was lovely & with a balcony looking over the valley to the best view in Devon........the River Dart. Everything about our stay was excellent, the room extremely comfortable, the bathroom had everything we needed & the breakfast a great start to the day, It's a lovely 10-15 minute walk downhill to the town & river & if you can't face the walk back up as I couldn't after a few wines a taxi cost us £4. Would recommend to friends and we are glad our regular choices were unavailable as we now have another favourite Dartmouth haunt!!

Room Tip: both rooms excellant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KATEBEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary B, Owner at Melverley House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thanks a million for giving your time to write a review and we would love to see you return to Melverley in the future.

Best wishes

Hilary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

We made a second trip to Dartmouth, a year after our first, for a birthday treat. We enjoyed our visit - the bed is so comfortable, bathroom spotless with proper power shower you don't want to leave and a view of Dartmouth from the bedroom's bay window that is delightful first thing in the morning. We enjoyed delicious food and for me Hilary's fruit salad is delicious, the detail goes down to even de-stoning cherries. Melverley provides secure parking and warm hospitality. We hope to be back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Efjf48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary B, Owner at Melverley House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Many thanks for sparing your time to write a review. I am pleased your second visit was as good as your first experience. I hope to welcome you again to Melverley and thank you for your positive feedback.

Best wishes

Hilary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

just returned from a seven night stay so glad we chose here beautiful room forget me not great views lovely breakfast spotlessly clean warm welcome what more can we say just perfect thanks hilary would highly recommend steve christine nottingham

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary B, Owner at Melverley House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

So glad you chose Melverley too and that you took the time to write a review. Many Many thanks
Hilary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Beautiful room overlooking the most superb view of Dartmouth. Everything was of the best quality from the bed (really comfortable) to the breakfast (fresh homemade food).
Hilary was welcoming when we arrived and was the perfect host. We had the most lovely stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loveday P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary B, Owner at Melverley House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Many thanks for writing a review for Melverley it is really appreciated. I'm very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back if your in Dartmouth again.

Regards

Hilary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed this week at Melverley House. The rooms are excellent ,spacious, well furnished and with great views over Dartmouth Town . Extras like breakfast served in your room , bath robes, a mini fridge with fresh milk and bottled water. We are regular visitors to Dartmouth and this the best we have stayed in. The parking is a bonus. A 15 minute very pleasant stroll takes you down to the waterfront and Town centre. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary B, Owner at Melverley House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

I would like to thank you very much for sparing your time to write a review for Melverley.
I am very pleased you enjoyed your time here and thank you again for recommending Melverley.

Best wishes

Hilary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed in the self catering garden apartment at Melverley House,just perfect!Hope to go back in September as we really could'nt have wished for anything better.Felt comfortable and at home as soon as we arrived,many thanks Hilary!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woowoowestsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary B, Owner at Melverley House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Many thanks for reviewing the Garden apartment. I am glad you felt welcomed and I would love to see you again in September. Long may this sunny weather continue.

Best wishes

Hilary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend, The welcome and quality of the accomodation was first class. We also could not fault the breakfasts, in addition to the expected continental , Hilary put on specials for two mornings. All lovely and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roger l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary B, Owner at Melverley House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Really appreciate it that you have spared your time to review Melverley House. I am glad you enjoyed the special breakfasts and it was lovely to welcome you and your lovely family.

All the best

Hilary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,045 reviews
1.8 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Bayards Cove Inn
Bayards Cove Inn
#4 of 52 in Dartmouth
482 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
#2 of 52 in Dartmouth
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melverley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melverley House

Address: Townstal Pathfields, Dartmouth TQ6 9HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dartmouth
Price Range: £80 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast with stunning views ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Melverley House Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing