We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking view”
Review of Melverley House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dartmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Melverley House
Ranked #16 of 52 Dartmouth B&B and Inns
Potters Bar
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had a room with separate bathroom, it was not ensuite, but right next to our bedroom. But I think we had the best view from our bedroom, the B&B is positioned on the hill so the view was of Dartmouth town with the river and we saw bit of the sea as well. We had a sole use of little balcony that was attached to our room. It was little walk to the town, about 10mins, the way back slightly longer as you go uphill. You can of course get a cab but it was lovelly to walk back, through a cemetery. Hillary was most welcoming, even we were able to check in earlier which was a plus. Room was big enough, clean and had everything we needed. Plus it was the only B&B that provided dressing gowns on our tour of Devon which was a nice touch. There were wine glasses provided as well so our second night we bought a bottle of wine and just sitting on the balcony and taking in views and sipping the wine. Breakfast was lovely, welcomed change to other B&B's with full English breakfasts. Food platter had plenty of stuff and to finish you could have very nice homemade croissants. Plus the breakfast is served in your room. Me and my partner both fell in love with Dartmouth so will be back soon and definitelly
will be back at Melverley house.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaKySe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary B, Owner at Melverley House, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
I am really pleased to hear you fell in love with Dartmouth and the views from Melverley. I appreciate every day how lucky I am to live here with the stunning scenery and views. Thanks a million for your review and would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
87
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Beautiful, well run B&B. Room was well sized, decorated and furnished with a wonderful view out of the bedroom window. Parking available on the drive as well as on the road outside. Continental Breakfast was great with a lot of choice . A little bit of a walk up and down some very large hills to the town centre and back but otherwise lovely location.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary B, Owner at Melverley House, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Would like to thank you for reviewing Melverley. Really appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again.

Hilary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My Wife and I chose to stay in Melverley house for our first wedding anniversary after reading the great reviews and we were not disappointed. Our room was clean and comfortable with great views over Dartmouth and river from the balcony. We woke every morning after a great night's sleep to a superb breakfast served in our room. Hilary and her Husband were the perfect hosts who made our stay one to remember. If you're looking for somewhere to stay in Devon, I would highly recommend Melverley House. Fantastic b&b and hosts. We shall definitely return to Melverley House.

Room Tip: We stayed in Summerbreeze room which had a balcony and adjoining bathroom with bath and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank CrysSor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary B, Owner at Melverley House, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing Melverley and glad it was a memorable experience for you. We hope to welcome you again in the future. The weather is still fabulous and we are hoping it continues to be a good summer.

Best wishes

Hilary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We took 2 rooms for the ' Friends and Families' weekend when visiting our daughter at BRNC - and proximity to the college was one of the reasons we selected Melverley. Conveniently located with stunning views over Dartmouth and the river, it provided the perfect escape from the bustle of the town and the timetable of activities organised by the college. Both rooms are stylishly decorated - one is ensuite, while the other has a private bathroom next door and a balcony - so there was little to chose between them. We loved the bathrobes, thoughtful provision of cafetiere, fresh coffee and mini fridge with milk ( perfect for the bottles of fizz we bought). Breakfast was taken in our rooms and was lovely and leisurely with fresh fruit, local produce ( smoked salmon, meats and cheeses) and the most delicious croissants ever. Mike and Hilary are delightful hosts : even though we arrived incredibly late, we received a warm welcome and they were happy to book a restaurant for us - even though it was past 11. They're a source of knowledge about the area and we had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Both rooms are excellent and there's also a self - catering holiday apartment attached to the pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank janrhian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary B, Owner at Melverley House, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Many thanks for sparing your time to write a review for Melverley. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit. We enjoyed hosting you and wish both your daughters every success for the future.

Regards

Hilary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was the second time we stayed at Melverley House, just as good as the first time. The view from the bedroom was spectactual, especially at night, just as I remembered it from last time. Loved falling asleep in a very comfortable bed, looking at the lights over Dartmouth. Plenty of breakfast, some homemade and sourced locally.
Plenty to do during the day and places to have a meal. Did the steam train to Paigton this time something I have always wanted to do! I would really recommend this lovely, very well kept and clean B&B and we hope to return again next year as the area also has plenty to do as a couple.

Room Tip: Two rooms, both lovely either en suite or a separate bathroom, breakfast served in the rooms, overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HELEN E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary B, Owner at Melverley House, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to return to Melverley for a second visit. Looking forward to welcoming you back next year and hope you have a great summer. Much appreciate your time to review Melverley.

Hilary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I came down to Dartmouth for a few days to explore the area and was made so welcome at Melverley House that I felt completely at home. My bedroom had a balcony looking over the river Dart and I ate my delicious breakfast out there in the sunshine. Everything was clean and comfortable and I slept really well. The area is beautiful and Hilary was able to suggest lovely walks and trips to the local National Trust properties of Greenway and Coleton Fishacre. Thank you and I shall definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary B, Owner at Melverley House, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Really Glad you enjoyed your stay. Garden at Coleton fishacre is one of my favourites. Thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed at Melverley twice (once as a couple and once with family). Beautiful rooms with lovely relaxing views. The rooms and bathroom were very comfortable and clean. Good quality local food (the homemade food was really good as well). Really friendly owners who knew a lot about the location and what was close by to do/see. Excellent value for money which is why I plan to go back this summer as well. :)x

Room Tip: I would recommend both rooms as I have stayed in both :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aje1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary B, Owner at Melverley House, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Very much appreciate your feedback and pleased to hear you enjoyed the homemade food. Thank you for sparing your time to review Melverley and hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
967 reviews
0.1 mi away
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dartmouth
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
#2 of 52 in Dartmouth
334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mounthaven Guest House
Mounthaven Guest House
#6 of 52 in Dartmouth
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melverley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melverley House

Property: Melverley House
Address: Townstal Pathfields, Dartmouth TQ6 9HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast with stunning views ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Melverley House Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing