We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vintage style Old Worlde Charm and more”
Review of The Singing Kettle

The Singing Kettle
Ranked #21 of 95 Restaurants in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Serving high end cream teas, high teas, light meals , cakes, pastries and an extensive variety of hot and cold drinks .
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Vintage style Old Worlde Charm and more”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

It was 1pm in Dartmouth in August and everywhere was busy. We wanted a table for 3 for lunch and initially thought The Singing Kettle was only a tea shop. Although busy they found us a lovely table and the lunch menu was far more than just Tea- omelettes, soup, gammon n eggs etc. Great food, fantastic polite service, fair prices and gorgeous tea served in china cups from silver tea pots. There were even timers to brew the tea correctly and sugar tongs for sugar cubes.
Even the loo was immaculately clean!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RosebudTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    65
    19
    22
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, Lancashire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Devon Cream Tea”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My first visit to Dartmouth so indulging in a Devon Crea Tea was mandatory and we were not disappointed. Silver service and a mouth-watering cream tea! Also, a good cup of tea. Excellent service and we noticed other dishes served which looked good. Not to be missed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NAskew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful High Tea”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

When in Dartmouth recently we came across the lovely olde worldly "Singing Kettle tea shop"Where the staff , Peter and Alan were both charming,welcoming and professional. We ordered a HighTea for two and what a superb treat it was. A plethora of delicious cakes, sandwiches and tea arrived. Beautifully presented in a silver tea service and china cups and an egg timer for perfectly brewed tea. Excellently served by Peter and Alan who did their utmost to ensure we enjoyed the experience to the full. This made it a real occassion. We would like thank them both and would throughly recommend you do not miss visiting this delightful little gem

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a treat”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Bought a china teacup and saucer in a shop in Kingsbridge and the lady who served me lives in Dartmouth and suggested I should visit the Singing Kettle if I liked good old fashioned presentation and service. What a delightful experience, had the savoury tea, accompanied by a silver tea tray complete with egg timer to time the brewing to perfection. Delightful setting and atmosphere, will certainly return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Lavington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Simply the best tea room”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is quite simply the best tea room ever
Service first class, lunch and cream teas amazing
Make sure you do not miss this gem

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank tedosborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Singing Kettle also viewed

Dartmouth, Devon
 

Been to The Singing Kettle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing