We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious”
Review of The Singing Kettle

The Singing Kettle
Ranked #24 of 92 Restaurants in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Happened upon The Singing Kettle while looking for a cream tea. Liked the look of it as it is old fashioned and looks very welcoming. The staff were incredibly efficient and helpful. Thought it seemed awfully expensive at over £7 for a cream tea but then the waitress explained that it was more than enough for 2 people so cost £10 as we ordered an extra tea? The scones are huge and delicious and served with very generous portions of cream and jam and it was all very well presented. Was sorry we hadn't gone there for lunch as the meals being brought out to other customers looked very good as well. Would highly recommend this Tea Shoppe.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    63
    19
    22
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Vintage style Old Worlde Charm and more”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

It was 1pm in Dartmouth in August and everywhere was busy. We wanted a table for 3 for lunch and initially thought The Singing Kettle was only a tea shop. Although busy they found us a lovely table and the lunch menu was far more than just Tea- omelettes, soup, gammon n eggs etc. Great food, fantastic polite service, fair prices and gorgeous tea served in china cups from silver tea pots. There were even timers to brew the tea correctly and sugar tongs for sugar cubes.
Even the loo was immaculately clean!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RosebudTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, Lancashire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Devon Cream Tea”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My first visit to Dartmouth so indulging in a Devon Crea Tea was mandatory and we were not disappointed. Silver service and a mouth-watering cream tea! Also, a good cup of tea. Excellent service and we noticed other dishes served which looked good. Not to be missed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NAskew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful High Tea”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

When in Dartmouth recently we came across the lovely olde worldly "Singing Kettle tea shop"Where the staff , Peter and Alan were both charming,welcoming and professional. We ordered a HighTea for two and what a superb treat it was. A plethora of delicious cakes, sandwiches and tea arrived. Beautifully presented in a silver tea service and china cups and an egg timer for perfectly brewed tea. Excellently served by Peter and Alan who did their utmost to ensure we enjoyed the experience to the full. This made it a real occassion. We would like thank them both and would throughly recommend you do not miss visiting this delightful little gem

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a treat”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Bought a china teacup and saucer in a shop in Kingsbridge and the lady who served me lives in Dartmouth and suggested I should visit the Singing Kettle if I liked good old fashioned presentation and service. What a delightful experience, had the savoury tea, accompanied by a silver tea tray complete with egg timer to time the brewing to perfection. Delightful setting and atmosphere, will certainly return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Singing Kettle also viewed

Dartmouth, Devon
 

Been to The Singing Kettle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing