We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our very own personal hotel”

Birds Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dartmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Birds Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #24 of 52 Dartmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 August 2013

It is difficult to find new or different words to those written before and so we wish to endorse all the positive comments made below. The attention to detail, based on very high standards, made our 5 night stay a sheer delight. Indeed, we felt as if we were in our very own personal hotel, which was symbolised by the relationship struck with Rob and Marilyn from the very first telephone enquiry to the subsequent e-mail correspondence about our dietary restrictions. [Since you ask: one of us is diabetic and the other gluten intolerant so Rob insisted on going beyond the call of duty by promising to make us sugar-free rock cakes and gluten-free bread - which he did!]. It resulted in us joyfully anticipating our stay long before we had even set foot in Fairview Road, let alone Dartmouth or Devon. Chatting over breakfast was a pleasure and took 1 1/2 hours on our final morning. Such care spoke volumes about their personal service and typified their labour of love. We are very grateful to have been their guests and look forward to repeating our stay.

Sharon & Paul

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

This is an exquiste gem of a B&B, with such friendly and attentive hosts. The B&B accommodation covers a whole floor of the house, consisting of a very comfortable 5' bed in a well appointed room with very good views over the town and fields, and also the waterfront in the middle distance. There is also a small private lounge with a comfy sofa, an excellent TV and loads of books and games to browse. Add in a first class private bathroom with a very good shower and it is an amazing package. Free parking was available on the driveway. We were made very welcome. Breakfast was really delicious, lots of choice, home made bread, fresh fruit, several cooked options, and cereal....... we have never tasted better breakfasts anywhere; it kept us going all day! Rob's home made rock-cakes were very moreish, and went very well with a cup of tea (or two!!) when we returned from our explorations of Darmouth and the beautiful surrounding area where there is a lot to do and see. Agatha Christie's, Greenway (NT) by boat from Dartmouth - 25 mins - was special. Marilyn and Rob's suggestions of places to eat dinner were also spot on. Walking down into the town took about 10 minutes and walking back didn't take much longer. As previous reviewers have said, please don't change a single thing! Top marks!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamesDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We spent three lovely days at Birds. From the beginning to the end it felt like home from home. Never mind the conventional B & B, what you get here is a floor to yourselves. In addition to this luxury, the warmth and friendliness from Rob and Marilyn are an added bonus to making the stay at Birds so special.
Their sunny disposition and daily top up of the rock cake jar, made it a pleasure to come back to every day, not to mention the inspirational home made bread that has got us talking about our own baking! The spot is perfect and picturesque, the walk is a steady 10 mins down hill and the walk back up was very lovely and adorned by the sweet smell of jasmine in the evening.
Generally reviews tend to air on a wish for something extra, however Birds just leaves you wanting to go back as soon as you can...it wants for nothing.
Don't go changing a thing and we will be back with our little baby as soon as we can!

Love Katie & Lee

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Quite simply this is an exceptionally good B and B. There are great views from the spotlessly clean bedrooms, but surprisingly even better from the breakfast balcony. Marilyn and Rob strike just the right note in caring for guests but not intrusive. The breakfast is delicious, which includes home baked bread, plums cooked in honey and ( at this time of year) strawberries and melon.
It is a steep walk back from town, but the frequent bus stops at the top of Fairview Road, 2 minutes walk from Birds.
We all three enjoyed our stay and look forward to a return visit.
Ronald, Wendy and Peter Arghyrou

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This 5 Star B&B has everything you possibly want. Nothing was too much trouble for welcoming owners Rob and Marilyn.The comfortable rooms have stunning views over Dartmouth and the river Dart.

We had short delightful stay and will return.
Thank you both.

Ray & Pat Webb

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Fell upon this little place by coincidence on the net but what a wonderful find it was. Definitely a 5 star stay, a delight to have your own key and front door and a lovely comfortable 1 bed apartment, not your average B & B!! Rob & Marilyn could not have been more helpful or friendlier even down to homemade freshly baked rock cakes, delicious! Superb breakfasts both mornings, real good value. Be prepared for a energetic hike back up after supper though, quite a climb when you've had a few glasses of wine! We would definitely return.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We only stayed for one night but we could not have been treated any differently if it had been a longer stay. The bedroom and bathroom were very clean and comfortable and having your own lounge was an added bonus. Home made cookies, bottled water and plenty of towels. The breakfast was excellent. Rob allowed us to leave our car on his drive the following day until we left Dartmouth to save us finding a parking space. Would recommend Birds as a top class stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarylnStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
3.5 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
0.3 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fairholme B&B and Holiday Apartment
2.2 mi away
Greenway Barn B&B
Greenway Barn B&B
#3 of 6 in Kingswear
30 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kaywana Hall
Kaywana Hall
#1 of 6 in Kingswear
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birds Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birds Bed & Breakfast

Address: 11 Fairview Road, Dartmouth TQ6 9EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dartmouth
Price Range: £94 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private two room suite of double bedroom and sitting room, with fine views, relaxed breakfasts and parking; from £89 per night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Birds Bed & Breakfast Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing