We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More of the same”

Birds Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dartmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Birds Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 53 Dartmouth B&B and Inns
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“More of the same”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We returned to Rob & Marilyn for a second stay and found that our first visit had not been a fantasy, but was indeed a wonderful reality as we received more of the same. More: friendliness; kindness; care; humour; and excellent facilities and service.

In our own lounge waiting for us we found our preferred taste in tea, plus sugar-free rock cakes and gluten-free cake. The quality in this B&B is in the detail.

One little tip - our Sat Nav, from the Upper Ferry, took us up Clarence Hill, which gave us an immediate feel for Dartmouth, but it is only just wide enough for one car. Much less stressful is to go, and return to Fairview Road, via Victoria Road. It makes it easier to park the car too.

Our third visit is planned for March!

Paul & Sharon

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank psm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
71
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed for a long weekend with the 'Dart Birds' in Dartmouth. Not only is Marilyn & Rob's B&B the best in Dartmouth, it has in our view better accommodation, facilities and hospitality than most of the hotels we have stayed in around the world (and we have stayed in a few).
Marilyn & Rob are excellent hosts - the suite of rooms is very well appointed with wonderful views over the valley - and breakfast (& other goodies - e.g. Rob's rock cakes) are spot on. The B&B is within easy walking distance of the town centre (slightly harder coming back) and the off road parking space is a real bonus.
This must be the number 1 B&B in Dartmouth. We look forward to returning soon - thanks Marilyn & Rob.
Ps - the weekend ended up costing us a fortune because the bed was so comfortable we had to buy an identical mattress on our return - Rob even found the supplier for us on the Internet!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is one of the best bed and breakfast accommodations I have ever stayed in, beautifully decorated and It was lovely having a separate living room, and gorgeous bathroom.

Lovely views over Dartmouth, and your own off road parking space which was great as you could walk into Dartmouth and leave the car.

Rob and Marilyn were great hosts, and the breakfast was always lovely.

Will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Just back from a 3 night stay at Birds B&B and have to say all aspects were excellent. As has been said previously, you have your own private floor here consisting of a spacious bedroom with a king bed and memory foam mattress that has fantastic views over dartmouth, a nice bathroom with huge shower, and a separate living room with sofa and tv, perfect to come back to and chill out after our days exploring the area (there is also a jar of Rob's lovely homemade rock cakes that was topped up daily!).

Rob is a great host & the breakfast again was fantastic, - nice choice of cereals and fruit (the honeys plums were very nice), and then to follow a cooked option of pretty much whatever we wanted using many homemade or local ingredients, it certainly set us up for the day.

The walk down into the town was easy and took us less than 10 minutes, although I think it would be more difficult coming back as the roads are quite steep. As my wife is pregnant we didn't try this and just took a taxi each time which was very cheap and easy.

Overall this is a great B&B & is certainly somewhere we would come back to in the future.

One thing I would say is don't follow the sat nav after you leave the ferry, it it took us up some very awkward roads which we could only just get the car down! Ask Rob first and he will tell you a better route.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lee171181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

What a fantastic visit we have just had, came away from our stay feeling as if we had just made two new amazing friends in Rob and Marilyn. Rob's breakfasts were outstanding and varied and the home made rock cakes and biscuits on our tea tray made a very welcome afternoon snack.
Our room or should I say room's were spotless (A floor to our selves,bedroom shower room and lounge) . We will visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

excellent accommodation having the full use of the upstairs including a beautiful shower room
lounge with excellent view
rob the owner is a tremendous host
breakfast was to die for
he had made us fresh rock cakes ( with his own twist )
too go with our arrival cuppa

top class accommodation with a top class host

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

It is difficult to find new or different words to those written before and so we wish to endorse all the positive comments made below. The attention to detail, based on very high standards, made our 5 night stay a sheer delight. Indeed, we felt as if we were in our very own personal hotel, which was symbolised by the relationship struck with Rob and Marilyn from the very first telephone enquiry to the subsequent e-mail correspondence about our dietary restrictions. [Since you ask: one of us is diabetic and the other gluten intolerant so Rob insisted on going beyond the call of duty by promising to make us sugar-free rock cakes and gluten-free bread - which he did!]. It resulted in us joyfully anticipating our stay long before we had even set foot in Fairview Road, let alone Dartmouth or Devon. Chatting over breakfast was a pleasure and took 1 1/2 hours on our final morning. Such care spoke volumes about their personal service and typified their labour of love. We are very grateful to have been their guests and look forward to repeating our stay.

Sharon & Paul

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
3.5 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
1.9 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mounthaven Guest House
Mounthaven Guest House
#6 of 53 in Dartmouth
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
#2 of 53 in Dartmouth
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birds Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birds Bed & Breakfast

Property: Birds Bed & Breakfast
Address: 11 Fairview Road, Dartmouth TQ6 9EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private two room suite of double bedroom and sitting room, with fine views, relaxed breakfasts and parking; from £89 per night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Birds Bed & Breakfast Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing