We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed at Birds...................”

Birds Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dartmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Birds Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 52 Dartmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Didn't really want to praise this place too much as it will get too busy and we will not be able to book the suite when we want it..............! The accompanying private siting room really makes this B&B accommodation special and different. You can just flop in the evening without having to put up with other B&B guests sharing a common lounge. Very quiet with excellent breakfast and congenial, intelligent yet humorous chit-chat with the hosts - they know what they are doing. So easy to wind Marilyn up! Just don't insult her pet seagull on the roof!
We'll visit again when holidaying in Dartmouth (providing we can get in!)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RestaurantProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We only needed a B&B for one night (unfortunately) and I chose Birds based on other reviews on Trip Advisor. It didn't disappoint, Rob and Marilyn are wonderful hosts and we were made to feel welcome from the first telephone call. This is very comfortable, clean, modern, home from home accommodation; and thoughtfully laid out with your own sitting room adjacent to the bedroom. There were no penny pinching shortcuts that you sometimes find in B&B's and I can't think of a negative point to mention - we have no hesitation in recommending it. - Oh yes, and Rob's rock cakes are very good too!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GertandDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Dartmouth was our second stay on our journey through Devon and Cornwall this year. We came from South-Germany and had a long way to travel. My wife and me spent two nights in Birds B&B together with our daughter and her husband and it was as good as it was two years ago. Rob and Marilyn are fantastic hosts and everything was so as we wanted it to be. We reached Dartmouth in the late afternoon at the end of Dart Music Festival, the sun was shining, no clouds in the sky, a bright and warm atmosphere everywhere what else could we wish to have? You have a wonderful view over Dartmouth harbour from Birds accomodation, you have a warm and friendly welcome by Rob and Marilyn, you have a tremendous and good breakfast and a very calm night. It were two wonderful days with good sightseeing-tips by Rob and a little shopping-tour in lovely Dartmouth - a town we all loved so much. Thank you Rob thank you Marilyn for your hospitality. We'll gladly come back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BavariaPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, in this lovely, relaxing, comfortable , clean B and B. Rob and Marilyn made us feel so welcome, our room was lovely and spacious, and the breakfasts were delicious - as we're the infamous homemade rock cakes. A real gem ideally located in the wonderful Dartmouth.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 83flutterbybutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

You can see very little of this property from the road outside - only the top floor in fact. On entering, you find that it's carefully built into the hillside so that there are views across the valley and over the harbour from all three floors. Having a suite of rooms is a great asset, providing a relaxing setting after enjoying the surrounding countryside - with some wonderfully secret places such as Fast Rabbit Farm and Slapton Ley nearby to explore.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowdon30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Birds B&B was exactly as described. The welcome was warm.
The suite of rooms was very comfortable. We were warmly welcomed by the Birds and we enjoyed the elevated view of Dartmouth.
The location was handy for a stroll into Dartmouth for the evening. You need to reserve a little energy for the steep return up the hill after dinner.
Breakfast was a treat.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Having stayed in over 18 different properties in this area, we've never experienced such luxury in a B&B as we did at the Birds!

The accomodation was beautifully decorated and furnished; the private living room was a welcome retreat after a long day. The king-size bed with 'cool' memory foam mattress meant we both slept like babies. The en-suite was spotlessly clean with double-size shower and amusing collection of humorous books.

The fresh milk was miraculously replenished - by the 'Ninja milkman' as we suspect was Rob and the selection of drinks included Horlicks, drinking Chocolate, various teas & quality coffee - not to mention Rob's now-famous rock-cakes!

If you like fresh fish for breakfast - as I do - you'll love the alternative to 'full Devon' - I had salmon steak and scambled eggs, mackerel and haddock on successive days. And of course, buns or savoury scones that Rob had baked the night before. We were so full, we didn't even consider eating again till afternoon Devon tea!

Although access would be difficult for disabled persons, this is true of many properties in Dartmouth, due to its hilly nature. Rob helped me park up my compact car off the road and with carrying my wife's bags to and from the car.

After a 7-night stay we left our genial, affable hosts - Rob & Marilyn - more like old friends than hosts.

The only bad news is that it's going to be impossible to stay anywhere else in Dartmouth now!

Room Tip: Beautiful views from the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheshireCheeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
3.5 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
0.3 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fairholme B&B and Holiday Apartment
1.1 mi away
Kaywana Hall
Kaywana Hall
#1 of 6 in Kingswear
263 reviews
2.2 mi away
Greenway Barn B&B
Greenway Barn B&B
#3 of 6 in Kingswear
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birds Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birds Bed & Breakfast

Address: 11 Fairview Road, Dartmouth TQ6 9EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dartmouth
Price Range: £93 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private two room suite of double bedroom and sitting room, with fine views, relaxed breakfasts and parking; from £89 per night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Birds Bed & Breakfast Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing