We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful - not to be missed”
Review of Sails - CLOSED

Sails
Price range: US$9 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Nottingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful - not to be missed”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Agree with all the great reviews so far so won't repeat. What made it special for us was how well our two daughters (aged 4 and 7) were looked after. Instead of typical kids menu, they had the option to choose from the main one with any additions or deletions accommodated! Wonderful food for my husband and the girls tucked in. Staff were friendly and so helpful. Will definitely return

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Posie23Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    39
    15
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We visited Sails on a last minute decision. It was almost full, but to our surprise we were allocated the window seat (which is my favourite). The front of house was great, really welcoming and attentive, he even remembered our favourite bottle of wine and our daughters preferred pasta dish from our last visit which was in january! The food we ordered was gorgeous, the best I have ever had there. The service was speedy considering how busy it was. All in all 10 out of 10. Can not recommend it enough.

Helpful?
1 Thank erin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best views,food and staff”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We first came here to celebrate our daughters 18th and discovered not only fantastic food and views but wonderful friendly helpful staff.
The menu has something for everyone and the specials add an extra wow. Our daughters carbonara was amazing no thin runny sauce that sat in the bottom of the bowl but fantastic thick coating with amazing flavour. The steaks are great and the veg risotto with its gentle chilly kick was amazing.
We loved it so much we immediately booked a table for the next day. What can I say it was amazing once again.
Douggy is a warm welcoming host and all his staff are friendly, we had a great banter with them both nights.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just super”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Now, see, good food is always good food. What makes a place special for us is the staff. I don't care how good the food is if the staff are robotic or just going through the motions. A night out having a good meal can be much more enjoyable if the staff are friendly, helpful and, in the case of Sails, down right hilarious on the banter front!

The staff at Sails on the night we were there could simply not be faulted. If you were a quiet, shy couple just out for a quiet meal, then they treated you more formally. If you were having a laugh, they joined in. The fact that the food was fabulous, sensibly priced, and with very generous portion sizes - we couldn't cope with a dessert each so shared a cheese board - makes it one of the most enjoyable meals out I've ever had. And then there is that view across to Kingswear.

Sails, don't ever change. Or change your staff.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food, unsurpassed customer service”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We were treated to a meal in Sails by our lovely friends this evening and at every level it was excellent. Four of us had Starters and Mains and 3 had dessert and one a coffee to end the meal. Each meal was cooked to perfection. The food was piping hot and arrived in very good time from the point at which the order was taken. Our waitress was so lovely - very caring, friendly and nothing too much trouble. Dougie was also overseeing everything attentively and the whole evening just flowed. Sails serves top quality food and the ambiance is amazing. The views are breathtaking and the place has an air of relaxed efficiency.

What really amazed me was the way very different classic recipes were each cooked to perfection. There didn't seem to be any weakness. Speaking personally, I had the best risotto I have eaten outside Italy - and it was on a par with the Italian version. One friend had modules mariniere - again perfection, as was the sea bass and the chicken chasseur. The tarte aux pommes comprised just the right amount of delicious pastry to support the succulent, fragrant apple.

The next visit cannot be too far away - really wanting to experience more of that lovely menu!

When people obviously put their heart and soul into their work and when they give the very best they possibly can - when a restaurant uses the best and freshest ingredients, when they research the most delicious recipes - when they pay close attention to detail and customer needs, you have it all - what's not to like? Sails has all this in spadefuls. Thank you for a truly memorable and lovely evening.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Skerrybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sails also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing