We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to tour the Dart”

Paddle Steamer Kingswear Castle
Ranked #2 of 11 Tours in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The paddle steamer Kingswear Castle is the last remaining coal-fired paddle steamer in operation in the UK today. She was built in 1924 at Philip & Son of Dartmouth. The Paddle Steamer Preservation Society spent 15 years fully restoring her to her former glory offering river trips on the Medway from 1985. In late 2012, she returned to the home waters of the River Dart after an absence of 47 years.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great way to tour the Dart”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Great hour trip on the Dart river leaving from Dartmouth with interesting commentary. Beautiful ship, worth every penny for this trip.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jwitte1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    31
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely trip”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Great trip on the steamer, get there early for a good seat. Take something warm incase it gets chilly on the river.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank happydaystogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A lovely afternoon trip”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

It was a fairly grey afternoon in dartmouth & we were looking for something to keep our 15 month occupied. We came across the paddle steamer & it was just about to set sail. We had a great time & our little boy loved wandering all over the boat. It was a quiet trip due to the time of year so that helped as our little boy wasn't getting in anyone's way! It's a great way to see the river dart & the commentry from the captain, etc was informative & funny! Nice to be wishes a merry Christmas at the end!

Helpful?
Thank CHC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A must do”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I went on the 1 1/4 hour river cruise and found it very enjoyable. The ship is immaculately presented and the commentary informative and interesting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BlakeyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Value Trip”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The whole experience of going on the short river cruise under steam power is wonderful the commentary, the scenic Dart, the friendly dolphin that followed the cruise on the day we were on-board enhanced this wonderful value experience just £14 each.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paddle Steamer Kingswear Castle also viewed

 

Been to Paddle Steamer Kingswear Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing