We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay”
Review of Saveurs

Saveurs
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$26
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Have had several coffees here which is usually okay along with a cake. Had lunch today and thought was rather expensive,although tasted nice. think the prices have increased since we were last there.
Staff are friendly enough.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    70
    23
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“mixed views”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife and I had very mixed views about Saveurs. Yes, it looks the part but I did not think our experience matched our expectations from other positive reviews posted.
Admittedly we just had hot drinks and cakes rather than a full meal but having quite a lot of experience of eating in patisseries in France we did not think this really compared that well. The French owners make a point about using flour imported from Normandy for authenticity but something is definitely lost in translation in the making of the pastries we ate which were bland and mean in filling and size.
When we came to pay the manager refused to accept our (Northern) Irish sterling notes so be warned, anyone from Scotland or Northern Ireland might have trouble spending their 'home' money here. I think the place does not offer good value for money, is over rated and I would not go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yum. Just yum!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Savours is an experience. It to be missed. A traditional French Patisserie with hand-crafted artisan bread and chocolatier. It's like you've landed in a little bit of heaven. Their pasta dishes are particularly delicious, as is the coffee, the pet it's fours, the cakes and pastries and indeed everything you clap your jaws around in this awesome best-kept secret. Any food-lover worth their salt would squeal with delight about finding this place!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skerrybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cafe Eclairs”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

You must try their Cafe Eclairs. Do note they don't do Devon Cream Teas though as they specialise in French Patisserie

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely breakfast”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Four of us visited Saveurs one morning whilst stopping off in Dartmouth on a sailing trip. Lovely, personally cooked breakfast, excellent French bread and great service. Recommended, give it a try.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greentractor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saveurs also viewed

 

Been to Saveurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing