We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Castle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$370
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$126
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quayside Hotel(Brixham)
US$135
US$115
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Durant Arms(Ashprington)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,104)
Filter reviews
1,104 results
Traveller rating
702
262
74
40
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
702
262
74
40
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgalleon barthe grilla river view roomjacuzzi bathno liftcurry nightbar foodthe riverboat floatoverlooking the harbourflights of stairsfour poster bedsunday eveningpark your carfirst floorfirst classcrab
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
727 - 732 of 1,104 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We have just returned from a very brief visit to Dartmouth. Unusually I hadn't booked ahead but had decided to book a likely looking hotel/B&B on arrival. We had a couple of business meetings and at these I mentioned we needed hotel. Both parties immediately recommended the Royal Castle. I pointed out that it hardly looked it's best at the moment as the façade is currently covered in scaffolding; they however, assured me I would love the place - and they were right. In spite of its current unlovely (temporary) appearance the hotel was almost full but Christine on Reception agreed a fair discount for a river view room. The room. No. 2 was very comfortable and beautifully furnished with real antiques. The bathroom was very well presented with a Jacuzzi bath, shower over and the whole very pristine. The bed had lovely linen and there was a generous tray of biscuits, teas, coffee and real china including a teapot.
The most important things to mention about this hotel are it's amazing staff, great food and fabulous atmosphere. Dinner in the bar was a real treat (local skate wings) and breakfast the next morning was superb. This is England at it's best - go there and experience the beat of British and be proud!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann I, Front Office Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

'The best of British..' what a great tag line! Thank you so much for such a wonderful endorsement. Delighted that we were recommended to you and that we had availability on the night. Hopefully we'll look forward to seeing you on another occasion. Regards from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Having stayed here many times over the years, in fact since Nigel Way took the place over about 30 years ago, the same excellent standards have never fallen. The place is unique and credit must go to Nigel, his daughter Becca, and the brilliant staff and management. We have just returned from a 2 night midweek break having taken advantage of his ' January sale ' and although as a couple of recent reviews have criticised the essential maintenance underway, disruption was minimal, and the deal was priced accordingly. The place was buzzing as usual, great atmosphere and food quality good and well presented. If anyone can find anywhere better in this part of the world, I'd like to know about it !!

Room Tip: River view rooms are nicer than ones at the rear, although on this occasion, the views were quite restricted due to the scaffolding.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johns12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann I, Front Office Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Our grateful thanks for your lovely compliments, and the fact we gave good value-for-money in light of the essential works on the hotel facade. Our staff always do their utmost to provide excellent service, and long may it continue! We look forward to seeing you again another time. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed at the Royal Castle Hotel for two nights in mid January. Christine, the Receptionist, was absolutely brilliant, warm, friendly and extremely helpful. She helped us prior to our stay and during. She really made our stay! Our room was clean, cheerful and nicely decorated. We had a super-sized Jacuzzi bath in the bathroom, which was a nice surprise and a bit like a swimming pool!

The service throughout the whole hotel was attentive and on the ball. We ate both nights in the pub area of the hotel as most of Dartmouth's restaurants were closed for their winter break. The food and ambiance was lovely. We sat by the open fire and ate good English food. Most of the clientele were locals and everyone was so friendly and welcoming.

There seemed to be a lot of people staying there on one or other 'deal' that the Royal were running in January and most of the people we stoke to on these deal had been coming back for many years.

A lovely experience and a beautiful place to stay. We felt like we had been away for much longer than two days - relaxed, calm and happy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FMM0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann I, Front Office Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thnak you so much for your super review, and we are of course thrilled that you enjoyed your short relaxing break. Please do check out our website for special offers, particularly out of season. Hopefully we will see you again. Regards from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Firstly let's just give some validation to my ability and competence to comment on this hotel

16 years of staying as guests for weekends - and main holidays- special treats and theme weekend etc

6 years as a 2nd home owner (not cut the final strings to the 2nd city yet) and eating in the Adam Restaurant /Harbour Bar for snacks and lunches .

All the above is in between travelling widely (see some of my reviews) so i can place this establishment and compare against many.

I do not recognise the hotel or staff in any of the previous negative comments - I would rate this hotel a high 9 out of 10 for service- food- staff and management attitude, I would go as far as to state who ever selects and trains the staff could teach the Hotel industry a thing or two about customer service.

However on the odd occasion over the years when we have called attention to any slight defect what' so ever be it a hotel or service - the issue has been dealt with quickly and in a very positive manner - the mark of a good organisation.


At no time in the previous article has mention been made of complaint being VOICED to the Bar Management \ Reception Staff \ Duty Manager or Mr Way the very approachable owner - This establishment isn't cheap and I would not put up with a service in any way that was not value for my hard earned money - so why would you not raise the alleged issues straight away - if you where so driven to go to print - pick up the telephone and speak to the hotel team.

We all have the right to raise issues - but we also have the right to give valid support to an establishment that has provided continued quality service

A hard to satisfy customer - But fair

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Patridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann I, Front Office Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Your lovely words and compliments were so well received here. How wonderful that we have managed to maintain our level of service over all 16 years of your visits to us! We shall endeavour to do just as well, if not better, in the future. We know we will surely see you again one day, and look forward to welcoming you back. Regards from all the teams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The website now says "essential maintenance" - it didn't when we booked. It actually means the whole frontage of the building is covered in scaffolding, which in turn is covered by opaque plastic sheeting. There are translucent windows in the sheeting so if you have booked a river view room you will be able to peer at the river with the same satisfaction as if you were looking through thick net curtains. Worse still, there are several platforms in the scaffolding, allowing a team of painters to stand immediately outside your bedroom window as they carry out works. So it's dark with no privacy. If you want to see daylight it would be better and cheaper to book a non-river view room.
Unfortunately we didn't know about the scaffolding when we took up the January sale offer. Purely by chance, my husband phoned the hotel to book a dinner table 48 hours before our arrival. He was asked "Did they tell you about the scaffolding?". No they hadn't and it was too late to book anywhere else. We thought it didn't sound too bad but were hugely disappointed when we saw it for ourselves. In fact we got our money back even though it was a non-refundable offer, as we hadn't been told about the work when we booked. Now that the website tells you about it I doubt there will be any more refunds.
I would just add that the Royal Castle receptionist said these works are carried out every year and the purpose-made printed sheeting (looking just like the hotel's normal frontage) does make me think it comes out with the same regularity as the Christmas decorations. Remember to ask when you book.
Luckily it took only minutes for the lovely ladies at the Harbourside Apartments to find us a lovely flat with a fantastic view and a balcony overlooking the river - even better.

Room Tip: If the scaffolding's up, don't choose a "river view" room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank ABJ_Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann I, Front Office Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

We are so sorry that we were unable to notify all our residents of the scaffolding and mesh as part of the January works - we truly didn't receive a date until too late. However, we are of course delighted that you still came to Dartmouth and found suitable accommodation. Do hope that you will return to us one day. Regards from all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews