We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY”
Review of Royal Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed a night at this quaint hotel enjoying a top class dinner and breakfast. Room was very comfortable with huge attention to detail. Only down side were the seagulls that woke us early than expected!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millie A, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Royal Castle, unfortunately the seagulls are part of the package in being is such a beauty spot by the sea! Hope to welcome you back again soon, best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,047)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

622 - 628 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

We didn't stay at the Royal Castle, but had a most enjoyable meal in the bar one evening after an exhausting day, walking and sightseeing

The feature dish was Alex's Cracked Dartmouth Crab and it was fantastic! A meal eaten from first principles, so to speak, with various types of shell crackers and meat prodders in the place of knife and fork, the whole thing was an enjoyable .... journey, in modern nomenclature. To accompany it, was a (very) local white wine from Sharpham Vineyard on the River Dart; a real treat

As you can imagine, there are lots of choices to eat in Dartmouth, but the Royal Castle came up trumps, as indeed, one of its sister hotels in Totnes always does as well - the Royal Seven Stars. Both are to be recommended

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millie A, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovey review. Alex’s cracked crab are always a highlight on our menu and we are pleased you enjoyed some of the best produce the South Hams has to offer, including the wine. Hope to see you with us again soon. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My wife and I stayed over at the hotel last night and wanted to get on here quickly to say how great it was. As soon as we set foot through the door we felt welcomed, our room was well decorated and we loved the quirks of it being an old building. The upgrade to a river view room was much appreciated and the opportunity to just sit and watch the world go by after a long day was absolute bliss. The facilities in the room were just right, jacuzzi bath, filter coffee and a canopy bed are little things but they truly make a difference. A good nights sleep was followed by breakfast in our room overlooking the river, with blue skies and a warm sun....a fantastic start to the day. We will be coming back to this cracking little hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Caq73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millie A, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are glad that the Royal Castle Hotel could provide you with the perfect setting for some relaxation whilst you were here. We hope that you will find the time to visit us again soon. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel has a warm and friendly atmosphere. The rooms are comfortable and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Food is wonderfully fresh and full of flavour. Beautiful sailing town. Don't miss this gem!

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room if possible, but if you can't get one you still will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foxylady141059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millie A, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Our staff are always on hand here to help whether it be in our main hotel area or in either of our bars. We hope to welcome you back again soon, best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The waiter joked, as he served us, that the crab had been alive this morning when we awoke. But he wasn't joking, we could tell when we bit into the generously filled granary bread sandwich.

When you are close to the sea, or an estuary, like this, you expect the seafood to be superb, but it can disappoint. Not in this case.

Would thoroughly recommend, it is right on the waterfront, separated by a short walk through a pretty park. There is two hours free parking on the quayside, but you may need to get lucky

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TimPymont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millie A, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our local fisherman Alex, land’s local crabs from the surrounding bays on a regular basis at the castle ensuring they are the freshest they can be at the time of serving. Our Grill Room restaurant also has a large variety of local seafood on offer so do check out our daily specials up there next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Having booked the hotel from work for a night stay mid week. I was pleasantly surprised when checked in the reception was very friendly. The hotel is a great location and bed rooms are amazing.

The bar is nice and friendly. The breakfast is very good and cooked breakfast is lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BearGryllsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millie A, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us when you last visited. We hope to see you soon if the occasion arises. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

In this world I speak as I find.
We visited this hotel for sunday lunch, 4 adults and an infant in a buggy. We attempted to sit down (it wasn't busy) and were asked to leave due to infants not being allowed in the bar area. We walked across the corridor to the second bar only to find no facilities for children (high chairs) so again we had to leave.
If you were a resident of the hotel you would be allowed to use these places to eat...but not as a visitor....yet the street outside is full of their advertisments encouraging visitors to dine inside....unless you are a family obviously.
People who were already sitting in the bar were quite shocked that our child in a buggy wasn't allowed inside.
So here we are in the year 2014 where a pub called the royal castle hotel dartmouth doesn't encourage family dining... unless a resident.
So my advice to the hotel is to take down your menu signs or stipulate outside that families are not welcome, we can then walk past and eat elsewhere without the embarrasment of being asked to leave...quite astonishing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank mrkeithm0rgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millie A, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. One of our downstairs bars the Harbour bar is an over eighteens bar. The other bar, the Galleon bar, we allow children in the front end. This is our hotel policy for safe guarding children within our establishment. We do not allow pushchairs or high chairs in the bar because they do impose an evacuation risk if we needed to evacuate the building in an emergency due to the narrow corridors in the hotel. We allow highchairs and have a children menu upstairs in our Grill Room restaurant, we also have our library and flat roof area where again high chairs and children’s menu are available. Next time you come and visit us please do ring ahead and see the availability for these areas. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
0.1 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
11.6 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
2.0 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
193 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Castle Hotel

Address: 11 The Quay, Dartmouth TQ6 9PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range: £139 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Royal Castle Hotel is in the centre of Dartmouth with its cobbled streets, intriguing shops and famous restaurants and bars. Looking out over the River Dart, this 17th-century building offers bright, airy rooms, free Wi-Fi and a stylish restaurant. There are 25 en suite rooms, all of which are individually decorated. Many of the rooms have river views, four-poster beds, spa baths and 15 of our rooms have air conditioning units as well. Every room has a TV, radio and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Castle Dartmouth
Hotel Royal Castle
Royal Castle Hotel Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing