We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything Right”
Review of Royal Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Everything Right”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a family run hotel overlooking the harbour and in the centre of town. Family run can mean many things, but here it means that it is in the heart of this excellent hotel. The staff throughout are friendly, welcoming, and professional. The rooms are excellent, undoubtedly the river view rooms are the best...because of the view.
The food, restaurant and bar areas have an excellent atmosphere and it is a short walk to everywhere in the centre of Dartmouth. Specifically, I was travelling on my own and I was made to feel very much at home. Thank you, I will return.

Room Tip: River view rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjaytees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millie A, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Your comments are greatly appreciated. At the Royal Castle Hotel as soon as you enter our door you are also part of the family and we like to make sure everyone feels at home. We hope to see you in the near future. Kindest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    236
    64
    37
    26
See reviews for
170
574
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed here on a Friday and only booked at the last minute. From the second we arrived the staff simply couldn't have been more helpful. The location is fantastic, right in the centre of Dartmouth and parking is no issue thanks to complimentary valet parking. We also ended up eating in the bar and being residents, the staff (thank you Sandra and Josh) really went the extra mile to look after us. The food was also great, we both had fish (sole and bass) which was excellent. We'll definitely be back and are already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millie A, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thank you for such a great review. Your comments have been passed onto Sandra and Josh who are more than delighted to hear they made your stay with us an enjoyable one. We hope to welcome you back again soon, best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

This is the fourth time staying in here, wonderful rooms very friendly staff and dog friendly. This is a perfect location To stay in Dartmouth, if you're thinking of going with your family or just a romantic weekend I recommend it to all.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nachopolo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millie A, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
We are always delighted to receive such a lovey review, thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope to welcome you back again soon for another lovely break, kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

If your in Dartmouth on a Sunday, go to the Royal Castle for your carvery. You may pay more than the others, but it's fantastic and plentiful. The views from the restaurant are fantastic, the staff are attentive and very helpful.

I would thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Whippy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Overall our stay was very pleasant.

The reception staff were very nice (Sorry - my son didn't get chance to show the lady how to make loom band bracelets), the building has character, the breakfast was excellent with lots of choice and pleasant views of the harbour.

The only minus point was room 28 temperature. The weather was superb whilst we were in Dartmouth but when we arrived in our room it felt like a sauna! I think they know this as there were at least 3 fans in the room already in use but to be honest all this did was swirl around the hot air. The lady on reception (think she was from Newcastle?) did put extra fans in once I complained and she also gave us a round of drinks on the house so thank you for that

The room is at the very top of the hotel so I guess the saying heat rises is correct but at times I think its inappropriate to place a family with young children in such a place.

The Duty Manager did comment that a/c was being fitted in the room. I hope this is the case as when temperatures are high, it really doesn't make for a pleasant stay.

As for the price, I get he fact you pay a premium for its location but perhaps you can review your price structure based on what room you are in.

Room Tip: Avoid room 28 when temperatures are going to be high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JH1631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, England
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We visited during the Olympic Games Opening in 2012 and enjoyed our stay very much. Pleased to report that nothing has changed much our view remains the same the Royal Castle is a First Class Tourist Hotel. Now appears there are three in the stable now and we visited one of the Hotels in Totnes the 'Royal Seven Stars' which on first impressions looked equally as good.

Room Tip: All different so look on their website - remember there are no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaleighRimmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millie A, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We pride ourselves on providing an excellent service all the time and are pleased to know that even two years on we are doing well. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had a sunday evening Carvery Roast. Plates small so portion sizes a little mean but it was all tasty and the staff were friendly. Very nice atmosphere and interesting pub. Loo's upstairs and there was another carvery for the residents which looked and smelled very nice

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rome_at_Easter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millie A, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed our Sunday Carvery. Just to let you know our upstairs Carvery in our restaurant is open to residents and non-residents alike but can get very busy so be sure to book if you come again. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
0.4 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
302 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
187 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Castle Hotel

Property: Royal Castle Hotel
Address: 11 The Quay, Dartmouth TQ6 9PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Royal Castle Hotel is in the centre of Dartmouth with its cobbled streets, intriguing shops and famous restaurants and bars. Looking out over the River Dart, this 17th-century building offers bright, airy rooms, free Wi-Fi and a stylish restaurant. There are 25 en suite rooms, all of which are individually decorated. Many of the rooms have river views, four-poster beds, spa baths and 15 of our rooms have air conditioning units as well. Every room has a TV, radio and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Castle Dartmouth
Hotel Royal Castle
Royal Castle Hotel Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing