We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Anniversary Visit”
Review of Royal Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Anniversary Visit”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Only stayed one night but were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. Turned up early at half twelve but room was already available and car was whisked away somewhere safe. Luggage taken to room and lots of smiles and hellos from the staff. And had a nice surprise of a anniversary card and chocolate royal castle hotel heart. Plus the flowers from our package were good, oh and room (18) was fantastic, like a junior suite really, massive comfy bed, free wifi, etc

Only issue we had was having to wait for an iron board for over an hour in the early evening. Not a major problem as we had a bottle of wine to keep us company but I would suggest just having an iron and ironing board in each room. Will save housekeeping the walk up the stairs and only cost 1k I expect to fit out all the rooms.

Had the carvery dinner which was great, ate too much mind and requested breakfast in our room in the morning, which turned up on time and was scrummy.

Also no service charges for room service which is a nice plus and the view from our room was fantastic.

Car was parked outside ready for the morning when we departed so overall great hotel, great location, valet parking, wifi, etc a massive plus plus nice to have a choice of a traditional or modern bar in the hotel also.

So lots of positives and would definitely return, just buy some ironing boards! :)

Room Tip: Have a look at the rooms on the hotel website and request a particular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radiculous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan B, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are always delighted to hear when our guests have enjoyed their stay. We like to believe here at the Castle that the special touches we put in place help special occasions, especially anniversaries. We wish you many more in the future. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    230
    64
    37
    25
See reviews for
169
561
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dorset UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

What a refreshing stay: A Hotel where welcome comes with a capital W. Really impressed by the Staff, all who bend over backwards to help, friendly, attentive. A credit to their employers.
I was a little wary at first, I need not have been, the hotel and its soul grew on me every minute of our stay, the place is steeped in history, interestingly decorated, with quaint quirky rooms. Having a "River view" is worth the extra money as it is so gorgeous. The bars were buzzing with people, yet service splendid. Restaurant upstairs, was good, nothing fancy, what I'd call good old fashioned cuisine. Nice wines, definitely on the "will return" list.
Bonus of travelling with your family dog, they are made equally welcome, by these professional caterers. The owner Nigel, first class, and that filters right through the organisation of this place.

Room Tip: Room 14, as long as you're not staying there when we want to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraylingDorsetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan B, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are delighted that the charm of the Royal Castle with our fabulous river view was able to make your stay so enjoyable. All of our rooms are decorated uniquely with their own style. If you enjoyed the river view rooms why not try room six next time with its very own priest hole from the 1600’s! We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

What a lovely place to spend a few days. The Hotel is fantastic, food is lovely and the staff brilliant (with an extra special mention to Jodie on reception who was exceptional from the first email to checking out).
We stayed only two nights and wished it was more Dartmouth is a lovely place to unwind and there is so much to see and do.
On arrival we were met at reception by Jodie who is the perfect ambassador for the hotel quick check in car keys left with her and escorted to our room. We stayed in room 18 lovely room with a great view of the river just perfect (slight hiccup about the spa bath but all sorted with Jodie).
Breakfast is wonderful, cannot fault it, hot food cooked to order and plentiful fresh fruit, cheese, cereals and juices. On the Sunday evening we enjoyed a very pleasant carvery, excellent quality and ample portion size. The following night we ate again in the grill room and the food again was excellent and the service first class with no request too much trouble. Food & drink prices were about right and on checking out did not flinch at my bill all together very well worth it.
The Hotel definitely has something about it warm, friendly, perfectly located, unique ambience could go on and on.
Would I stay again, a very definite yes just need to find the time. I will also have a look at its two partner hotels as if they are as good as the Royal Castle will give them a go.

Room Tip: River view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simpo_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millie A, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thank you for your happy and positive review. It is so nice to hear that our staff here are looking after our guests so well and a special thank you from Jodie for your lovely comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kindest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights from the 8th August as an early celebration start to my wife’s birthday on the 19th August.
This was our 3rd visit to Dartmouth and our 1st but not last stay at the Royal Castle.
We were greeted by a smiling and very helpful receptionist (Christine) who arranged for our car to be valet parked and for our bags to be taken up to the room. We were in room 20 which had no river view and a limited view of the town. However it was very comfortable, nice bathroom, nice toiletries, comfortable bed and AC. The room was on the 2nd floor and despite my wife’s now advanced years, she found it no problem. The breakfasts are fantastic, all using fresh local produce. Bars have good ales.
We both love Dartmouth and if you did not want to use your car again, you can find plenty to do in Dartmouth itself and by booking boat or train trips from the river front in front of the hotel. We drove out to visit Torcross and Slapton Ley Nature Reserve, Strete Gate picnic area (beach), Hope Cove and Bigbury on Sea where we walked across to Burgh Island.
We will certainly be making another booking.

Room Tip: I would guess that all the rooms are good. Look on their website for pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElRog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millie A, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so happy that as well as an enjoyable return visit to Dartmouth, we were able to help make your stay complete. We take so much care in our beautiful and unique hotel so we are delighted when our guest enjoy all our hard work and local food! Hopefully see you soon! Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Somerset
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We visited on Sunday 17th August for the night to enjoy the hotel's fantastically priced celebration package. We were given Room 24, a town facing room and one we hadn't stayed in before. Although this was quite a small room, it was beautifully appointed and had the most comfortable mattress. I'm not a very good sleeper but sleeping in that bed was pure heaven! As always, we thoroughly enjoyed the carvery meal in the Grill Room and breakfast the next morning was excellent.

All the staff are fantastic but a special mention must go to Christine, Steff and Jodie, also Christian in the Restaurant.

This was about our 7th stay at the Royal Castle and it never disappoints. We'll be back!

Room Tip: River view rooms are the best but standard rooms with town views are also excellent and most have ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneWestSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millie A, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thank you for your comments on our hotel, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and dining with us. We hope to see you again soon for another good night’s sleep! Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We came to Dartmouth in early July to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and had a thoroughly enjoyable and memorable stay at the Royal Castle. Many thanks are due to the staff for upgrading our room and for the card and box of chocolates. Can thoroughly recommend the rooms with view over the river / harbour. Very welcoming staff who parked and collected car very quickly. Great meal both in the Grill restaurant and in the bar. Great ales. First visit to the area for a while and a great place to base yourself for a long weekend. Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Rooms with view over river / harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tfalees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millie A, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are always happy to know that we have done our job properly and our guests have enjoyed their stay and look forward to returning. See you soon. Kindest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham shire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We visited the hotel on 12/08/2014 for three nights. From the start we have been treated well by everyone. Receptionist were so helpful as the porters and room service. Our car been taken away for Valletta parking...what a treatment. Daily breakfast is fabulous and amazing in the river facing grill bar....love this place and will visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a river facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kodungallur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millie A, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
We appreciate your superb comment about our hotel, we pride ourselves on our service and making sure our guest are happy at all times. Kind Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
0.4 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
296 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
184 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Castle Hotel

Property: Royal Castle Hotel
Address: 11 The Quay, Dartmouth TQ6 9PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Royal Castle Hotel is in the centre of Dartmouth with its cobbled streets, intriguing shops and famous restaurants and bars. Looking out over the River Dart, this 17th-century building offers bright, airy rooms, free Wi-Fi and a stylish restaurant. There are 25 en suite rooms, all of which are individually decorated. Many of the rooms have river views, four-poster beds, spa baths and 15 of our rooms have air conditioning units as well. Every room has a TV, radio and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Royal Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Castle Dartmouth
Hotel Royal Castle
Royal Castle Hotel Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing