We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull view!”
Review of Station Restaurant

Station Restaurant
Ranked #52 of 96 Restaurants in Dartmouth
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Riverside Restaurant
Ammanford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Wonderfull view!”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This was my second visit - last time about 5 years ago - looks much neater and cleaner since then. In those days it was waitress service but now you have to order and pay at the counter. Had a cream tea and it was ok - they warmed the scone which was a nice touch, the jam was average and the clotted cream was good, cheap tea bags I guess but I drank it weak so tolerable.
Yes it is dated but unique and puts you in the holiday mood. Go for the view if nothing else.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    123
    83
    36
    99
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The warmest welcome......”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

My partner and I am surprised and appalled at some of the rubbish we have read on here. Our visit today was delightful in every respect. The warmest, friendliest welcome.....we didn't have our kids with us today but, if we had, I'm sure they would have commented on how friendly everyone was. We ordered tea, a teacake and a cream tea. I'm fussy about my cream tea, I consider myself to be something of a connesieur. This one was perfect! Thank you. My partner said how lovely here tea cake was also. Tea is an easy beverage to make but difficult to make a really good one.....again, the tea was excellent. We'll be coming back next time.....such a great view, atmosphere and staff so, to the manager, thank you to your staff for making this weary traveller's rest stop such an enjoyable experience. Keep doing what you're doing!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Ejis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stationcrew, Manager at Station Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We pride ourselves on good value for money and of course good quality. Hopefully see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Staff need a kick up the backside”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stopped here as we got off the ferry with a view to returning for a sit down lunch. We asked an older guy behind the bar if they were serving ice cream and got a grunt as a response - so we asked what flavours and were told to look on the list outside! The portion was not up to scratch and the whole place stank of fry ups. We found somewhere else for lunch

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DerbyMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stationcrew, Manager at Station Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment. We are sorry you did not enjoy your time with us. We have since spoken to our restaurant staff about the levels of service that we demand from them at all times, and can only apologise that your experience has not been up to our own high standards. We are more than happy to rectify any problems that arise and we prefer to do this at the time. Hopefully we'll see you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Poor food”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We recently had lunch here, and regretted choosing the Station Restaurant . Both dishes were a disappointment . Salmon with new potatoes , peas and hollandaise sauce. Chilli Con Carne, and chips.
The salmon was drowning in the hollandaise sauce, and the so called new potatoes looked very tired and grey.
The Chilli Con Carne was watery and bland, and the chips soggy. Both dishes arrived very quickly, which for all we know were ready plated and waiting for the microwave .
The Strongbow Cider tasted like it was watered down too.
Not impressed.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Technik21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stationcrew, Manager at Station Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are sorry you did not enjoy your lunch. We can only apologise that your experience has not been up to our own high standards. All of our meals and products are carefully prepared using fresh ingredients when possible and we feel we are one of the better value establishments in Dartmouth. We are more than happy to rectify any problems that arise and we prefer to do this at the time. Hopefully next time you are in the area you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb staff and good food”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Staff were so friendly and welcoming to us, nothing was too much trouble at all. Jacket potatoes were lovely and big and hot. Had an ice cream sundae and it was epic! Nice atmosphere too

Helpful?
Thank Nicci181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stationcrew, Manager at Station Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant. It is always nice to hear such positive comments from happy customers. Hopefully see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Station Restaurant also viewed

 
Dartmouth, Devon
Dartmouth, Devon
 

Been to Station Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing