We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Fabulous - A Must Do!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Picnic Boat

The Picnic Boat
worcestershire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous - A Must Do!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We had the most amazing time on the Picnic Boat this weekend, the trip which was done as a surprise for part of the activities for my hen weekend away consisted of a champagne breakfast for all of us girls which was wonderful, the food was first class, very fresh and tasty, the croisants were still warm, every detail had been thought of. We took a trip up and back down the river and Kevin the picnic boat owner showed us all the sites and landmarks of this beautiful town. We enjoyed it so much that we will be going back in November and will be trying hisSeafood Heaven.
Thank you to Kevin for making it so special and for your wonderful sense of humour, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A great addition to our memories.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

My wife booked this experience for our 27th anniversary and it didn't disappoint. Kevin was a really friendly guy and made feel very welcome aboard his boat.
The lobsters (you get 1 each!) were superb and washed down with a very quaffable bottle of fizz, made the picnic a real treat.
The timing of the trip to coincide with finishing the meal was spot on (well done Kevin) and the whole experience will not be forgotten.
This is a gem not to be missed if you have something special to celebrate. Thanks Kevin.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely, lovely experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We were picked up from the Dart Marina hotel by Kevin who showed us on board in the sunshine. We had a lovely trip up river before the heavens opened up and the covers came down. We had a fabulous time in spite of the ensuing thunderstorm - the food was lovely, the boat dry and warm and Kevin was friendly guide whose knowledge of the Dart was impressive without being overbearing and whose enthusiasm for Dartmouth is contagious. Can't wait to do it again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CindyB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dreadful weather - amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We were so disappointed as we made our way along the coast towards Dartmouth for our Picnic Boat trip - the weather was shocking and visibility was poor. However despite this and the rain which followed we thoroughly enjoyed our Seafood Heaven romantic cruise. We were warmly welcomed by Kevin and had a great time touring up and down the river. The seafood feast was a sight to behold and the only gripe was that we just couldn't manage it all! It was such a shame about the weather however at least the boat canopy being up meant that the local swans couldn't get near our lunch! Would love to do it again and maybe next time we will be able to see the surrounding scenery!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank rvd147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family birthdays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Lovely trip for 4 of us on the Dart on a beautiful day. The West country picnic was so good, including the homemade bread. We had booked for the previous day which was dull and showery. Kevin rang to suggest we swap to the next day when the forecast suggested warmer, sunnier weather. How thoughtful! Great experience. I expect we'll do it again...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Celia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Picnic Boat also viewed

 

Been to The Picnic Boat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing