We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dartmouth Arms

The Dartmouth Arms
Ranked #30 of 92 Restaurants in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$18
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television
Description: Public house serving homemade food including homemade burgers and pizzas and tex mex as well as an ever changing specials board
Bristol
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Tucked away and easy to just walk past. A little traditional inn small bar with a basic selection of drinks. We shared a bottle of Pinot Grigio. The food was excellent, I went for the blue burger home made burger with stilton cheese really mouth watering my wife went for the chilli this she said was on the hot side but still excellent. Good size portions. While we were there most people ordered food all left with empty plates and a smile on their faces. Not to be missed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank gsxrrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    62
    10
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
203 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great welcome and service,”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch, doesn't look much when you enter, but staff were so friendly and went extra mile to ensure you were ok, and ran up to kitchen to accommodate special requests, had a steak mushroom baguette and cheese pesto pepper panini, both lovely with crisps and salad garnish, salad dressing was lovely. Some great real ale to try too and great views outside,

Helpful?
Thank Tlemon62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Consistent quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Spent a week in Dartmouth recently touring the area as we do annually.

Had the pleasure of using this establishment on three or four occasions during our stay.

Dog friendly, helpful friendly staff.

Had a meal one evening, good food from a chef who went the extra mile when my nwife enquired about a dressing on her salad.

He promptly ran up to the Kitchen, came back and presented her with a pot of the said dressing.

Service above and beyond the call of duty, such a nice touch.

Thoroughly recommend the Dartmouth Arms for views, drinks and cracking food.

See you next June!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyLewis66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wickford
Level Contributor
115 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Plastic pints ( in a good way)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We didn't eat here but have to say did have food envy as we couldn't help but notice the people that did . After a hard day exploring the area we used to go and sit on the benches on the cobbled area outside , watching the children crabbing . We named it plastic pints , which was a good idea given the cobbled seating are and lots of small feet and paws .

There was always something or someone to watch , the boats coming and going and the squeals of delight from the crab catching , not to mention the seal we saw bobbing about one day

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

After a long walk popped in to sample the ale and grab a sandwich. I noticed the board outside advertising the crab. I wasn't disappointed. After making our way outside to the seating ( which has a wonderful view), we had our fresh well filled sandwiches and a pint of doombar ale. Perfect.

Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dartmouth Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Dartmouth Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing