We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Taste of Devon”

Monty Halls Great Escapes
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our main aim is to get you into the heart of the action, whether that be a boat trip, a shore walk, a longer excursion or a mini expedition - we create opportunities for once in a lifetime encounters in the countryside and coastline surrounding Dartmouth. With our marine biologist skipper or Monty Halls himself, your guaranteed a fantastic time!
Weedon Bec, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
380 reviews
164 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Brilliant Taste of Devon”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

If you are staying in or around Dartmouth and you like natural history and are reasonably fit, I can very highly recommend going on a Monty Halls Great Escapes trip.

My friend and I went on the Ultimate Taste of Devon which starts with a boat trip to the castle. Emily, a marine biologist was our guide for the day and we had an absolutely amazing time. Emily gave us all kinds of information about the area in general and was just such a lovely person.

We saw the mermaid statue at the mouth of the river, then got off the ferry and walked along the coast path. With Emily's help we learned how to identify and tried some edible wild plants. When we got back to the castle we were given a yummy picnic - crab rolls and smoked chicken rolls for me, and they made a salad especially for my friend who is gluten intolerant. Crisps, 3 different types of cheese with chilli jam, apple juice - it was just delicious.

We then went on a shoreline walk which was the highlight of the trip for me and where Emily absolutely came into her own - you would be hard pushed to find a more enthusiastic guide.

We then walked back to the castle and had scones with jam and cream, and again they especially provided a gluten free scone for my friend.

I can say without doubt this was an absolutely excellent trip. Thank you so much to Emily for making our day!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubbles73uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    3
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fab boat trip out of Dartmouth with Rueben & Rachel”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Excellent trip to see seals and bird life with Rachel (and Rueben). Would definitely recommend, and will be back to do another excursion next time we are in the South Hams. Book it- you won't regret it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank borister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, UK
2 reviews
“Fantastic event for all the family”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Thanks to Rachel Coles, our skipper for the day and Emily Stroud in the shop for the fantastic trip out of Dartmouth and along the coast. We were made to feel very welcome and treated to some wonderful insights by these all-round marine biology gurus. Sun, Seals and Seabirds :) Well worth the money and looking to return and experience some of the other trip offerings

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TangoBolton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“boat trip with great escapes”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

An excellent trip from the Dart to the Sea ! Safety paramount and therefore easy to relax and enjoy a close up of seals and birds and learn some more about the traditions of Dartmouth.Our Skipper Rachel was fantastic and very familiar with the local history,ecology and marine life of the area.Very enjoyable for parents and teens alike.If you are visiting the area this is a must do....and for me a must re-do !The company is very efficient at responding to emails and very helpful with any questions you may have in advance.The trip lasts about 2 hrs and is taken at the a speed suiting the visitors and the conditions on the day.Suitable for all ages under the supervision of highly skilled crew.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb trip”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Booked this trip on the chance of seeing seals which we managed to see one! Boat trip was well run and felt safe was all round superb with lots of knowledge from Rachel. Not just about the wildlife but also about Dartmouth. Would recommend.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katieandjames22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monty Halls Great Escapes also viewed

 

Been to Monty Halls Great Escapes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing