We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a let down”
Review of Seven Stars

Seven Stars
Ranked #57 of 96 Restaurants in Dartmouth
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a let down”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Went first on Sunday lunchtime. Great welcome. ..good beer...friendly atmosphere. Thought we'd return for a meal the following evening. Place was empty - but of staff too - so we left after standing for 10 minutes at the bar during which time no one came. What a let down.

Helpful?
1 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    28
    8
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truro
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A week to remember”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Arriving early for a week at Dartmouth on the Saturday ment a good look around and the Seven Stars catches you eye. Saturday night seemed very busy here on a quick look in the door, and Sunday, other things to do. Bank holiday monday arrived and we thought give the Seven Stars a go for evening meal. "!The missus is having an evening off from the cooking, but come back again please" from the welcoming landlord. Next night we were there for a lovely sirloin steak with trimmings, the landlord having remembered us from the night before let us off the price of a big portion of onion rings. Everything was great, so great infact we returned on our last night for yet another steak. A young lady served us in the bar and was just as welcoming as the landlord.
Hopefully we shall return again sometime soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 761Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst Pub Lunch Ever”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Me and my family popped in here for lunch, the restaurant wasn't opened so we had to find a table within the bar area, however there wasn't a table big enough to fit all 6 of us on. Me and my sister had to sit a little bar stools dumped next to a small round bar table. We had limited time as we has to catch a boat. The service we received was unfriendly and rude. The landlady was very rude to her staff in front of us and other customers, she treated them with little respect. The staff looked miserable and there was no friendly welcome what so ever! We ordered our food and it took a very long time to get to us which meant we had to rush our lunch in order to catch the boat in time. When the food eventually arrived after being slammed on the table and us having to sort out whose food was whose as the landlady had not bothered to serve us properly which is found in most restaurants. The cheese and tomato chutney sandwich was tasteless, the thickness of the cheese ranged from a doorstop to the thinnest slice possible and the chutney had no taste and you got a teaspoon of it. My dad had ordered ham, egg and chips but when it arrive the ham looked like it had been taken out of a packet from a supermarket; not worth the money we paid. My mum had ordered some chips and arrived cold. Eventually the restaurant was open but we had not been asked if we wanted to move as we were quite crowded in a small space. I would definitely not recommend this place, it was the worst lunch we have ever experience and we will not be returning.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm City, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming Pub in a friendly seaside city”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Seven Stars is the oldest pub in Dartmouth, UK, but is really a new business. This ancient place has recently been purchased by a friendly UK gal, who made us welcome and served a very good lunch. While we waited over pints, my wife perused a copy of Mrs. Beaton's "How to run a Household' or some such title, which my wife says is a world famous cookbook and housewife's "how to". After two good sandwiches,we shared a dessert Toffee -- better split it unless you are running home. We had a delightful time, and if you are looking for a genuine, as it was, old time English pub, we think you wil too!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RLC686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“seven star rating.”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

very welcoming restaurant and the food was excellent not what you would expect from outside.the landlady made us feel very comfortable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank malcolm j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seven Stars also viewed

 
Stoke Fleming, Dartmouth
Kingswear, Dartmouth
 

Been to Seven Stars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing