We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning Apartment - Fabulous Views!!”
The Penthouse is located on top of Barrington House - the views are amazing! Truly luxurious.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Penthouse is located on top of Barrington House - the views are amazing! Truly luxurious.
Throw open the bi-folding doors and take in the view Sit in one of our sailcloth beanbags and watch the world go by
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The Penthouse is located on top of Barrington House - the views are amazing! Truly luxurious.
Throw open the bi-folding doors and take in the view
Sit in one of our sailcloth beanbags and watch the world go by
The huge open plan living/kitchen/dining area
The modern kitchen
The College Room
The River Room
The Regatta Room
A great den for children
One of the 3 bathrooms
The view from the glass balcony
The large private decking area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dartmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mjsbury
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning Apartment - Fabulous Views!!”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Had a fantastic week staying in The Penthouse. Loved everything about it. Really spacious living accommodation, comfy beds, great bathrooms. The best thing about the apartment, though, is the huge beanbags that you can take out onto the balcony and lie back on and enjoy the magnificent views of the river Dart. That view is so special, at any time of the day or night. Have stayed in South Devon many times but can not imagine coming back now and staying anywhere other than The Penthouse. Wish we could have stayed longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2015
Thank you for your lovely feedback - the beanbags are from Quba sails!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen B
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning comtemporary venue”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in June 2014

Bit late on my review but just wanted to post as we loved the Penthouse. The style and quality of design/fittings was first class. The penthouse as in the name has amazing views of the Dart from the balcony or side windows. We found the location good as easy to walk into Dartmouth old town and easy pop to the local supermarket. We loved the open plan accommodation that was great for tour family or party to chill out soaking up the incredible views (even when it rained it was stunning!!!). Sarah was a great rental host and I would not hesitate to recommend the accommodation... :-)

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JezWillia...
Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing Panoramic View!”
Reviewed 15 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

That View!

We've just returned home from a thoroughly memorable stay at the Penthouse at Barrington House. The property is excellently located high up on a hill, though only a 10 minute walk from the characterful town of Dartmouth, offering beautiful views of the River Dart and the estuary, flanked by the picturesque village of Kingswear on one side of the river with beautiful rolling hills on the other. It's difficult to imagine a more stunning view of Dartmouth than this, and we spent many hours soaking it in. Those friends and family members we were keen to share our view with, would be forgiven for thinking that we'd headed it to the Amalfi Coast instead!

The Interior

The Penthouse makes for a very comfortable, relaxing and luxurious stay, as well as being baby-friendly. We felt well looked after by our hosts who had lavished on us a bottle of Prosecco and coffee capsules for the Nespresso machine. The decor is fresh, modern and relaxing and is a credit to the owner Sarah, who oversaw the magnificent refurbishment of Barrington House.

Baby Friendly

The property is baby-friendly without compromising on style. There is a stair gate, and anti-slip mats in the bath as well as some colourful baby crockery, toys, highchair and travel cot.

Dartmouth and the surrounding area

On booking The Penthouse, we had deliberated as to whether Dartmouth would be the best place to have our base, given its more favoured neighbours Salcombe, Kingsbridge, Brixham, Paignton and Torquay. We needn't have been concerned: it was our favourite place during our stay and we'd recommend a stay here over any of the above! The town boasts many art galleries, a handful of characterful pubs and a number of boutique shops, meaning it offered an independent vibe and avoided the more tacky elements of the average seaside town.

Our top recommendation

If you do one thing on your visit to Barrington House / Dartmouth, go to The Seahorse restaurant for dinner. It's conveniently located on the water's edge, and the food and service were excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie G
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most amazing place”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was the second time this year that we have stayed in the Penthouse.
The first time was amazing even being February, there was lots to do but wanted to come back more in the season to experience the trips.
The restaurants, walks and all round friendliness of Dartmouth does not disappoint. There is always something to do.
The penthouse itself is equally if not more amazing than Dartmouth itself. It's pure luxury with a view as good as your going to get anywhere in the world. Every detail has been thought through to the highest standard.
Can not recommend this place enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn P
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic stay at the Penthouse - amazing place!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Just back from a week at the Penthouse apartment at Barrington house with my husband and son (aged 2 1/2). Had a wonderful and relaxing holiday. The penthouse has everything that you could possibly wish for in a holiday apartment - it's beautifully decorated and has amazing views out to sea. It was also a great place for my son - Sarah had left toys out for him so we didn't have to take lots of toys to keep him entertained, and there was plenty of space for him to play in. We asked for a cot and highchair so we didn't have to take our own, and it was all ready for us when we arrived.
There was even a bottle of fizz to welcome us, and an invitation to a teddy bears picnic for my son!
The local beach is only a short drive away and is very clean and good for young children. We also found plenty of other things to do locally.
I can't recommend the penthouse highly enough. I've already mentioned it to all my friends and they've all been impressed! We plan to make a return visit next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2014
Thank you for your fantastic feedback!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lovelyluc...
East Molesey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful! Wonderful views and luxurious accomodation”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Everything was done to make our stay wonderful. Sarah was extremely helpful from our initial contact through to our departure, she even left us a botttle of fizz to welcome us. The most amazing views down the estuary to sea. No fighting over bedrooms as they are all spacious and beautifully furnished with excellent new bathrooms. Plenty of room to spread out and just gaze at the view! Looking forward to coming again and hoping for some sun!!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The amazing view
Liked least: Loved everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracy g
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic, perfect - could not have asked for more”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

The Penthouse is incredible - breathtaking views, gorgeous apartment and so well equipped. We travelled with 4 adults, 2 3yos and 2 6m olds and the toys and dressing up box were an instant hit - we didn't see the toddlers for the first couple of hours! The apartment has all you need for both grown ups (wine fridge!) and children (travel cots, monitors, plastic crockery) and the spectacular views are an amazing bonus. Sarah has decorated the Penthouse beautifully and it is a wonderful place to visit. The added extras like the Treehouse visit and book of child friendly recommendations were also very much appreciated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing