We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT TAKE AWAY”

Rockfish - Takeaway
Ranked #21 of 92 Restaurants in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
nottinghamGB
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT TAKE AWAY”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

This very busy fish and chip take away is tucked away on the back road just by the Lower Ferry crossing to Kingswear. Be prepared to wait - your food is cooked to order and not sitting waiting for you. There will also,most likely, be a queue in front of you!
Very fresh and well cooked fish and chips.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank davenottinghamGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    73
    32
    19
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camberley
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Epic Jalapeño Tartare sauce!!!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I ordered the special cod goujons and chips to share, with jalapeño Tartare sauce. Words cannot describe how delicious the tartare sauce was. I'm serious. I'm not sure I can go home knowing that it won't be in my life anymore.
The staff were very knowledgable and helpful and the lady who served us went out of her way to divide our shared order into two boxes, which exceeded my expectations. The cod was very good indeed, as well as the chips. I'd definitely go back- best fish and chips I've had in ages! And epic Jalapeno tartare sauce- seriously!

Helpful?
Thank CozmicJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
111 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely but queue system terrible”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

The food was excellent but it took a long time to work though the queue and they say it will take 10 to 15 mins but I would say it was closer to 30 mins. Good size kids portions.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ceri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food - a bit pricey!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Food tasted every bit as good as the resturant - turned out expensive take a way option, but still very satisfying. Judging by the queues - they seem to be able to get away with the prices!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clare E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best fish and chips ever”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We popped in here on the walk up to Dartmouth Castle. Omg didn't realise how amazing really good fish and chips could be. The cod was wonderful and the batter crisp and tasty, not oily. The chips were great also and the garnish of lemon and parsley a nice touch. I would highly recommend and would have visited the restaurant if we were staying longer.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miniemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rockfish - Takeaway also viewed

 

Been to Rockfish - Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing