We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly little gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George and Dragon

The George and Dragon
Ranked #19 of 90 Restaurants in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$25
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Gastropub, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The George & Dragon is an eclectic mix of old and mew, traditional and modern in every way, design, décor, food and drink - The only Beer garden in Dartmouth, a full service kitchen with the latest high tech equipment and all of the traditional British Pub and Seaside favourites, with a focus on local Devon provenance including all West Country Meats and seafood freshly landed by our fisherman customers. We also have a full range of drinks from local ales and ciders to a wide and affordable wine list, plus special gin and rum menus for those wanting the latest trends. Add to this live music and TV's when appropriate for major Sports events such as the 6-Nations, Euros 2016 and the Rio Olympics - The G&D is a great family friendly destination venue. We look forward to welcoming you soon. At the George & Dragon we also have 2 x 2 Bedroom Brand New, fully equipped, Holiday Flats above in the main building and with separate private entrances from Undercliffe, these are available for short (3 day min.) and weekly lets throughout the year through our friends at Blue River Cottages in Dartmouth - details on our websites.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Friendly little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We've been to Dartmouth twice, luckily for us we found this gem first time. Dartmouth can be pricey, so finding good quality home cooked food at sensible prices was a relief. A warm friendly welcome awaits, comfortable seating and a lovely beer garden.
Good value for money and a great atmosphere, what more could you want?

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    30
    15
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere, great outside seating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stopped here to watch some bands during the music festival - the place was packed. Substantial outside seating, perfect setting for drinks with pals. Friendly competent staff, and some very decent red wines on offer (not always the case with pubs).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TroublesomePlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Shipwrecked and all at sea”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Dartmouth is a lively town in the summer. It has a rich seafaring history and at night it's pubs are packed with thirsty sailors
So on a busy Wednesday night with England playing Scotland in a soccer friendly on TV you'd expect a pub to be packed to the gunwhales.
It wasn't.
There were 5 people in including the landlady complaining loudly about some planning issue.
There was a strong smell of chip fat from below decks and the interior is by far the tattiest of any pub in Dartmouth.
Worst of all the grog was poor.My rancid cider tasted like it came from the bilge tanks.
Anyone who can't run a decent pub in this town needs to be clapped in irons.
I doubt I'll be dropping anchor here again anytime soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wahaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Enjoyed a lovely meal here with my family including two small children. Great, varied menu - well priced and good wine list including local wines which was well worth a try. My husband is very difficult to please when ordering steak (likes it rare, never ends up rare, so hardly bothers when we are out) but said this was one of the best. Give it a try if you are in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BentleyFay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Warm Welcome and Fine Range of Ales”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

A few years ago this long-established pub / restaurant suffered at the hands of uncertain management but is now securely on the road to recovery under the smiling guardianship of Tricia and her merry band of helpers. A major rebuild is planned for next year, but meanwhile the two bars and spacious outside seating area offer a decent choice of reasonably priced snacks, full meals, beers, wines and spirits. Real ale is (for this visitor, at least) a major attraction. Several local breweries are represented, with St Austell's Proper Job, Exmoor Gold, and Jail Ale from the Dartmoor Brewery currently on offer. Addlestone's cider and the usual range of keg products are also available. A splendid choice of visiting hounds can frequently be found enjoying live music from the outside stage. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leon800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The George and Dragon also viewed

 

Been to The George and Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing