We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely fantastic!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Lounge and kitchen, new carpet March 17
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge and kitchen, new carpet March 17
3 seater sofa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
35 reviews
Lounge and kitchen, new carpet March 17
3 seater sofa
Twin second bedroom with wardrobe
Dining table and lounge area
Double bedroom with wardrobe
Twin second bedroom
Dinner for four
TV, DVD, Freeview, storage,
Windows now have venetian blinds also.
New bathroom, with electric shower in a quadrent enclosure. Great power fron the shower too.
view from rear of chalet
The road to Blackpool Sands Beach, 10 mins drive. Blue Flag status
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dartmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kirsty W
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!!”
Reviewed 7 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Stayed here for a week with 2 friends. unbelievable value.
Was slightly worried with it being December it would be cold, but the heaters warm the chalet up really quick.
Very clean!!
Everything we needed was there, pots, pans, cutlery. Ironing board, clothes maiden, Hoover!
Games we could play at night.
Plenty of hot water, shower was amazing
Beds really comfy, slept well all week.
Lots to do and see around Dartmouth and surrounding areas.
No problems whatsoever, will be booking to go back 100%

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2016
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted you and your friends enjoyed your break.
Regards
Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth...
1 review
“Wish I had read previous reviews before booking”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had no hot water other than the shower had to boil a kettle for shaving and washing up. Toilet was a nightmare kept flushing after first flush. Could use a wardrobe in twin room as beds were against the doors. our allocated parking space we used twice another car always parked there but as there was enough parking for many we didn't challenge the driver.a strong smell of damp or cats urine diminished a bit once we started opening windows..such a shame but if I read the reviews I would have seen these problems are ongoing for months. Trip switch kept going giving us no electric it was the hot water switch that tripped the whole chalet.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2016
Thank you for comments. We only wish you had contacted any of the numbers we leave. As I have said previous we thought we had sorted the water, it was working fine. However, since your feedback we have gone back and indeed the heater has a fault. We replaced it with a new one the same day, something we could of done if we had known.
Sorry if it caused any major inconvenience.
As for the odour, it is only the fact that all the windows are closed between guests, and we have asked the cleaner to ensure we leave a window open before guests arrive to ensure it is fresher'.
As for the bedroom, it's a chalet. All the chalets like ours have the same dimensions, most people understand that and that two bedrooms, a kitchen and a lounge, along with a detached property is much better value that a £180 a night hotel room in town, which has none of these facilities. I urge that if you are in the minority of people that may find this an issue don't book any of the chalets..
The car space is clearly marked 144, I'm sorry but we rely on others being courteous to the space, if not then I'm sure a polite word would resolve the issue.
We keep our costs low so as to offer what we and many others believe to be a great value offer. We don't claim to be or charge for a high spec accommodation, we give clear communication if there is a problem of numbers to contact.. The majority of our guests enjoy their stay, we have enough reviews and notes left at the chalet to re-enforce this. Issues do arise, anywhere, all we can do is ask we have the opportunity to put them right as quickly a possible ..
In the meantime we hope we have resolved the issues that matter for our next guests as these are as disappointing to us as to you..
Regards
Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbie T
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Cosy chalet”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have just returned from a lovely week in the chalet with our 2 small children. The site that the chalet is on is lovely and quiet which is just what we wanted and shops 2 mins away which was perfect for us. The location is perfect for visiting surrounding areas.

After a 7 hour drive with the kids it was a bit disheartening that we didn't have the usual bread, milk etc left but that was not in the booking contract so that's fine and we just nipped out to Sainsbury's when we got there.

We did come across a problem with the hot water in the kitchen and had to ring the handyman who was there in a matter of minutes. He managed to fix the problem for 1 day then it went off again so we just ended up boiling the kettle for washing up. Shower was fine though.

I'm not sure if the owners have a cleaner after each guest but I had to give the bathroom a quick clean and the carpets a Hoover (Hoover was useless) before I could relax.

Despite these points we all had a great time and the kids loved it and the price was great for August so we would consider booking in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
Hello, Thanks for the feedback. We have replaced the Isolation switch for the hot water, this was causing the water heater to trip out. As for the cleaning, we do have a cleaner after every guest, on this occasion she was away and we had a last minute replacement, so apologies if this wasn't to the usual standard,including the bread and milk.The hoover is fine now, we emptied the filter and it is back to full suction. We have also purchased a sieve and a colander as requested.
We are glad you didn't allow these issues to spoil you break and that your experience was overall a positive one.
Regards Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“As I expected for the price.”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely little chalet within easy reach of Dartmouth, read some previous bad reviews but never had a problem apart from temperamental hot water but we would just boil the kettle rather than complain about it. Some essentials bread, milk and butter where provided on our arrival which was a lovely touch. For the price you would be pushed to find anything better in the area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Thank you for your comments.
The water issue as you know was a trip switch and the shower not working mentioned by a previous guest was the control board blown. All were resolved immediately with a new showerput in. Something we could of done if we had been informed by the previous guest during their stay.
All carpets have been professionally cleaned again and the widow sills have been replaced. Like all the chalets the bedrooms are compact but manageable. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Regards
Ray and family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugarswir...
1 review
“Basic accommodation let down by smell”
Reviewed 3 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Nice enough chalet but spoilt by overwhelming smell of cat urine!! Hot water wouldn't work so had to boil kettle to wash dishes. Shower had three temperatures, freezing, very hot and scalding! Wardrobe wouldn't open properly in twin room due to lack of space.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2016
Thank you for your review. We are at a loss at to the issues. I had the carpets cleaned, all the walls washed, new window sills put in all before you arrived. If the water didn't work it could only if been a trip switch in the fuse box. As for the shower we have never had an issue but we will get it checked.
Regards
Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chumpage
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I really wanted to love it but....”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I really did want to love this place, the pictures looked great, it is a good location, on a very quiet site and is one of a very few places to offer short breaks in high season. Yes the bedrooms are quite small, as some reviewers have mentioned, but it is a chalet so that was to be expected and did not present a problem, it was nice and cosy. There are some nice touches and the kids loved being able to use the buckets and spades on the beach.
There was a bit of a musty smell when we arrived but again that was to be expected as it as a very warm weekend, a few open windows and that was cleared through.

However, unfortunately the chalet is really not very clean. The worst things were black moldy walls behind the beds, a rusty basket in the shower, peeling window sills and dirty windows. I appreciate that there are little visitors as it is in a field but there was a large number of dead woodlice in the bedroom, around some conduit, that must have been there for some time.
The plastic boards on the front of the chalet were green and did not give a good impression at all, they were the only ones on the site in this condition. I spent 10 minutes cleaning them when we arrived as it made me feel better about the holiday and stopped me feeling disheartened every time we pulled up. It really was only 10 minutes so there is no excuse for them to not be kept clean by the cleaner.

I am sorry to be leaving such a poor review, this place could be really great if it had a deep clean and a good cleaner to keep it up to a good standard.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2016
Hello
Thank you for your comments. Due to there being no gap between guests we were unable to get in and give it a deep clean. However yesterday and today it has had all the carpets cleaned again, the walls washed and I am trying to get the sills replaced by tomorrow. Regards
Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bedrooms aaaaaaaargh!”
Reviewed 5 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Bit of a mixed bag this place. Great location as a base for seeing South Devon. Chalet nice upon entry. Lounge and kitchen and bathroom all to very nice standard. The bedrooms are really small and need reorganised. Not much space in there and the windows/sills are bad.
The venetian blinds look like they haven't been cleaned in about 5years! But we did enjoy our stay despite this as the chalet is very easy to heat and is quite cosy with everything you need at hand. Really good price too for weeks stay but this should not be no excuse for the negatives.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
Thanks for the feedback. All relevant points will be addressed. Regards Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing