We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrived to find closed!”

Bayards Cove Inn Restaurant Dartmouth
Ranked #10 of 92 Restaurants in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$32
Cuisines: Gastropub, Bar, British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Bayards Cove Inn is the perfect place to come for a relaxing meal. We serve breakfast, lunches and delicious meals in the evening. Live music every Friday and Sunday nights.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Arrived to find closed!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Having booked several weeks ago a table of 12 for Tapas & Paella in the private room at this well reviewed restaurant, and reconfirmed the booking about 10 days ago, our party arrived on Monday evening at the appointed hour to find a notice on the door saying they had had to close at 3.30 for maintenance reasons. No special apology to us as a reservation, and no phone message left on my phone. Yes, it was a Monday, when they are usually closed, but I had been assured by the restaurant manager 10 days previously that they would be open for us, and we would be able to choose whatever we wanted from their menu, with no pre-ordering.
So what a disappointment! But every cloud has a silver lining - we had a very good, though probably more expensive, meal at The Royal Castle Hotel who seemed very happy to have our last minute booking and looked after us very well, and the food was excellent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank trelights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    77
    11
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Serendipity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were in Dartmouth briefly, and noticed this place while wandering down towards the old fort on the estuary wall.

We had been looking for a pub for lunch and my husband was a bit suspicious when we could only see sofas and comfy chairs inside, either side of the front door - was it a café, or something more?

It was definitely something more when we went inside, and his eyes lit up when we spotted not only a bar but also cider, lager, and, best of all, real ale on tap.

Once established at a table in the restaurant area, further back into the building, we settled down to a light lunch, a cheese ploughman's salad for him and a smoked salmon ploughman's salad for me. Both were beautifully presented on slate platters, and I had the most delicious pecorino-stuffed sweet peppers included in mine.

The beer was good, and the wine was good too. The staff were most helpful, prompt and attentive. Although we did not stay for coffee or tea I noticed a wide selection of leaf teas in jars on the counter, so there was plenty of choice in that respect.

The restaurant area is not huge, but there is a mixture of seating which makes it cozy and relaxed, and a very pleasant alternative to the 'normal' type of pub lunch.

The restaurant has bedroom accommodation - which we did not see.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Makushla-O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tapas evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We live in dartmouth and enjoy coffee here most mornings, on Saturday evening we had the tapas and it was really good, as previous reviews have said, the staff are excellent and we will definitely eat here again.,

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank christine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tapas Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Simple, wide range of menu choices. Delightful live music, guitarist and cellist singing during evening. Unobtrusive and extremely relaxing.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank C E G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tapas!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Myself and husband visited here for the first time on our recent trip to Dartmouth. We visit Dartmouth every year but had previously thought this was more a coffee and cake place and didn't realise they did evening food! Thank god we went in!!!! On a Thursday to Sunday Bayards Cove Inn opens up and serves Tapas, it was amazing!! Beautiful Tapas with a Devon twist all of which is home made! We tried the crab and mackerel croquettes which were on the specials menu, monkfish and chorizo skewers and prawns in garlic and chilli to name a few!! We loved the place so much we popped back a couple of times during the days, they do amazing coffees and home made cakes as well as lovely lunch menu of burgers, toasted sandwiches etc. Real great place and well worth a visit even if it's just for cake and coffee!! Another place that is now firmly on our list for when we return to Dartmouth!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stu192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bayards Cove Inn Restaurant Dartmouth also viewed

 

Been to Bayards Cove Inn Restaurant Dartmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing