We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Azaleas and bluebells!”

Fast Rabbit Farm Gardens
Ranked #13 of 39 things to do in Dartmouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Garden covers 43 acres and includes two valleys at right angles. One includes the River Black,a lake and ponds,the other a stream and ponds. The hillsides have wide contoured grass paths at all levels. The Garden is extensively planted with rhododendrons,camellias,magnolias and endless trees and shrubs. Daffodils and bluebells flower in their thousands. The nursery has a wide range at modest prices.
Devon, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Azaleas and bluebells!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I was lucky enough to visit at a time when all the azaleas were out in glorious technicolour, and so were the bluebells! It felt as though I could taste the colours. This is such a lovely, intimate garden, and yet you can tell yourself you've had a good walk, too!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank welltravelled0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    14
    2
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This has to be Dartmouth's best kept secret. A fabulous and extensive area with lots of different habitats and characteristics - from rhododendron covered hillsides to lakes and tree-lined paths. As if that isn't enough, there's a well-stocked nursery full of a huge variety of plants at prices that are significantly less than many garden centres. Well worth a visit to enjoy the extensive gardens but also to purchase any plants to take home.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank snowdon30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful, idyllic hidden gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We went with no real expectations. A lovely surprise hidden away in the valley :) Took our 9yr old son - there are no "attractions" for kids apart from the ability to be able to explore the outdoors and run around!! This seemed to be enough for our son :) Admittedly, this does seem to be somewhere which is in the process of being "improved".... we loved its simplicity - beautiful gardens, with TONS of gorgeous plants and the flowers were all blooming so I would say that May is a good month to go! Had a lovely chat with an older gentleman who was fixing one of the many little bridges over the streams.. There is plenty still to be done, but so much to see already! We wished that we had taken a picnic - there are lots of lovely handmade benches to sit on and take in nature at its finest! Fairly steep in parts and probably not very disabled friendly, I wore only a thin pair of canvas shoes - coped fine although it was a tiny bit muddy in places (after heavy rain it could be a bit boggy!) but next time might wear something a tad more robust - no need for any specialist footwear though! Facilities - well, the toilets looked pretty grotty (dodgy looking portakabin in the woods...), there was apparently a little "tea room" which we didn't check out so can't comment - again, would suggest taking your own picnic :) Such a peaceful and idyllic place - if you are looking for a nice relaxing few hours, away from the hustle and bustle then this is your place! Be warned though - if your kids need constant stimulation and attractions then head 5 mins up the road to Woodlands :) Either that or at least take a ball for them :)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Had what I wanted”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

I have to admit that we did not go on the walks as I only wanted to buy some plants. They have a wonderful variety but what threw me was you pay in an honesty box. The plants are all good quality and very reasonably priced. The only problem that I had was the state of the loos, not a nice place to use, very sad looking portacabin type.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank fuffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“superb.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Had Margaret 151151 come a few weeks later, as we did at the beginning of May she would have seen quite a different picture. When we visited, the woods were a mass of bluebells and the scented rhododendrons were almost overloaded with blooms. It is, indeed, a work in progress. The day we visited the owner and helper were very busy planting more rhododendrons along the valley edge. We will certainly visit again and again, not only for the gardens but also for the very friendly and personal welcome from all the people we met. The plants for sale are locally produced, of good quality, well looked-after and are very reasonable in price Oh, and we did see a rabbit, it approached us as we were having our welcome cups of tea

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RDG1G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fast Rabbit Farm Gardens also viewed

 
Dartmouth, Devon
 

Been to Fast Rabbit Farm Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing