We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bulstone Hotel(Branscombe)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quayside Hotel(Brixham)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Durant Arms(Ashprington)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveller rating
197
99
19
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
197
99
19
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstapasgreen roomboutique hotelchose brownsparking permitlovely hotelfresh milklocal car parklovely touchwine liststayed one nightvery pleasant staybreakfast was delicioustwo nightstea and coffeescallopsbottled water
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 330 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2013

This is not the first time we have stayed but we have just had a lovely short break here. The room was really smart having been beautifully upgraded and the service and attention throughout of the highest order. It has a lovely, unique atmosphere. They have made some excellent changes including things like a facility to make your own tea and coffee using loose leaf tea and ground coffee at any time. Food options are interesting and different - not "haute cuisine" but suiting a variety of tastes and needs. Lovely breakfast. The owners and staff are helpful and attentive and we will be sure to return again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LesHChippenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We stayed here for two nights for a short weekend away, we usually stay in large hotels but we are really glad we picked Browns, our room was one of the cleanest, nicest rooms we have stayed in for a long time. We stayed in the suite which has just been updated to a very high standard. We ate in the restaurant one evening, the food was superb, the steak was cooked to perfection, the free tapas was also a lovely touch, I would have liked a little more choice on the menu but that is just my personal preference. The wine selection was vast and the cocktails were great. The breakfast in the mornings was delicious, we can highly recommend the cooked full english and the greek yogurt with rubarb was yummy. The service from everyone in the hotel from the owner to the cleaners was excellent. We would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

A beautiful little hotel, that enjoys a relaxed atmosphere, friendly service and lovely food.
The rooms are all beautifully finished in a boutique style, very clean and warm (which is a blessing in Devon when it's -2 outside). We can't wait to return.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Staff - warm and welcoming. Decor - loved it, very trendy but cosy too. Room - lovely, all new and well decorated. Food and wine, excellent- had a selection of tapas and bread, something a bit different but very enjoyable. Breakfast - Delicious.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lstevens7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrownsDartmouth, Owner at Browns Hotel Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you for your kind review. I am glad that you enjoyed our new style and more informal menu. We have been getting some lovely feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I always choose to stay at Browns when working in Dartmouth and I must say it is a great choice. Its great value, central and the staff are very hospitable. I will be returning in 2013 and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: They dont have a pool or fitness centre but I cant remove the ratings!!!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews