We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly, central - who could ask for more?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable, friendly, central - who could ask for more?”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Having stayed at Browns several times over the past year or two, I returned in late April to spend a few days in Dartmouth. The refurbished rooms are excellent, with proper attention to detail in all aspects. Plenty of power points (in the right places) for the gadget-addicted traveller, very comfortable beds, separate seating area for watching the telly, spacious bathroom, and flexible window blinds! All fixtures and fittings are of the highest quality. The downstairs bar and bistro offer good value wining and dining, and the management and staff are friendly and accommodating. Overall, definitely one of the best places to stay in Dartmouth.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    93
    18
    11
    2
See reviews for
21
225
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingsbridge
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed at Browns for two nights to celebrate an anniversary. We both have very busy lives and needed to be able to kick back and enjoy some lovely food and wine. The room was beautiful and very spacious. The luxurious bathroom had a deep bath and fantastic shower. Both the room and bathroom are furnished to a really high standard. We had a lovely meal and lots of great wine which the owner James advised us on. All the staff were really friendly and made our stay effortless. Will be going back!

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor suite as it very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 841 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Dear Folks,

Hello again and Thanks for reading our review. If you find it of any help at all, please feel free to click the helpful tag at the end. Many Thanks.

My Wife and I stayed at Browns Hotel, Dartmouth, on 17th / 18th.5.2013. We booked the newly refurbished suite, room number 8,at a fee of £225.00p per night, to include breakfast.

We were met by the owners of the hotel, who gave us a warm welcome and were keen and happy to advise on the locality and its attractions and days out.

HOTEL SUITE:

Mr Brown showed us to our room and very nice it was as well. They have made a brilliant job of the bathroom and the bed was so massive and comfortable. We did experience some slight niggles with the bath and shower running very hot / very cold, during busy times, but this did not dampen our experience. Excuse the pun !

We were then handed a parking permit to be displayed on your dashboard, which allowed 2 hours free parking on the street and also free 24hr parking in the local car park, which is a minutes walk away. The permit also allowed similar parking privileges, at several close by towns. So fair play to all who had a hand in this Visitor friendly initiative.

HOTEL FOOD:

After settling down and going for a nice walk and a few beers, we returned to the hotel for supper. The hotel restaurant had a nice ambience to it and seductive lighting came via the form of candles.

Both my Wife and I both opted for Old fashioned smoked steak cuts, which were Feather, Hanger and Skirt, served with a sauce, remoulade and fries at £18.50 per head.

We were served by friendly, efficient staff who turned around the meal in no time. The meal didn’t really work for me unfortunately. It was hot and plentiful and well presented, but I just couldn’t get on with it. That’s not a criticism, it just happens from time to time. My Wife loved hers and cleared her plate. With four glasses of wine, the tab was around £57.00p

The next morning I opted for a full English and again we were served by a helpful and friendly member of staff. Im not sure if my taste buds were on strike this weekend or not, but I found the Black pudding over powering and very strong and the dry cured bacon an unusual taste. My Wife thought the bacon very tasty. Perhaps Im not offay with this high end brand of product ?

On our last morning I opted for poached eggs on toast and they were to die for.

DARTMOUTH ITSELF:

A beautiful oasis of a Seaside side town, snuggled inbetween stunning rolling Countryside and the picturesque River Dart. A seaside town free of slot machines, pound shops and establishments selling inflatable swimming and snorkling aids.

The Town has an air of sophistication and maturity about it, compared to your average run of the mill, seaside resort. We found the locals very friendly and there were some nice bars and restaurants to choose from, including Indian and Chinese. We did not see an Italian restaurant however ? That would have been the icing on the cake. But I may be wrong on this ?

I will be posting a review on Spice Bazaar, Dartmouth, where we ate on Saturday night.

THINGS TO DO:

Following on from Mr and Mrs Browns tips and hints, on the Saturday we caught a wee boat from the quay to the left of the Station restaurant , which took us to Dittisham for the fee of £11.00p for two. We had to call the captain on his mobile to secure two seats, his mobile was displayed on the timetable board at the quay.

Dittisham is truly stunning, spectacular and very peaceful and calming. We had a coffee in the local café but you may want to consider having lunch at the quaint Ferry Boat Inn.

We then caught the little boat over to Greenway which was charged at £2.00p per head. There you will find a hilly walk on loose gravel, to Agatha Christies beautiful holiday home. I will also write a review on this, Greenway House and Gardens. The entry there is £9.00p per adult or £9.90p if you want to contribute to the National Trust fund.

From there, we walked for about twenty minutes until we reached the un manned train station of Greenway Halt. Here you have to press a button on the platform to notify the steam train to stop for you. Please check timetables before hand, as several of us had to take the train into Paignton, wait there for 45 minutes, until we could return to Kingswear and catch the ferry over to Dartmouth.

That particular train journey was £11.00p each and the ferry to Dartmouth I think £2.00p per head.

There was so much to do that we plan to return and spend more time later in the year.

CONCLUSION:

Would definitely recommend a stay at Browns Hotel and would return. The staff there are excellent in their work and a credit to their Employers.

Dartmouth itself, in a word, stunning !

Many Thanks
Gary.

ASSOCIATED REVIEWS:

Spice Bazaar - Dartmouth
Greenway House and Gardens - Greenway

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruddstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

The hotel's style is fresh and modern. Bar area and room were nice and relaxing places to be.
Excellent, friendly service. Good choice of wine in the bar.

We ate in town so can't comment on the restaurant. although breakfast was very good.
Parking ok, we managed to get in on the road right outside the hotel. Parking ok there until 11am, the traffic warden was circling.. Although the hotel provides permits for the town's main car park a short walk away.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henriUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2013

What a find! We stayed for 4 nights this week with the sole purpose of chilling out in our favourite place in the UK.

The whole experience of Browns was brilliant. James and Clare were really fine hosts, all the staff were 'smiley' and friendly. The poached eggs were among the best I have had in a hotel (always rate by the ability to produce a good poached egg). The hotel is comfortable, I wanted to take the bed home with me. Everything was wonderfully clean. This is not a 'swanky' pretentious boutique hotel, it is welcoming, comfortable and enjoyable place to stay if you wish to feel like home from home. The location is brilliant, an easy walk down to the river, the parking arrangement is brilliant, anyone who knows Dartmouth will know the lack of parking space can be a trial.

We are back in Dartmouth again next month with our son and his family. On the way home we decided to go a day early and re-book with Browns before - what more can I say.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanRixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This place is really worth a visit, great recently refurbished rooms and facilities. James and the team have honed this establishment over the years and it really shows. They all love the place and it comes across with the level of service. Do make time for the tapas on the friday night and the wine selection generally. We stayed here for three nights over a weekend......and are looking forward to returning there in the future. Our name is Brown but we are not related.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 which was very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LenBrownB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed at Browns last weekend taking the last room available on Saturday evening. Despite the appalling weather we are so pleased that we did so, the hotel has a wonderful relaxed yet modern atmosphere with the hosts, James and Clare, ensuring a very genuine and warm welcome. Having spent the day at a local cookery school (also excellent) we really didn't think we could eat another thing but the informal and innovative approach in Brown's restaurant more than tempted us. We loved the home smoked specialties and the expert guidance on wine, we are only sorry that we don't live a little closer so that we could drop in regularly!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnHSevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
0.1 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,011 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
1.9 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Townstal Farmhouse
Townstal Farmhouse
#6 of 6 in Dartmouth
122 reviews
11.6 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Hotel Dartmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Hotel Dartmouth

Property: Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Address: 27-29 Victoria Road, Dartmouth TQ6 9RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Browns Hotel Dartmouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Browns is a small family owned town house hotel, bar and restaurant in the centre of Dartmouth. It's rooms are modern, stylish and unfussy. On the ground floor Browns bar has a wide range of reasonably priced wines and champagnes by the glass, complemented by a range of casual tapas platters and bar food. Browns restaurant serves Mediterranean influenced food with a focus on fresh local fish and meats, 85% of the food sourced at Browns comes from within 15 miles of Dartmouth.We hope that our focus on good food, great wines and shared local secrets will mean that your experience at Browns is much more than a good nights sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Browns Hotel Dartmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dartmouth Browns Hotel
Browns Hotel Dartmouth Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing