We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well placed hotel and great breakfasts!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We only had a one night stay on our west country trip but thoroughly enjoyed the visit. Our room was large with excellent facilities. The hotel provides a car parking permit for a nearby car park. Our hotel room was very quiet except for a few friendly seagulls!

The breakfast selection was excellent with great jams.

Unfortunately, I didn't read the hotel website properly and no evening meal is available Sunday-Tuesday. We stayed on a Tuesday night! The staff recommended two restaurants (Annabelle's Kitchen and the Seahorse) but both were fully booked. We managed to get a table at Taylor's and had a fine fish based meal.

I will definitely book Browns again , if in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeB097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

Booked a room on 10.08.13 @ £165 and expected something special for that sort of money . what we got was a room that was smaller than our own bedroom , stairs that were not the best to carry a suitcase up or down, and to top it all we never even had any biscuits with our tea making facility's (you get that in the most basic of places except premier inns and travelodge's ) , the breakfast was quite spars , it was nice it just left you a bit wanting (one slice of bacon ) the picture on their web site shows two sausages ,two black pudding and two tomatoes the menu states one of each which is what you get and a £15 each it's not really good value would be better if you could choose what and how much you had, black pudding is not to everybody's taste , on the plus side it was friendly,quaint and the breakfast what there was of it was very tasty , so to sum up its expensive for what you get won't be recommending or having a return visit unless of course they start charging a realistic rate and increase the portions :-}

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrownsDartmouth, Owner at Browns Hotel Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Breakfast is included in the price of the room. There is no additional charge. I have reviewed your bill. You were not charged £15, never mind £30. I am afraid that your review is untrue and misleading on this point of fact.

As for breakfast we are quite relaxed about what you order, we do make suggestions as to what you might like on the basis of our experience but our menu also encourages people to make their own choices. People ask for more sausages, fewer eggs, no black pudding and every variation in between, all the time. I am sorry that you did not read the menu more carefully nor ask our waiting staff, it really would have been that simple:-)

We don't provide biscuits with your tea........but we do provide fresh milk a choice of three loose leaf teas, decaf and regular coffee and a fast kettle, unlimited still and sparkling water. I'm not sure the Premier Inn does that!

If you want to see your room before you come to the hotel we have floor plans and detailed photos of each room. We also have a video tour of the ground floor, corridors and a 360 degree view of one of our classic rooms. We really do encourage people to use our website to its full extent so that they can be sure they have booked the room they want.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

First impressions aren't so good. The hotel fronts directly onto the pavement of a very straight road so it just looks like a few terrace houses. Inside is much better - reception, bar, lounge and dining are really well styled and comfortable (apart from the transparent pink plastic chairs which I refused to sit in). Then up to the room and again it's a let down. Through the dining area to a scruffy door with an architrave which needs some work and a decent coat of paint - it's all chipped and rather like one of the scruffier Blackpool B&Bs. The stairway isn't much better & there's no lift so getting your case to your room is a pain.
Speaking of which - the room was ok but small. OK we'd paid for the smallest room but if there's two people it should accomodate two people. Which it did but only just. Specifically, not enough storage, just the one small wardrobe. Decent bathroom with a great shower.
Positives - outstanding food and staff / service. Breakfast was just brilliant every time. The basics - poached eggs, bacon - were done to perfection and the juices were delicious. Dinner equally was excellent. We arrived late the first night & ate in the hotel. It was so good we immediately booked for another night. Staff couldn't have been more helpful and are locals - make sure you get their advice on where to go & what to see.
So overall, good but not great. Better access to the rooms and less expensive would have got them four stars - and that should be easy to fix.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dxbriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrownsDartmouth, Owner at Browns Hotel Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

You will be pleased to know that we will replace the door that so offends you in the winter, it nearly got replaced in February, we simply ran out of time!

I'm afraid that a lift is a little harder in a grade II listed town house hotel with only 8 bedrooms!

Have a look at our Google 360 degree video tour of the ground floor, corridors and one of our bedrooms. It's shot in high definition so we can't really hide much. You can see the pewter bar, leather banquette seating and of those pink Philip Stark chairs that you don't like. If you had sat in one you would have discovered they really are rather comfortable! Don't forget to use the floor plans and photo galleries on the website to see what we are like. Most people don't do this!

We don't have a huge amount of storage in your room, enough hanging for say 20 shirts, three draws for socks and pants and some wall hooks. Oddly we have lovely Graham and Green wardrobes in many of our rooms. We are amazed at how infrequently people use them. Still if you come back and this is a concern or your travelling with masses of suitcases just ask and well put you in a room with a good sized wardrobe. We choose not to have divan beds which also means that people can quickly hide their luggage out of sight under beds.

Finally we choose to put 5' or king sized beds in our bedrooms (a couple have super sized beds). They do use more room than 4'6 beds that some hotels put into their rooms to make them look bigger. We think bigger beds are way to go.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We chose Browns Hotel for a two night stay in may based on great reviews and we were not disappointed - beautifully decorated rooms, welcoming staff, outstanding food and drink together with a free parking permit all just a short walk from the riverfront. Within minutes of our arrival we were given details of a wonderful walk along to the castle which served as a perfect introduction to the town. The Friday night tapas in bar was superb and gave us time to chat to our charming hosts as we spoiled ourselves with some pink champagne that was recommended to us. We took
the ferry across to Kingswear where the steam train leaves for Paington and Agatha Christie's National Trust estate and ate at the Anchorstone cafe at Dittisham - all as recommended. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Causewaygiants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We had a good stay here in the the suite. The bedroom and bathroom were spotless although situated at the top of the hotel so a few flights of steps to lug your suitcase up! The breakfast was good but I personally would have liked the option of croissants/pastries as I don't eat cooked breakfast so cereal and toast was a little run of the mill. Overall I have to say it seemed expensive as you could pay less for a good hotel with more facilities but then it was nice to stay somewhere that was small and well run. It is situated in an excellent position for shops and restaurants although we stayed on a Sunday and Monday night and all the nice restaurants were shut in Dartmouth! Quite surprising for June really. Overall, a nice hotel, well decorated and very clean.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MissSunny30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Shame we had to choose the hottest Sat evening of July 13 2013 so just had to have the windows open so could not avoid the disco in the Con club and also the music from pub opposite. Suppose we could have closed the windows but we'd have melted. So air con or a couple of strategically placed fans please next time.
Nonetheless the suite is very well appointed if not a tad too masculine and the breakfast was lovely. We also had a cocktail which was yummy.
Not in the best location in the town but Dartmouth itself is lovely. The only place to keep cool was on the water so we did a couple of trips

Room Tip: The Suite is on 2nd floor and there is no lift but well worth the climb. However it is street side s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 120pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I can confirm that this is a great place to stay. Central location, parking permit issued no problem, car park is about 5 minute walk. Room was lovely, clean & comfy night sleep. Only negative was being woken up with traffic noise/ lorries making deliveries very early (or it may have been the dustman?) but it wouldn't put me off staying here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Suite (room 8) which is on the street side of the building on the top floor. Expec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
0.1 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,064 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
3.7 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Townstal Farmhouse
Townstal Farmhouse
#6 of 6 in Dartmouth
124 reviews
11.6 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Hotel Dartmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Hotel Dartmouth

Address: 27-29 Victoria Road, Dartmouth TQ6 9RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range: £88 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Browns Hotel Dartmouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Browns is a small family owned town house hotel, bar and restaurant in the centre of Dartmouth. It's rooms are modern, stylish and unfussy. On the ground floor Browns bar has a wide range of reasonably priced wines and champagnes by the glass, complemented by a range of casual tapas platters and bar food. Browns restaurant serves Mediterranean influenced food with a focus on fresh local fish and meats, 85% of the food sourced at Browns comes from within 15 miles of Dartmouth.We hope that our focus on good food, great wines and shared local secrets will mean that your experience at Browns is much more than a good nights sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Browns Hotel Dartmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dartmouth Browns Hotel
Browns Hotel Dartmouth Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing