We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little bit of London Elegance in Dartmouth..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little bit of London Elegance in Dartmouth..”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We booked two rooms for only 1 night. Children had Room no.2 which was a good size and very well presented. We were next door in Room No.1 ( The green Room ) Very Boutique and the bed was very comfortable. En-suite Bathroom was perfect. Full english breakfast was Fab and the muesli my wife said was lovely! We sat in the bar the night before with the owner who introduced us to some very nice wines.

We visit Dartmouth at least twice a year to see family but have never stayed At Browns Before but will differently be booking again.

Oh yes the Hotel is in the Heart of the town close to some greta bars and restaurants, however you wont find a better Wine bar than Browns.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsPink40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    91
    18
    11
    2
See reviews for
20
223
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We spent two nights at Browns Hotel during the main holiday season. Rooms are small but beautiful. Breakfast is perfect, staff young, but very kind and helpful. Parking permission for central Dartmouth car park. We'll come back at any time!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onthewayunterwegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed for one night and were very happy with our experience. The room was very clean and comfortable and breakfast had all the necessities. I thought the bar/ restaurant area looked much better in real life, with a lovely open fire.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorquayReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed for three nights in The Suite - well worth the extra. A great place to stay where the staff were welcoming and very helpful. We ate in the restaurant for two nights - good meals and good value. My first visit to Dartmouth - I will come here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Booked to stay 1 night but stayed 2. Room very clean which had the advantage of a walk in shower and a bath which you don't often get. There was a small kettle in the room but just outside the door of our room was a larger kettle with teapots and cafeterias with a selection of teas & coffee, you can also help yourselves to bottled still & sparkling water included in the price.The staff were very friendly with a lot of helpful hints. We ate in the restaurant on the Friday food very good. James the owner came and chatted and gave some very helpful tips on what to do. Would stay there again but will book on their own web site as you get a better deal.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilky54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBDart, Owner at Browns Hotel Dartmouth, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.

I wanted to reiterate your point about booking directly to get the best deals. Our website is the only place you can book all our rooms. We will never offer our rooms more cheaply on another channel. Very last minute deals, offers for dinner, will all be shown on our website first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My wife and I run a busy company, we hadn't had a break for about 18 months! Picked this hotel, booked the Suite (room 8) really nice room, all you could ask for, including a selection of teas and coffee's (not silly little sachets) fresh milk and bottled still and sparkle water all included in the price.
The staff are a credit to the hotel, again perfection, not too intrusive but attentive at the same time.
We had our evening meal at the hotel, and again, one of the best meals I have had for a long time (excluding my wife's cooking...of course!)
Wine and drinks selection was way above what I would expect from a small hotel, and realistically priced .
Will we go again? yes, and that's a rare thing for me to say, as I like to try new places when I can, but this for us is spot on, not too far away, so a smashing place for a short break.
Dartmouth itself, is a smashing little place and worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davotheplumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

We booked in for 2 nights at Browns. The first night was in the suite and we were kindly upgraded to the green room for our second night from a standard room.
We sat in the bar for a couple of drinks and chatted to the owner James who was very friendly and shared his knowledge of champagnes and sparkling wines with us.
Clean rooms and very good service.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ripcurlgirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
0.1 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
982 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
3.7 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
187 reviews
11.6 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Townstal Farmhouse
Townstal Farmhouse
#6 of 6 in Dartmouth
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Hotel Dartmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Hotel Dartmouth

Property: Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Address: 27-29 Victoria Road, Dartmouth TQ6 9RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Browns Hotel Dartmouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Browns is a small family owned town house hotel, bar and restaurant in the centre of Dartmouth. It's rooms are modern, stylish and unfussy. On the ground floor Browns bar has a wide range of reasonably priced wines and champagnes by the glass, complemented by a range of casual tapas platters and bar food. Browns restaurant serves Mediterranean influenced food with a focus on fresh local fish and meats, 85% of the food sourced at Browns comes from within 15 miles of Dartmouth.We hope that our focus on good food, great wines and shared local secrets will mean that your experience at Browns is much more than a good nights sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Browns Hotel Dartmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dartmouth Browns Hotel
Browns Hotel Dartmouth Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing