We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fabulous weekend...a brilliant hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A fabulous weekend...a brilliant hotel!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My lovely partner booked a trip to sunny Dartmouth and Browns for my birthday weekend. This hotel really is a hidden little gem. The rooms are stylishly decorated and comfortable. There's a fabulous selection of beers and an extensive wine list in the small bistro attached to the hotel. The food looked great too though we didn't' have an evening meal but the breakfasts were amazing!

The staff were friendly and courteous, especially the young chap serving the delicious breakfasts who felt like our own private tourist guide! Helpful too in providing rags and soapy water to clean the seagull poop from our car windscreen!

All in all I'd thoroughly recommend Brown's right in the heart of this beautiful little Devon idyll.

Room Tip: As far as I can tell all the rooms are good. Those at the back maybe a bit quieter than at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grogleydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    88
    17
    11
    2
See reviews for
20
212
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

on arriving at browns we were shown to our room ( the green room ) on the first floor. going up the stairs I noticed the carpet was filthy and smelt. coming and going up and down the stairs the smell was overpowering. the charge for the room was £185 per night bed and breakfast.. we had booked in for 3 nights. we were very disappointed to find just tea and coffee in the room not even a biscuit. dull and dreary décor. shampoo and shower gel were in dispensers cheap and odourless. the breakfast was cereals. a choice of a full English breakfast or 2 eggs on toast or kippers poor choice for the price we paid. would not recommend or return.

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank len_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrownsDartmouth, Owner at Browns Hotel Dartmouth, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Sir,
I am sorry that you didn't feel that your stay was good value. You did pay full price at a peak time of the year in the hotel which was full.

You clearly didn't like the decor or style of the room which is clearly your perogative, but your view runs contrary of our experience of this room and other guest comments. Our website clearly shows what this room looks like. It has a 6' luxury green velvet bed, an original deco wall mirror, local art from an artist who has twice been hung at the national portrait gallery, a 60's coffee table that we had edged in rosewood, an original 70's Danish rosewood sideboard, 2 scandi cream coloured chairs, leather curtains and Sanderson shutters, a Heals leather bedroom chair and a Graham and Green side table. The paint palate in the room is from Farrow and Ball. The carpet is new, beige and cost £70 per sq metre.

Our rooms have a choice of 3 loose teas, decaf and real coffee, fresh milk, complimentry Hildon water and bathrooms soaps that guests frequently ask to buy.

All guests can take complimentary teas and coffees during the day in our bar areas. On two of the nights you stayed complimentary wines and port were offered in the evening in our bar area.

Our breakfast menu is on our website, but you may have missed the organic apple juice, freshly squeezed orange juice, homemade yoghurt, homemade marmalade, freshly prepared fruit salads, a fruit bowl and Hobbs bakery breads (artisan bakery of the year). We don't do everything that a large hotel might offer but we do try to do what we do to a standard of quality that exceeds most.

You clearly didn't like your stay at Browns and clearly we are not your sort of place. This happens, but we do at least try on our website to be open and honest about the sort of hotel we are, the choice is then yours.

It's a shame that your comments were not a little more balanced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We cannot thank you both for making our wedding day so fabulous. After having said 'I do' we were warmly greeted with 'champers' and wonderful nibbles. James and Clare, for our wedding meal, put on an amazing feast washed down with great wines. The staff were superb and couldn't do enough to ensure our every need was catered for.
All we can say is a massive 'thank you' to Browns Hotel as it was a perfect day!!
Charlie & Emma

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dartmouthboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is our first stay at Browns since they newly refurbished the rooms and we love the style.
The beds remain the most comfortable ever, the welcome as warm as ever, the bar staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was delicious - they even provided gluten free bread. Highly recommended, we will be back soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolF00die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

What I particularly love about Browns is that blend of ancient and modern - quirky rooms each different from each other but done out with a clean, fresh house style with comfortable beds and gorgeously appointed bathrooms. We have been here on a couple of occasions before and always enjoy the experience. Great breakfast too - hearty and as healthy-tasting as a Full English can be with proper coffee and fresh juices! The staff are friendly, charming and efficient. Lovely.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninakent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Having stayed at Browns for almost a week, I do genuinely feel that some of the glowing reviews are somewhat generous. It is really no more than a glorified B & B with pretensions of marketing itself as a high end boutique hotel. The room was quite small, with very little storage space, only one chair for a double room, hideous LEATHER curtains with holes in, a bathroom basin really too small to wash in, no towel rail, and overlooked a very noisy street with pub and working mans club type of place opposite, complete with all the usual late night rowdy behaviour (there was a fight outside on our first night - thank goodness we didn't have children with us). Breakfasts were of the portion control variety ie: half a tomato, one mushroom sliced and fried. The website advertised smoked salmon, but there was none. Quite frankly, £145 per night weekend rate, did not in my opinion represent reasonable value. We have stayed in exceedingly good hotels that provided much more in terms of space, facilities, breakfast quality and overall value. The people in the room opposite showed us with some incredulity their windows, which were all frosted so they couldn't even look out!! On the plus side, the standard of housekeeping and cleanliness was very high, and the "free" car parking was a valued facility. We felt that the owners would probably have been more friendly had we eaten there at the weekend (they weren't doing food during the week), but the overall feel was not one of warmth and welcoming, particularly for a privately owned establishment. It would have been, for example, a nice and appreciated touch for a personal goodbye when we left!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank matt c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Overpriced for basically bed and breakfast accommodation, for the price paid we expected luxury,
had better accommodation in B & B's at half the price!!Good bathroom, let down by the decor of the bedroom and lack of amenities in the room. Did not appreciate having to walk through the dining room and bar to access the bedroom. It felt more like staying in a pub with rooms rather than a hotel!!! Also breakfast was mediocre.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
0.1 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
930 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
3.7 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dartmouth
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Hotel Dartmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Hotel Dartmouth

Property: Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Address: 27-29 Victoria Road, Dartmouth TQ6 9RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Browns Hotel Dartmouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Browns is a small family owned town house hotel, bar and restaurant in the centre of Dartmouth. It's rooms are modern, stylish and unfussy. On the ground floor Browns bar has a wide range of reasonably priced wines and champagnes by the glass, complemented by a range of casual tapas platters and bar food. Browns restaurant serves Mediterranean influenced food with a focus on fresh local fish and meats, 85% of the food sourced at Browns comes from within 15 miles of Dartmouth.We hope that our focus on good food, great wines and shared local secrets will mean that your experience at Browns is much more than a good nights sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Browns Hotel Dartmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dartmouth Browns Hotel
Browns Hotel Dartmouth Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing