We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect break”
Review of Stoke Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed 4 nights for our wedding anniversary and can not fault this family run hotel. We are frequent visitors and are always made to feel special, the hotel is perfect for relaxing and the staff are always very helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The food in the restaurant is always excellent and there is an extensive wine list. The hotel is perfectly situated just a short drive from the beautiful town of Dartmouth, there are wonderful walks along the coastal paths and down to the local beach at Blackpool Sands and we would recommend the walk through the Blackpool Valley down to the beach. The hotel has great facilities included a tennis court and indoor and outdoor pools. We can't wait to return in the summer with our daughter for a relaxing family holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, Owner at Stoke Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights last week, the hotel was clean and staff were very helpful and pleasant. We stayed with our small dog and she was equally made welcome. Some parts of the hotel maybe are slightly dated but things like bathrooms were modern and contemporary. The only thing we felt needed up grading was the shower in the pool area. Food excellent. Our room had sea views, and we were lucky to have beautiful sunshine to make the views even better. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

A perfect hidden gem in the devon countryside. Stoke lodge hotel was just perfect for relaxing and taking in the beautiful surroundings. The staff couldn't do enough for us and always with a smile. The hotel is on the coastal path and minutes away from Blackpool sands beach. We explored the area through the day and after. relaxed in the pool and jacuzzi. Living in london we were really after a sea-view so would definitely recommend paying a little extra to get the sea facing rooms. Looking forward to coming back this summer.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Gabbi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

When I pulled up I thought it was closed, and entering the doors thought closed too!
Very dark, old fashioned and drab, cannot think why they can be rated four stars as have visited much nicer.
Reception very cluttered and tatty,with posters, pictures, coats hanging on wall in corridor.
Had a few hours to kill before eating and nowhere at all to buy and snacks, not even in the bar.
No wi fi in room, just the bar and lounge which I did not go into as both areas depressing and drab.
Room old fashion, worn and tired but adequate and clean with good comfy bed and good linen although seen better days. Shower good. Slept very well.
Walls very thin, I could hear the conversation from next door, but reading the previous reviews may have been put in this room due to company booking.
Restaurant again, drab and worn although light and airy due to location.
Evening meal and breakfast very good with excellent service.
All in all, average comfortable stay, ok for one night and good food.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveypam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, Owner at Stoke Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for your comments and we were sorry to hear you found the decor not to your taste, we are constantly trying to up-grade all our rooms and public areas.
We do in fact serve freshly prepared food all day (we are sorry that we do not have a Vending Machine as requested, but have never in 33 years year been asked for this facility before) and offer Crisps, Nuts and Olives in our Bar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night break at Stoke Lodge with our 3 dogs. The hotel is ideally situated for Blackpool Sands and Slapton Sands. With an indoor pool and jacuzzi and level food, it was just the break we needed. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank PamM14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We had the opportunity to spend an overnight at this hotel and thought the place was really lovely. A comfortable and cosy hotel with swimming pools. Definitely worth taking some piano music to play their lovely grand piano next visit. We were off out exploring on both the day we arrived and the next day. Fabulous scenery. The food in the restaurant was really good and there was a great menu. Breakfast the same... lots of choice. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We'll aim to go there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank odyssians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

What to expect through the eyes of a 31 year old professional Welshman living in London visiting for his girlfriend's 30th birthday:

Typical seaside town hotel vibe - lots of old pensioners, carpets, slightly dated interiors, the odd younger couple, the odd family and really friendly service. 15 minute walk to beach (not sandy [disappointingly] nor big pebbles like Brighton, thankfully), profile photo for hotel with properties by the sea completely misleading to those who've not googled it. Walk back from the beach is up an immense hill (as expected from googling, but still knackering).

Pros
Excellent breakfast (athough one egg, one bacon, one tomato etc). Good cerial selection.
Lovely indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi
Table tennis, pool and snooker
A smallish bar, lots of living room space
Friendly staff
Quiet
Sea room was very, very large (room 9). Room 9 also at the end of the corridor and very quite. It's the other side of the house to the bins which some reviewers have complained were noisy when moved.
Looked at room 6 - spacious and decent (non sea-view), but quiet and at the end of the corridor opposite room 9.
Good shower and water temperature.

Cons
Sea view room was more "squint and kind of work out the gaps between houses an trees to see a triangle of sea in the distance". Certainly not a special feature - hence the margin difference in pricing between sea view rooms and non-sea view rooms.
Front and back rooms overlooked car-parks.
Outdoor swimming pool closed as expected - would be nice to have it open in on a sunny September day.
King-size bed was actually two large singles/two small doubles Velcro'd together. GF didn't mind but I noticed the dip!


FYI Taxi to and from Totnes £30 (we don't drive - we got the train)

Room Tip: Sea room was very, very large (room 9). Room 9 also at the end of the corridor and very quite. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 129,484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
2 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,068 reviews
2 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
318 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
9.7 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Townstal Farmhouse
Townstal Farmhouse
#6 of 6 in Dartmouth
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoke Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke Lodge Hotel

Address: Cinders Lane, Dartmouth TQ6 0RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range: £97 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stoke Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Stoke Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke Hotel Dartmouth
Stoke Lodge Hotel Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing