We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Highly recommended"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dartmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Victorian House
Ranked #17 of 52 Dartmouth B&B and Inns
gloucester
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“"Highly recommended"”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We have just spent 3 nights at The Victorian House and cannot praise it highly enough. The new owner Jaks made us feel so welcome. We had a large spotlessly clean room with every conceivable comfort, including fresh flowers, home baked biscuits, fridge with fresh milk and bottled water and a lovely big bathroom with beautiful towels, robes and toiletries.After the best nights sleep we have had for ages (it's so quiet), we came down to a wonderful breakfast of our choice. Cereals, fruit juice, yoghurts,croissants, the biggest selection of fresh fruit (including figs, kiwis, melon, bananas etc) and all this before the smoked haddock or full English or scramble eggs with smoked salmon! The Victorian House is ideally situated and only a few minutes walk into the town. It also has off road parking. It really is the most perfect place to stay whilst visiting beautiful Dartmouth and we are so pleased we chose it. We will certainly be returning . Thank you Jaks

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pollyGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
110
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Well what can I say.... So lovely and clean , comfortable beds and soft linen, and the breakfast is to die for homemade bread and jams and the full english is great....It is easy walk into town and what is also good there is off street parking a must in Dartmouth..Thankyou Sue and Alan

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 120GeorgeF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Just had two nights here, but wow what a wonderful B&B. The owners Sue and Alan could not have been friendlier, serving the best breakfast, plenty of choice, with home made bread, jams and sauces. The accomadition was of a very high standard, spotlessy clean, even had a fresh jug of milk in the fridge, for tea and fresh ground coffee for the cafetiere. We highly recommend The Victorian House .Sue even rang and reserved a table for us at a very good Restaurant as we arrived as it was getting late.. Thank You

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We had a lovely few nights with Alan and Sue. We agree with everything thats already been said. Dartmouth is such a lovely place to visit and now we have found the perfect place to stay there. We would not hesitate to go back again to the best B&B we have ever stayed in.
Thank You!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tlkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Just spent a wonderful relaxing week at the Victorian House in Dartmouth. It really was a treat to stay there, we were spoilt rotten by the lovely Sue and Alan, with superb breakfasts and very comfortable and spacious room (we had The Penthouse;it's up a couple of flights of stairs, but SO worth the climb!!).

You won't find a better B and B in Dartmouth, and probably you'd have a job to beat it anywhere in Devon.

Parking on-site is a real bonus in busy Dartmouth, and the Victorian House is very handily located for the Town Centre, bus stops, and for us walkers, just perfectly located for the many wonderful hikes around glorious South Devon,

We cannot recommend this B and B highly enough, and really didn't want to go home. 10/10.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEATH
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Still our favourite b&b, book the penthouse room you won't be disappointed. Lovely hosts who are always there if needed but never in your face. The breakfasts are superb with a grand selection of hot & cold. On site parking which is a huge bonus in dartmouth. Thanks again Sue & Alan for a lovely few nights.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KATEBEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Perfect location with an easy 5 minute stroll to the main harbour area of Dartmouth.
The breakfast was outstanding! Sue's home made breads and preserves to compliment the exceptional breakfast - served at a far more civilised time than the usual breakfast slot of 7-9am... so imnportant when you are on holiday and looking to relax.
Huge comfortable beds, well appointed and furnished rooms and bathrooms.
I would not hestitate in recommending The Victorian House to anyone who is looking for somewhere really special to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley V M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
967 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dartmouth
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
296 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
#2 of 52 in Dartmouth
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victorian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian House

Property: The Victorian House
Address: 1 Vicarage Hill, Dartmouth TQ6 9EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victorian House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian House, based in Dartmouth, Devon is a B&B that offers large comfortable guest accommodation, with en suite bathrooms. Car parking is provided on site; and a five minute level stroll will take you to the River Dart & Town Centre. The Victorian House offers hairdryers, ironing facilities, TV, clock radio and free Wi-Fi for you to enjoy. Check in is between 3-7 pm although an earlier check-in can be arranged. Sorry no children under 14 years old due to low level sash windows. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Victorian House Hotel Dartmouth
The Victorian House Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing