We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fab location and warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Victorian House
Ranked #17 of 52 Dartmouth B&B and Inns
birmingham, uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fab location and warm welcome”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The room was even nicer than the photos suggested - comfy, warm and stylish with a great breakfast. We liked the way the dining room is open to the kitchen. Jaks was welcoming and gave good recommendations on where to eat. Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: top suite - lots of stairs, but worth the climb. loads of room and quiet, beautiful linen and thick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c.m.hughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
110
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2013

So back in July this year myself and my other half stayed at Victorian House for the weekend. After 4 hours in the car being forced to listen to the cricket on the radio, we arrived! We were greeted by a friendly "woof" from roxy the dog (who I love btw). Jax and her beautiful home was just the tonic we both needed. The room was fab with everythig you needed, plug sockets next to a mirror, lovely bits and bobs in the bathroom along with an amazing view and a 3 min walk to the harber. The breakfast was top notch too! Jax and her sister made our stay so special, thank you so much. we will be back for sure. My surprise was a proposal from my now fiance...I said yes! All in all a weekend I will never forget! If you haven't stayed here I advise you do....Perfect xxx

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stylishly furnished room, fridge for milk and water, many extras such as ironing board and iron, bath robes as well as usual tea making facilities etc.

Breakfast was fabulous in range of choice and Jaks caters for special diets such as my gluten free very attentively.

Taken with location and facilities this is well worth the slight premium over other B&B rates in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricdavjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a weekend stay. We stayed in the Penthouse Suite and can only say it was superb especially the bathroom which was huge and had both a bath and separate shower. The wife was really pleased that there was a socket right by the mirror so a hair dryer could be used with rase(unlike many hotels we have stayed in). Jaks was very friendly and very willing to help in any way she could. All in all this was a superb B & B which contained all you could wish for and we would not be afraid to recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely stay here again when in Dartmouth.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gooldy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night at this B&B. We were made to feel very welcome. The room was superb - very clean and everything you might expect. If, like me, the quality of the shower is important to you (I hate the ones where you have to run around to get wet!) then this is the place for you: the en-suite shower is excellent. Breakfast in the morning was cooked to order and was first class. One word of advice - if you use a SatNav - for some reason they take you down the back road which is steep and narrow - there is a perfectly good main road in front of the building. Have a look at a map and, unlike us, use the main road - I'm sure it's easier!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

What a great find.....this B&B gives many a hotel a run for its money. Lovely welcome from Jaks, the room was perfect and had everything you would want/need and more....a fridge in the room to keep water cool during our short but hot British summer was a really welcome surprise. The breakfast was delicious and its very well located for a short walk to find plenty of good options for an evening meal. Cannot recommend this one highly enough!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squeaky69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My wife and I had stayed here before and it was top class. Now its even better. All the other reviews have already said what is so good about this BB.
Now with a new owner (Jaks) this place excels in its friendliness and hospitality.
The breakfast which is cooked to order is perfect.
We stayed in the Penthouse suite.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karma667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
#1 of 52 in Dartmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mounthaven Guest House
Mounthaven Guest House
#6 of 52 in Dartmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayards Cove Inn
Bayards Cove Inn
#4 of 52 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victorian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian House

Property: The Victorian House
Address: 1 Vicarage Hill, Dartmouth TQ6 9EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victorian House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian House, based in Dartmouth, Devon is a B&B that offers large comfortable guest accommodation, with en suite bathrooms. Car parking is provided on site; and a five minute level stroll will take you to the River Dart & Town Centre. The Victorian House offers hairdryers, ironing facilities, TV, clock radio and free Wi-Fi for you to enjoy. Check in is between 3-7 pm although an earlier check-in can be arranged. Sorry no children under 14 years old due to low level sash windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Victorian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian House Hotel Dartmouth
The Victorian House Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing