We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Dartmouth Delight”
Review of Britannia B&B

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dartmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Britannia B&B
Ranked #39 of 52 Dartmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 September 2008

Having stayed in many bed & breakfasts around the country over the years we had become use to expecting comfortable lodgings and a decent breakfast. Britannia exceeds all expectations.

Once you step through the welcoming door it becomes clear that this is a little gem of a bed & breakfast. The rooms are bright and airy and there are many little touches that you would only expect to find in 5 star accommodation. The hosts are attentive to all your needs and the breakfast is hearty and delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blue2918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 31 July 2008

[--]

I booked 2 nights at this B&B and expected average accommodation from the website....boy was I pleasantly surprised!! I quickly discovered that it was a stunning B&B and rather, the photos from the website were completely understated! It is rated as 4 stars, but there is no question that it really is 5 stars all the way! As soon as I arrived, the owners asked me what sort of things I liked for breakfast as they would be happy to accomodate whatever I liked. Breakfasts were really yummy for a cold breakfast eater like myself, there were nice M&S cereals, cream cheese, cheddar cheese, croissants, yoghurt (the nice M&S yoghurts!) and fresh fruit salad.....as you can guess, these were the things I requested! Guests who opted for hot breakfasts were also asked if they wanted anything else (out of the norm) so they can offer it to them the following morning. The dining room upstairs is beautiful and there is a gorgeous balcony that is to die for! ......great to have breakfast on a sunny day. The room was large and spacious, with meticulous attention to detail, like beautiful fluffy bathrobes, Ted Baker shower gel, the Sancturary hand creams and moisturisers, toblerone chocolates, and even sanitary towels/tampons in the ensuite bathroom! The room (and the whole B&B) had a lovely homey feel rather than the cold, impersonal feel most B&B's offer. The owners, John and Pam are both very warm and friendly people who really go above and beyond the normal service, for example John went to the tourist centre to get ferry times and a bus timetable for me and Pam loaned me her Barbour jacket so I wouldn't get too cold....how cool is that!! What's more, it is centrally located so that you are only a 2 minute walk from the town centre!
I will definitely always come back here because I know I'll have an incredible stay.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andersen111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2007

We stopped @ this great little B&B in August for 3 nights & although the weather was pretty bad we still had a wonderful time exploring this lovely town & surrounding countryside.
Britannia is situated in the middle of Dartmouth but not on a very busy road so a peaceful nights sleep was assured the owners Pam & John go to great lengths to see you have a comfortable stay, our room was a very nice en suite, clean & fresh even had a power shower & a hairdryer for the wife, have stopped in 5* hotels that are not as good as this !
Breakfast was served in a friendly but efficient manner & Wow What A Lovely fry up it was too, mmmmm !!
Our tip is go down the Hill to the Frying Pan Chip Shop for Fish n Chips, best we have ever tasted in UK & only a 2 min walk from Britannia !!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2006

Fabulous bed and breakfast accommodation in the heart of Dartmouth. We are a family of four and we had adjoining rooms and our own bathroom. The attention to detail here is outstanding and the quality of the accommodation is great. The owners accommodated our every request and best of all, the breakfasts were outstanding! Parking is off-site but not a problem. Owners provide a pass for the nearby car park. would definitely recommend this place for a short stay in Dartmouth.

2  Thank tiredandhungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2008
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank erichla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
3.8 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
0.1 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Fairholme B&B and Holiday Apartment
0.7 mi away
Kaywana Hall
Kaywana Hall
#1 of 6 in Kingswear
263 reviews
2 mi away
Greenway Barn B&B
Greenway Barn B&B
#3 of 6 in Kingswear
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia B&B

Address: 19 Clarence Street, Dartmouth TQ6 9NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dartmouth
Price Range: £50 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Britannia B&B Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing