We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying in Dartmouth”
Review of Cherub's Nest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cherub's Nest
Ranked #28 of 52 Dartmouth B&B and Inns
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Staying in Dartmouth”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Found the Bed and Breakfast on the web and it was certainly where we wished to be in the centre of Dartmouth. Lovely people and comfortable room for a few nights. However, the bathroom was very small and almost uncomfortable to use. Also returned one afternoon to find that the towels used in the morning were still quite wet, this was solved by putting them in turn on the radiatior but it would have been much nicer if they had been put through the tumble dryer.

Breakfast really good and lots of information on where to eat.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    28
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
11
49
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flintshire, Wales
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Very central location, close to town centre..
Very clean rooms.
Very good breakfast.
Very well run B+B with nice and helpful owners.

Plumbing is a bit clunky and noisy but not painfully so.

B+B is next door to an excellent pub for both drinks and meals.

Room Tip: Room 2 is a little on the small side but OK for a day or three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balosbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed for one night . On arrival there was no one in to greet us but when we got into our room later on it was very small but very clean. The breakfast was excellent with lovely coffee and friendly service. Dartmouth is a beautiful place . Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jellyfish63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge
Level Contributor
128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

A cosy traditional B&B very central to Dartmouth. A warm welcome from Geoff and Bev who are happy to advise on restaurants and activities in and around Dartmouth. Spotlessly clean from top to bottom, this is a small timbered guest house located in a quiet back street next to the Cherub Inn. A few minutes walk from the Boat Float and centre of Dartmouth with its many good restaurants and shops. Rooms are smallish but very well furnished and comfortable with an en-suite shower room and good sized comfy bed. Parking in Dartmouth is scarce and controlled - if you are lucky there maybe a space in Higher Street - otherwise there is the main car park close to the Boat Float. We had no problems parking. Breakfast was excellent with choice cereals, fresh seasonal fruits, full english and everything in between. Would return just for the breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dandms11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The position is very good, very central. The rooms are ok but the shower/ toilet is compact to say the least with the smallest possible hand basin making washing difficult and messy and a very thin wall between the bed and the toilet.Breakfast good and tasty. I suppose you get what you pay for but I would rather pay more.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank telbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed for a weekend in Room 4 in May 2012 and found it to be spotlessly clean throughout. The bed was large and comfortable, the decor very pretty and it was very quiet with just the noise of the local seagulls in the background. The owner Geoff was very accommodating and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble, even chilling our bottles of champagne for us and putting in our room on our return from our day out on the river. Breakfast was cosy at the communal dining table, but the food was superb. The location of this B&B is its best selling point as you are literally seconds away from the Dart. Parking was not an issue as we were lucky to park right outside, although the owner had arranged for a car parking pass for us anyway if needed at the nearby Mayors Ave car park.

All in all, a great little traditional B&B with the quirkiness of a very old building in an historic part of town. We will return in the future.

Room Tip: Room 4 is at the top of a narrow flight of stairs, however it is not overlooked and you do not get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I booked a 2-night stay in this B+B as a cheaper alternative to the Royal Castle Hotel nearby, which I had stayed in a couple of times previously when in Dartmouth. I made the right choice; the room was prettily decorated and clean, with all the facilities listed on the Cherub's Nest main website. The owners were friendly and helpful and the breakfast on offer catered for appetites big and small - and it was very tasty too! I actually enjoyed staying here to when I'd stayed in the Royal Castle, it was more peaceful and the room I had was as good as anything I'd stayed in at the Royal Castle, if not better, in fact, in my view. If you are looking for a good-quality B+B and don't need the "frills" offered by some hotels (i.e., wi-fi, restaurant/bar) then I can highly recommend the Cherub's Nest. I would definitely stay here again, based upon my recent experience of it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birkbeckian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
967 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
#2 of 52 in Dartmouth
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anzac Street Bistro
Anzac Street Bistro
#20 of 52 in Dartmouth
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ship in Dock Inn
The Ship in Dock Inn
#10 of 52 in Dartmouth
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayards Cove Inn
Bayards Cove Inn
#4 of 52 in Dartmouth
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherub's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherub's Nest

Property: Cherub's Nest
Address: 15 Higher Street, Dartmouth TQ6 9RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cherub's Nest 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cherub's Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherub's Nest Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing