We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and quiet B&B”
Review of Yorke House

Yorke House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dartmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yorke House
Ranked #49 of 52 Dartmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Weare 30-32 year old couple. Stayed at Yorke House during Easter Bank Holiday weekend 2012. We had the best sleep there!
The house is clean, large and quiet with a picturesque view from a dining room and some bedrooms of a valley. B&B is owned by lovely eldery couple, who are very helpful and advised us the places to see and the best way to get round.
B&B is on a hill and it takes 15 minutes on foot to get to the town, so if you have dificulties walking it is best advised to take a bus or a taxi which only costs £5 to get to the town.
Room was spacious with on-suit bathroom and a view of a valley, with kettle, tea and coffe to make your own tea, also you can bring your own vine and have it downstairs in the dining room overloking the valley.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1nga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Yorke house. The atmosphere was fantastic, very festive and welcoming. Great breakfast, we're looking forward to visiting again in the new year.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

The people running the place were helpful and informative. the rooms were decent and clean and it was convenient for the town center without having to deal with parking issues.
nice garden and view.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed in Yorke House for a couple of nights. Room was very comfortable with a view down to Dartmouth. Breakfast was good with a choice of cereals, fruit, hot food. The owners were very friendly, with great recommendations for sightseeing and restaurants (Taylors restaurant well recommended), even gave us a lift into town one evening to save us getting a taxi. Would definitely stay again when visiting Dartmouth.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the house with a view into Dartmouth would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eoin38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

My wife and I made a telephone reservation for three nights about two weeks in advance of our planned stay. Everything was confirmed over the phone, in fact my wife rang Linda at Yorke House back, just to reconfirm the price as their website quoted prices per person, but all was OK. We agreed on a late afternoon arrival. On the day, we arrived shortly after 6pm and was greeted by a notice on the front door saying "We do not always hear the door bell, please ring this number". Tried the doorbell but no response, so I called the mobile number given and Linda answered. When I said we were at the front door, she said "you should have been here between 2pm and 4pm, I have re-let the room, I can't come to the door because I am not on site! There was no mention of any arrival time restrictions at the time of booking. The only advice Linda could offer was to go down to the Tourist Information Centre on the front as they would be able to advice on other vacancies... they had closed at 5pm. What a let down! We were however fortunate in securing the last room at Dartmouth Golf and Country Club, slightly more expensive but we had a much warmer welcome and a real nice stay with all the facilities included in the price!

Room Tip: Don't be late!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
5  Thank Ianmailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay. Very nice room with a view down into Dartmouth. Linda & Bill are very friendly and made us feel very comfotable in their B&B. Breakfast was good with a choice of fruit , cereals and traditional English. We were kept informed about the various activities and places to visit with great enthusiasm. V&K East Sussex

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vrewj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We were shocked at the bad reviews of Yorke house as we had already booked to stay for 3 nights and were worried. We decided to take a chance and were very glad we did. We had a lovely, warm room with beautiful views over dartmouth. I was in extreme pain with back ache and the owner offered the use of a hot water bottle! There were toiletires in the bathroom and biscuits with the good tea and coffee making facitilies. Plenty of choice for breakfast and knowledgeable local information from the owner if you wanted it. Haven't stayed at a B & B for some years, and the ones we've stayed at have been poor. This one was lovely. Some may feel it is pricey, but I'm sure it is no different to any of the other B & Bs in the area, and it does have the wonderful advantage of easy parking. Dartmouth is an expensive area to say in and that should be taken into account.. And on a final note - what difference does it make if there is a leopard skin on the wall? This establishment is a B & B and it is also their home. The skin was on the landing area, very high up. I hardly noticed it, but I did notice beautiful furniture in the lounge. We would definately stay there again when we next visit our son without the rest of our family (he is at the Naval college) .

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rupemiddlesexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
1 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
3.2 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
0.8 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fairholme B&B and Holiday Apartment
2.4 mi away
Greenway Barn B&B
Greenway Barn B&B
#3 of 6 in Kingswear
30 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kaywana Hall
Kaywana Hall
#1 of 6 in Kingswear
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yorke House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yorke House

Address: Yorke Road, Dartmouth TQ6 9HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dartmouth
Price Range: £55 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yorke House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great accomodation in the historical port of Dartmouth, Devon UK. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yorke House Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing