We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When the scaffolding is removed it will probably get better”
Review of Greenway

Greenway
Ranked #2 of 42 things to do in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take this extraordinary glimpse into the beloved holiday home of the famous and much-loved author Agatha Christie and her family.The relaxed and atmospheric house is set in the 1950s, and contains many of the family's collections, including archaeology, Tunbridgeware, silver, botanical china and books. Outside you can explore the large and romantic woodland garden, with a restored vinery, wild edges and rare plantings, which drifts down the hillside towards the sparkling Dart estuary.
Radstock
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“When the scaffolding is removed it will probably get better”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Agatha Christie buffs will enjoy this but a better bet is D'oyle Carte at Coleton Fishacre
Photography was a no no because of the building work so perhaps this is somewhat unfair

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NTEnglishRiviera, Marketing and Communications Officer at Greenway, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hi Rod,

Thank you for this review, I'm sorry to see that the scaffolding somewhat ruined your photo opportunities - did you take the opportunity to go on the scaffolding platform? It's a great place to go to get a unique perspective of the views. It won't be long now until the scaffolding comes down, so do come and see us once the conservation work is complete.

Coleton Fishacre is very different in style isn't it? We are so lucky to have two such different places within 20 minutes of each other.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    879
    372
    94
    20
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Be a crime to miss it”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you wish to bring your car be sure to book your parking spot.You will find a helpful volunteer with a clipboard to assist you when you arrive.The car park is via a sharp left turn and a steep slope.Drivers of large vehicles bring all your driving skills.The house is 500 yards downhill from car park.As you walk down there are lovely views of the river.There is a buggy service for the less mobile.I think the house is beautiful in a lovely location.It still has something of the feel of a home.With all things original to the house even clothes in the wardrobe. I do recommend a sit in the walled garden.Such a lovely peaceful haven.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank joseph850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NTEnglishRiviera, Marketing and Communications Officer at Greenway, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hello Joseph, thank you for this great review of your visit to Greenway. I am so pleased to see how much you enjoyed your time here, and hope that you can come and see us again. The sunny walled garden is one of my favourite spots too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A unique experience”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was our first visit and we were only disappointed that we had not gone sooner! We travelled by car, which necessitates booking a parking space, either online or by phone. There is a buggy to give those who don't fancy the walk a ride to reception. You can also arrive by vintage bus 'Barnaby', or on ferries from Dartmouth, Totnes or Dittisham, so plenty of choice. The house itself is currently clad in scaffolding as it undergoes refurbishment, but this does not really detract much. The interior is fascinating, giving a glimpse into Agatha Christie's life and travels with her second husband Max and there is a plethora of items collected from around the world. There is not a great deal about Christie's writing, other than various copies of her books - this may be because she never actually did any writing here. We were lucky to be able to listen to a visitor tinkling the ivories on the Steinway piano, which really added to the atmosphere! What really surprised me was the size of the grounds, some 300 acres, providing some lovely walks down to the edge of the River Dart. Some areas are quite steep, but these are all marked on the very useful map provided, so can be avoided. We had a drink and snack in the restaurant and found it to be the usual good quality National Trust fare, much home cooked, with pleasant indoor and outdoor surroundings in which to enjoy it. All in all, a fascinating and quite unique experience, which easily passed half a day. Definitely worth a visit!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 446MikeE446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NTEnglishRiviera, Marketing and Communications Officer at Greenway, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hello Mike, thank you for this lovely review. It looks like you thoroughly enjoyed your time here, and you've written a very comprehensive review. I hope that you can come and see us at Greenway again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorchester
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Underwhelming - on finding out that Agatha Christie was a shy and intensely private person one felt like a voyeur rather than a visitor - the need to see her loo was very uncomfortable!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sarah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NTEnglishRiviera, Marketing and Communications Officer at Greenway, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hello Sarah, I'm sorry to see that you found your recent visit to Greenway to be underwhelming. As you haven't gone into much detail here I can't unfortunately take your feedback much further, but I would like to reassure you that the National Trust work very closely with Agatha Christie's Grandson Mathew, who is very happy that visitors enjoy his Grandmother's holiday home, so please don't feel like you were being voyeuristic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
684 reviews
470 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“A Little bit of Poirot in Devon”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

By the side of the River Dart, a beautiful homely property, well worth the visit, owned by Agatha Christie. Although under renovation whilst we visited, this did not detract from the enjoyment the property gave. Lovely walks through the grounds to the ferry landing, where a picture of Poirot (David Suchet) can be found, along to the battery and the boathouse. Steep paths, so you need to be able. Walled gardens and a "Bothy" (a standalone stone building), until our talk with one of the gardeners, we never knew this term, or what it meant. Could probably spend half a day at least to leisurely take in the whole place.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SagaloutsTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NTEnglishRiviera, Marketing and Communications Officer at Greenway, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hello, thank you for reviewing your recent visit to Greenway. It looks like you thoroughly enjoyed your time here, and I hope that you can visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greenway also viewed

 

Been to Greenway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing