We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short but very pleasant stay in Dartmouth”
Review of Bayards Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bayards Cove Inn
Ranked #4 of 52 Dartmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A short but very pleasant stay in Dartmouth”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Good location by the harbour.
This is an excellent location to stay if like me you are in Dartmouth for a few days and want to be close to town and only have a short walk to the Naval college.
Clean and spacious room.
Friendly staff, and helpful.
Very nice cooked breakfast, and if I have one very small comment it would be that the breakfast on the first morning was only just warm enough, however the second morning it was fine.
All in all a comfortable stay, and at a fairly reasonable cost etc.

Room Tip: My impression was that all rooms were to a good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    87
    22
    12
    14
See reviews for
82
275
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

A beautiful and quirky Tudor Inn situated on the cobbled harbour. Offering me a warm friendly welcome and a really enjoyable memorable stay. Freshly cooked breakfast and coffee and tea, lovingly made, were excellent. Highly recommended especially those interested in Britain's intriguing maritime history.

Room Tip: Front rooms have harbour view - quieter rooms at the rear - all well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillySouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Wife and I enjoyed 3 lovely nights here. Best features :
The place is run by really nice people from the owners and a bunch of young people who work for them. The cafe downstairs is a great place to hang out, the breakfast is excellent and the coffee even better. In the evening a great place for a glass of wine, chat with nice people and listen to music, on one night live music.
The building is very historic and has been modernized inside as far as the building allows. We loved it. It is right by the lower ferry, everything in Dartmouth is close, we didn't need the car at night.
We had Jervis room, very nice but we had two suitcases because we were in England two weeks on business and leisure. There was no where to put the cases so they were in the way. Not a reflection of the room but next visit we will book a bigger room.
On the could improve side, the shower was really poor, some mildew needs seeing to and the pressure consistency. Other than that all good.
Parking nearby can be tight, however if you turn left past the hotel there are some spots outside the pub nextdoor

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We loved the history around this building. They have done it up really well, so that you still see the old beams and sense its age without compromising comfort.
We stayed in one of the smaller rooms towards the back of the Inn (Jervis), but it had plenty of space and a comfortable bed and adequate bathroom. We didn't have a problem with noise but in an old building I guess it may depend where you are.
The highlight of the stay was the breakfast, which consisted of a full English, with fresh produce or a fantastic continental spread featuring homemade breads, smoked salmon, cheeses and hams.
We really loved Dartmouth. It's a charming little town. The Cherub was our favourite pub (really cosy winter place with good beers) and the walk up to the castle and the coast (20-30 mins) was a wonderful leg stretcher. Bayards Inn is close to everything and practically the first building you pass coming off the lower ferry from Kingswear. Parking wasn't a problem as there are no restrictions after September. I'm not sure what the arrangements are in the Summer.

In summary, if you are looking for a cosy treat in an interesting old town, look no further than Bayards Inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandPet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We had tried to book this hotel before but unsurprisingly it was fully booked - it was worth the wait!
The room was lovely and we could see Bayards Cove out of the side window which was nice and the little touches such as the loose leaf tea was much appreciated!
Breakfast was lovely (both the veggie and full English)
It is true that if you are a light sleeper, then I would pack a pair of earplugs!
The location is perfect, easy walking to everywhere and a rarity in Dartmouth - parking!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FarmersDonandStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Booked a two night stay , fri and sat. We had the Raleigh room, you could hear every noise and conversation from the two adjoining rooms and the one room above. Spoiled what would have been an otherwise lovely stay sound proofing needs to be installed before we would return. Amazed no other review has mentioned this real problem.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Had a lovely stay at the Bayards Cove in. The room was lovely, bed comfortable and the Facilities great. I recommend a cocktail from downstairs too!The staff were all very welcoming and helpful and i would definitely recommend it to anyone considering a stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
967 reviews
0.2 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
0.7 mi away
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dartmouth
118 reviews
1.8 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayards Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayards Cove Inn

Property: Bayards Cove Inn
Address: 27 Lower Street | Bayards Cove, Dartmouth TQ6 9AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayards Cove Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small friendly hotel is one of Dartmouth’s oldest and most interesting buildings. It was originally constructed as a Tudor merchant's house and would have been a welcome sight when the Pilgrim Fathers stopped off at Bayards Cove on their way to America in August 1620. The hotel is conveniently situated in Bayards Cove in the centre of this lovely town, with the market and main shopping area only a short level walk away. Guests are sure to enjoy the unique character of the hotel and its thoughtfully refurbished luxury rooms, all of which have freeview, televisions and DVD players, and some also enjoy views over the water of the cove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bayards Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayards Cove Hotel Dartmouth
Bayards Cove Inn Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing