We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dartmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lisa C
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Appalling........unless you like infestations!!!!”
Reviewed 21 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
5
people found this review helpful

We booked our 6 night stay to recover from a significant bereavement. We arrived at this property after a 7hour drive from Kent only to find someone parked across both of our allocated spaces. It was dark, cold and there is nowhere else to park nearby. So we called our allocated 24/7 property services manager WHK services. The call went straight to voicemail, we left them our phone number and despite several attempts to call them not one single response from them was achieved! Do they actually exist?

Eventually we managed to park our car and begin what was meant to be our healing time........wrong!

Initially we thought a previous review of this property was harsh. It has high quality fittings and at face value is a delightful place to stay, even if the bedrooms are 'petite' after all who spends their entire holiday in bed?

5 very restless sleeps later we discovered why my hubby and I had felt itchy and uncomfortable. The bed and bedside tables were riddled with dark crawling bugs with tiny hairs on the them (yes I do have photos and a video!) closer inspection of the bed we'd slept in revealed a layer of dander near the base of the headboard that was like grey felt and riddled in bugs. Yuk!

As it was my husband's birthday we decided to give the bedroom a hoover and sleep on the sofa bed in the lounge......BIG MISTAKE.......that had more life in it than we did! So we packed up our car and left just as upset as when we arrived but with a sense of absolute disgust!

The booking company Blue Chip Holidays asked that we give them 14 days to investigate our complaint. We did.......almost 3 weeks later there had been very little contact and when it did arrive we were offered a token £50 compensation and were told the bugs were harmless. Is that ok? I think not! Shame on you! If I'd wanted a dirty bed with bugs albeit harmless ones......I'd be camping!

Quite frankly this apartment is not appropriately managed, quite clearly not thoroughly cleaned and using the word 'harmless' as if that makes finding them in the bed acceptable is offensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2017
Many thanks for providing us with your feedback. Please be assured that, in the rare cases where our guests encounter a problem during their stay, we do all that we can to put it right.

With regards to the highlighted car parking issue, unfortunately the property manager was attending to an emergency call-out in an area of little to no signal and was unable to respond until 10:30pm, by which time he did not want to disturb you. The property manager then attempted to speak with you the following morning, however this was unsuccessful and as no further calls were made, it was assumed that the parking issue had been resolved.

Regarding the bug incident which came about 5 days in to your stay, both Blue Chip Holidays and the property owner took your comments very seriously, and as such arranged for pest control to visit the property within 24 hours of receiving your email. The pest control report confirmed that there was no evidence of bed bugs (cimex lectulares) within the property, and any bug located was in fact a biscuit beetle, however there was no infestation. Subsequently, no such further reports have been forthcoming since your stay in October 2016.

We are sorry that you made the decision to leave the property immediately. We are satisfied that all issues were dealt with expeditiously however, we are disappointed that on this occasion we fell short of your expectations.

Best regards,

Blue Chip Holidays
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cla984
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nicely Decor - Just completely unsuitable for us / as advertised”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We are a young family (two adults in late 20's/early 30's and a 5 year old child. We wanted a higher end property, close to family we were visiting in summer holidays.

We were surprised and disappointed from the moment we arrived to be honest. The property looks rural from the pictures, but it right on the main road between Dartmouth and Kingsbridge. Not a major problem in itself,until you arrive and you wish to park safely. The carpark is almost a hidden entrance after a 90degree bend. The carpark is tiny, 2 spaces were allotted for this property but thankfully there was only one car. Getting in and out was a blind bend, not recommended if not a confident driver/parker.

We knew this was a penthouse property, but as the ad said highly recommended for children (and even pets), we were surprised by how tight the stairs were and how slippery they got when wet (it was the British summer remember). Smallest bedrooms I have seen in 35 years.

The bedrooms are tiny. To the extent there is almost zero floor space in the main double bedroom, and to the room with the single beds, the door only half opens onto one of the beds - definitely not recommended for more than two adults, although the advert says can sleep 6. Expect to get dressed in the hall way.

Kitchen and living area was much better (albeit up tight stairs unappropriate for young children or the elderly in my opinion. The sea view picture is pretty misleading and must have been taken by a professional long lense camera (the sea is viable, but not easily to get too).

I felt we paid a premium for a higher end property, albeit in high season. we felt let down and although we paid for 7 nights, we stayed 5.

A minor point was the living room toilet. The penthouse slopping ceiling made it impossible for a male over 5ft 5in to reach the toilet for a No.1. I am 6ft 2in, and refused to sit to wee - hence I used the stairs a lot over 5 days. We were two young adults, upwardly mobile, and a 5year old. but we found it very small and awkward. The largest space was the kitchen, we we try not to this on our holiday.

We left early as we just weren't enjoying the stay. sorry. I would recommend it to young singles, upwardly mobile who won't be spending much time in the property due to the space. Definitely not the elderly, disabled (it would literally be impossible), young children, pets or more than 2 adults.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Restaurant across the road
Liked least: tiny space, but the worse thing was the parking/location off the main road.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Many thanks for providing us with your feedback following your stay, and we are sorry that you were disappointed with some areas of the property.
We consistently accommodate families within the property and as such have received very positive reviews recommending this apartment for families in particular.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments, which are always valued as they enable us to improve our levels of service and the quality of our accommodation where appropriate. We also hope that this experience does not deter you from booking with us again, where we are sure that we will meet if not exceed your expectations.
Kind regards, Blue Chip Holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing