We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but too carbs oriented”
Review of Cafe Alf Resco

Cafe Alf Resco
Ranked #3 of 96 Restaurants in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$13
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Alf's is an exciting fusion of delicious fresh food & drink, vibrant atmosphere, live music & ensuite accommodation in the heart of Dartmouth, Devon. Open 7am-2pm, 7 days a week, all year.We provide a relaxed stress-free environment in which to enjoy tasty, local, freshly cooked food, whilst chatting with family & friends, listening to live music at the weekends. Above Alf's we have a self-contained flat and two B&B rooms, so you can stay too.
London
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good but too carbs oriented”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Great vibe, easy going and fantastic service. Nice menu and good sized portions. The only suggestion is to have more variety of eggs and healthier options otherwise carb heavy.
We had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon (just a little bot of salmon unfortunately), toasts with jam (butter on toast was a bit salty to my liking), cinnamon toast which was lovely, very nice granola with delicious cherry yogurt and yummy apricot danish. Latte and cappuccino were good and they do serve soya milk! We paid around 25 quid.

Helpful?
Thank Supertourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    182
    39
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southwold
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Yum, yum , yum yum yum!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

If you are EVER in the area you must try this place. We were visiting staying in Dartmouth on holiday and once we had found Alf's there was nowhere else to breakfast.!!!
The alf's breakfast is amazing all cooked fresh and supplied locally for the most part. Our son was most impressed with the fresh orange juice slush . We had a multitude of things off the menu between us including scrambled eggs on toast and the full English and we gave everything including the coffee and most importantly the staff/service 5 stars. It's a relaxing , friendly , funky place that suits all ages , nothing is too much trouble and it's definitely a destination not a stop off!!!
Nb not that we had our dogs with us , they too are welcome at Alf's .
The only downside is that we live 350 miles away .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stinkyblinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“3rd visit to Alf's”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

First visited here last week when awake before everyone else and went in search of fresh coffee. I ended up staying for scrambled gags with smoked salmon.
Took the family earlier this week and tried the breakfast which comes with lovely buttered toast. Went back today and my teenager enjoyed a banana milk shake which was made from milk fresh bananas and a sprinkling of chocolate. I had to have the eggs and smoked salmon again and they were as fantastic as the first time.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shirley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good but could be great!!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Came to Dartmouth especially to come here after hearing so many good things about this place. The food was great, and so many good options for food and drink. However, service could be a lot better. Firstly, we were greeted by a chewing waiter, whose mouth was so full, he couldn't even speak. My partner queued for about 20 mins to order food, which is fine, we're not lazy, but if we're queuing for 20 mins, then waiting for food for another 20 mins, it becomes quite long. Table service could easily eradicate this. Other staff seemed a bit like they didn't know what they were doing, and shouting names to find tables just seems a bit unorganised. Like I said, the food was great and with a bit of organisation, this place could just be amazing!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anon3541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Its OK but not as good as it could be - give it a try and see what you think.”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We reckoned Alf's must be pretty good in order to make its living only between 7am and 2pm and it always seemed busy when we walked past so we gave it a go for breakfast on our last day. Service wasn't particularly slick, we got a wobbly table which they all must be due to the courtyard surface so you'd have though a few wedges would be used to stop them rocking. The four of us had a range of different breakfasts which we all agreed were OK but nothing special. The pre-buttered toast was unusual - I quite liked it but others sitting around us sent it back for being soggy. I suspect the locals and regulars get a better service than the tourists.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingtod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Alf Resco also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Alf Resco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing