We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best curry I’ve had for a while”

Spice Bazaar - Dartmouth
Ranked #37 of 103 Restaurants in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$14,355
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The perfect setting for curry lovers to indulge themselves every way they want in a funky fusion of design innovation and exotic eastern cuisine. It prides itself on never wavering when it comes to the quality of products. Its ethos consists of using only the finest produce available and if possible locally produced ingredients - incorporating the delicate flavor of Asian spices to create a new, refreshing approach to Indian Cuisine with service at its cutting edge
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

We went to Spice Bazaar whilst away for the weekend in Dartmouth. The Dhania Wali Jingha (spiced king prawns) were amazing, kodi vepadu (pan fried chicken) - don’t think this is just chicken.... it’s amazing. My wife had fish curry which she loved. I had something recommended by the waiter . Not sure what it was,but again it was lovely - a chicken curry with pilau rice. Will go again when back in Dartmouth.

Date of visit: July 2018
2  Thank SteveGL7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

We stumbled on this little gem purely by accident, we hadn’t booked but they fitted us in. What a fabulous menu, the owner was really helpful in explaining some of the dishes we’d not seen before. Quite simply the finest chicken patia I’ve ever had. It’s a must if you’re in the area.

Date of visit: July 2018
2  Thank dodiew292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

We visited on the 20th June to celebrate a birthday. Table was booked for 7pm, party of 10. Staff were slow to take food order and once order had been placed there was a good 90 min wait for food - no explanation and other tables were served first. Staff not able to offer explanation when challenged - when food finally came we had little time to eat as we had to get away. Staff unapologetic and aggressive when challenged about the time taken to serve us. Manager threatened us when we mentioned the poor service as we left. Do NOT eat here!

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Smokeyuk16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

The service was so slow, we had starters and waited well over an hour for mains, we asked politely where our meals were as everyone around us were being served first, they still took 15 mins after that point to serve the food. Staff were rude and they had run out of one of our meals which they were not apologetic about and substituted a dish that was not of our choosing. They refused to discount and accused us of threatening them for explaining our disappointment with their service. They then asked us to leave! The food was also extremely overpriced for what we had.
I highly recommend going anywhere but here!!

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank BritChris88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018

We dined here recently while on holiday in the area and we thought it was excellent. The menu was interesting and varied, the food was beautifully spiced, delicious and well-presented, and the service was impeccably courteous and well-informed - it was good to be visited by the chef, and the person who brought our meal was most knowledgeable and obliging.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank juliadnorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice Bazaar - Dartmouth also viewed

Dartmouth, Devon
Dartmouth, Devon
 
Brixham, English Riviera
 

Been to Spice Bazaar - Dartmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing