We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Clock Tower Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
US$100
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Exeter(Exeter)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$83
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
US$102
ClarionHotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Queens Court(Exeter)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$87
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$118
US$100
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jurys Inn Exeter(Exeter)(Great Value!)
US$88
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
21
55
51
33
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
55
51
33
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdecor datedcity centreadequate breakfaststreet noiseexeter universitythe en suite bathroomtea and coffee making facilitieslady on receptionbusiness tripwould stay againbeds were comfortablelovely breakfaststayed one nightfree parkingfootfallcathedralfloorboards
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Clean, tidy, friendly. Very central, ideal for those only needing a place to sleep. Only there one night on business trip, was put in an attic room which was petit and bijou, but had all requirements. Breakfast was very good. Only negative was the street noise from traffic using the main road as a speed track, but when you are that close to the city centre I don't think you can expect much different.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the attic space if above 5 ft 6, or looking for a quiet space.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I stayed inthe Clock Tower Hotel for one night 14/8 to 15/8. Very nice and clean hotel very easy to get to from the station about 5 minute walk. Good breakfast and choices very good full english to a continental. Only stayed for one night but if I was visiting the area would stay longer.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 16 nice corner room so plenty of light. Very nice room
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toniskeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We have just recently stayed for one night at the Clock Tower and I really wish we hadn't bothered....We arrived at 3pm and had to wait 20mins to check in because the receptionist had gone missing, and to make it worse there were cases left unattended in the reception area that could of been taken by anyone...Its sad when you have to go upstairs to find a cleaner to ask were the receptionist was....When she did finally arrive I told her it wasn't good enough that we had to wait 20mins, my wife asked if we get a discount for our inconveinance, the answer she came back with was " If you don't pay go find somewhere else".....When we got to our room it wasn't even ready even though its a 2pm check in...We were told by the cleaner come back in 20mins...The room was very tiny and also very noisy, the bin hadn't even been emptied..When we tried to have a shower we nearly got scolded because there was no cold water, just hot! I had to have a body wash using the sink....The only good thing about this hotel was the breakfast in the morning, after that we couldn't wait to leave....Was it worth £71 B&B? Definately not!...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paulnic50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Without lift, our room was on the second floor on the street but the noise came more from the canalizations (we heard the shower of our neighbor rond 3 am. The state of the room was poor : a curtain was fallen down and the shower room full of long black air. People for breakfast time was kind.

Room Tip: Certainly at the rear but for the canalizations I do not know.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandraDavidNeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Not certain why this is listed as B&B/Inn - it is neither.

Situated on a busy road about 15 minutes walk from the cathedral and walking distance to both Exeter St Davids and the closer Exeter Central. There is no dropping off area so checking in could be a challenge. We were supplied though with a residents parking permit and found a space about 200 yards away.

Hotel is no frills but it is clean and tidy and the staff without exception were friendly and helpful. Room was OK, none of the noise problems mentioned by others, and despite a room facing the main road I got a good nights sleep. Bathroom was small but clean and the shower worked well.

Breakfast was good with a well cooked English breakfast included in the room rate.

When you consider this is in the same price bracket as a Travelodge/Premier Inn it was excellent value and worth considering for a short stay in Exeter.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews